We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #5 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elmhurst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used Marriott points for a long weekend in Miami. When we arrived at the hotel, we asked if we could be upgraded to the concierge level. Not only did the front desk staff upgrade us to the concierge floor, but also gave us a suite without additional cost. The staff was overwhelmingly hospitable and were available with helpful information and great service. The hotel is close to the Riverwalk and Knight Center metromover (which is free to all passengers), making it easy to go to Brickell, Vizcaya and other locations. The room was immaculate and the hotel was beautiful. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Both the bellman and the concierge were quite helpful in suggesting restaurants, transportation alternatives and other activities to do. Walking around downtown is quite easy, although there is quite a bit of construction on the streets, closing many sidewalks. It felt safe in the area at night as well. There is a very small bar upstairs which we tried; it was nice, but nothing special. The pool on the 19th floor is quite large for a hotel pool as is the workout area. Be aware that the sun is hidden at times behind the other tall buildings so great if you want shade, not so great if you want to bake in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    294
    64
    30
    22
See reviews for
325
438
70
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here while she was in town for some medical reasons. The staff made the experience! First, we were upgraded to a waterfront room when we arrived. Keep in mind that "waterfront" is relative, as there is a building between the hotel and the bay. Then limited view was gorgeous, nevertheless. The rooms themselves were gorgeous as well, albeit not well lit - the bathroom was a little too dark. We ordered room service a couple times. I highly recommend the pecan crusted chicken tenders with pepper jelly. I had a bit of trouble with the wifi as it kept disconnecting. Also, we struggled with cell phone service. If you stood anywhere but at the window, there was no cell service to be found. To be honest, that was my biggest gripe. Other than that, it was a great experience!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank laneregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice,clean hotel. We were there on a Sunday and Monday hotel was very quiet. Most of their boutique were close, too bad because they seem very nice...area is very quiet nothing happening at night. If you go for business it's a great location as you will be close from all important banks and finacial business. Rooms are nice and spacious, view of my room was amazing...we even got a really nice amenity welcoming us to their hotel...nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojo1982Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Situated about 10 minutes from the Miami International Airport, the JW Marriott Marquis is centrally located on Biscayne Blvd. in the heart of Miami. Staying at this lovely establishment brings about a certain class and level of expectation; and you're sure to not be disappointed. If you're arriving via car, valet parking is a great option, even at the steep price of $36USD. However, the service, promptness in our case was well worth it. We arrived the night before a large marathon that was taking place the next day, and we're thankful we had the valet to quickly grab our car the next morning allowing us to escape quickly before the race started! If you prefer to self-park, be prepared to do it away from the hotel. Finding a parking garage or spot on the street may be risky and inconvenient, so we recommend using the valet. If you're not coming via car, but rather a taxi, be prepared to pay around $25USD for a cab ride from Miami International Airport. The JW does offer a private shuttle service for a flat $25USD from the airport as well.

The rooms are very well appointed as you see in the photos above. If you have any status with Marriott, you can expect a nice upgrade. As Platinum members, we were upgraded to a corner room which boasted brilliant views of both the city of Miami and Biscayne Bay, including Brickell Key. The room had a large and comfortable king-sized bed, separate sitting area, desk/office area in the corner and a large and comfortable bathroom which included both a stand-up shower and bath tub. For those who appreciate modern tech gadgets, you'll be pleased to find a TV screen within the bathroom mirror to keep you up-to-date on the day's weather, sports, news and more! If you are a fan of Illy espresso, you'll be happy to know that a complimentary espresso machine with several espresso options is available right in your room!

The hotel staff from the receptionist to the bell-hop to the valet were all very informative and willing to help in any way they could. All you need to do is ask! For conveniences within reach, you'll find a restaurant/bar on the bottom level of the hotel and a few more offerings within a few blocks. A CVS, clothing stores, banks and the metro are all within a quick walking distance as well. A quick 5-minute walks leads you bay side and another 10 minutes will take you all the way to the American Airlines Arena and Bayfront Ampitheater.

We definitely would recommend this hotel to friends, family and clients alike. If you're looking for a luxurious experience in the heart of Miami, the JW Marriott Marquis (NOT to be confused with the JW Marriott), will absolutely deliver!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjscraftygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a while ago, overall good value, but there are better options around. It is a little remote, and a little overpriced for what it is. Probably would not recommend it to a friend. Other than that just a regular JW.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMOiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We haven't been visiting Miami Downtown for a long period. We had a good surprise staying there at Marriot Marquis Miami, in the heart of the area that was restored and recovered. The changes have been terrific. Well done!
I was in a fair in the hotel and we spent 5 nights there. It was very nice. The hotel is very well located, very comfortable and the people well trained and professional.
I recommend it. Flavio Maia

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Flavio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

An upscale hotel, Beaux Arts offered a really nice stay on 38th floor with a separate and private breakfast/lounge. The gym was excellent and well equiped - great bay area view meanwhile you are working out.

Room was big and had all we needed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,967 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing