We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the "marriott" name make you think it's ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Don't let the "marriott" name make you think it's ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a five star hotel.

We were lucky enough to have a little staycation here last month. Our friends were throwing an event at the hotel and we decided to stay over so that we did not have to drive home.

Check in was a breeze and we were upgraded without asking to a two room suite.

The hotel is new, modern and clean. The beds were comfortable. The views excellent.


The flat screen tvs in the rooms were huge! The decor was chic and modern. The bathroom was modern and very large. I love when there is a tv in the bathroom!

Service was amazing. Called down for towels and they were in the room within a matter of minutes.

The event held at the hotel was amazing also.

The staff was top notch.

My only complaints would be that the room was kind of dark (not a lot of lighting) and they charge $36 a night to park which just seems excessive. (I always complain about the price of parking at hotels!)

Other than that, I am planning to keep an eye on the rates and return for a little staycation again.

This is not your ordinary marriott. I'd compare it to a ritz-carlton or Four seasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    291
    64
    29
    21
See reviews for
323
434
69
430
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Second stay here - it was probably even better than last time. Staff were so friendly and accommodating, not just front desk but also breakfast staff, security, and cleaners. We arrived at the hotel at 6am and couldn't check in early (fair enough - it was 6am!) but they set us up in the beautiful mezzanine level where we even had a small sleep! We ended up checking in before midday (so still really early!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia Sanz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My interpretation regarding the Marriott is that it's all about high class in terms of service but they usually fail when it comes to design (too dull for me). However, this location is beautiful. I had a standard king room and it was huge! I had a view of the bay, a huge king bed, a huge 55 inch TV, the bathroom had a shower and a separate tub with a TV embedded into the mirror! The service and interaction that I had with every employee was wonderful, they always engaged with you. If you have a chance you should check out the buffet in the morning as it was tasty and fulfilling. The location is in downtown Miami and can be hard to find so be patient. My only negative is that I didn't stay longer (mind you I live in Miami but wanted to stay close to the arena for a concert). I will visit again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iamT3rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here with my wife the night before a cruise from Miami and was very impressed. Although, this was a vacation, I have stayed in many business hotels across the world and this was, in my mind, one of the best business orientated hotels that I encountered. I know that is quite a claim so let me explain why?
Its in a great location in Miami, handy for the business district, Miami Heat games and good walks about town and even has a very pleasant sea view nearby.
The hotel itself, has a nice clean, modern style that I personally like but some may not; its has many facilities to support the business person but the real reason I liked this place, was the bedroom.
It is one of the few hotel rooms that I have seen that is both a bedroom and an office. Yes, this had more than a desk shoved against the wall, with a lamp and phone on it, with just enough space for a laptop. It had a very well designed curved desk, large and situated not against the wall but more in the room, but not in a way that disturbed the room. It provided loads of room for spreading out, plus you can gaze out of the window for inspiration. This is probably the first time that I have seen a set up that would allow me to work all day between meetings on different days (happens some times) without feeling cramped. The rest of the room and the huge bathroom were also very comfortable and luxurious.
There are plenty of places to eat and drink and comfortable public spaces to hang out in, if you want to do those things. Although the check-in area was somewhat functional and bland.
OK, so that is the business viewpoint, we were not there for business, but we had a wonderful time there. Our corner room, had two walls of windows with terrific views and a couple of comfortable chairs to view the views from while sipping a coffee. Now the coffee machine in the room, requires that you have a degree in engineering to use it but I forgive the hotel that.
We walked the area around the hotel, sat on a bench watching the ships passing buy and had a lovely evening in the hotel in a fabulous cocktail bar, then a wonderful meal in the restaurant.
We plan top go back for a long weekend, so you can see I am a fan.
Now, if you want soft edges and heavy red velvet drapes and oak paneling, this is not your place but it was definitely mine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eisenstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm a loyal Marriott customer and have stayed in every level and style of their hotels. They rarely disappoint. But in the case of the JW Marriott Marquis Miami, they've outdone themselves. The hotel is gorgeous, sleekly designed, and full of amenities. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, the staff made me feel welcomed and cared for.

Location: Downtown Miami isn't necessarily hopping on the weekends, which was fine by me, but the location of this hotel is right on Biscayne Bay, which makes for great walking/running and means that there are several decent restaurants and clubs nearby. You're surrounded by other high-end hotels which all have lounges and bars and restaurants if you're interested. I was more interested in being close to the airport without having to STAY at the airport, so the location was perfect. It is far from the beaches, so if you're looking for oceanside, stay in Miami Beach.

Rooms: I had booked a king room with a bay view but when I arrived, I was so exhausted after having driven from Key West that I flat out told Rodrigo, the desk manager, that I would pay extra for the best damn room in the house. He just smiled and said, "Why don't I give you my favorite room in the hotel?" I don't know if that was true or not but Rodrigo did me RIGHT. The room he gave me was on the 33rd floor, on the corner, and was an executive suite. A full uninterrupted view of the glittering bay, a huge comfortable desk with wifi, a lusciously appointed bed with the best linens I've slept on in years, and a gargantuan bathroom with a full-sized soaking tub AND a shower? SOLD. The wifi worked great. The huge TV facing the bed was also nice as you could lie in bed and watch TV while watching the sun set or rise. The Illy coffee machine is a nice touch and I put it to good use both mornings. Mini-bar is nicely appointed and not unusually priced -- there's a decent bottle of red in there for $35 which isn't unreasonable. I swear, the room was so fantastic that I didn't want to leave it! I have no idea what the standard rooms are like in this place but if they're even a fraction as nice as the room I lucked out on, I'd take any one of them in a heartbeat. Thanks, Rodrigo. You rocked my world.

Amenities: Fantastic gym with views of the bay and top-notch equipment. There's a weight room as well. Free yoga classes for any who want them -- I think you just have to tip the instructors. There's also a full-service beautiful spa. I got the impression that weekends are slow there because the spa staff was really happy to show me around even though I hadn't booked a service. I spoke to several people coming out who raved about the massages and pedicures. The pool is on one side of the building and overlooks the Epic hotel next door, but it's nicely appointed and relaxing. There's no bar or cafe, though. You have to order things from room service I think.

Food/Room Service: This is the only place where the hotel falls just slightly short. And not because the food is terrible -- it isn't. But I stayed there on the weekend and the Daniel Bouloud restaurant downstairs was closed on Sunday night. I'd been interested in trying it out but when I arrived on Saturday there was a huge party going on and the place was booked so I didn't think to ask if they were open on Sunday and figured I'd just go. As a single traveler, I usually have no problem getting a table or a seat at the bar. But it was closed. I ended up ordering room service and the food was fantastic, so it worked out. Just a bummer that I couldn't have a nice relaxed Sunday night dinner on my last night in town. For reference, the room service meal was very good, moderately priced and delivered quickly. The service staff is also excellent.

In short: Excellent hotel with great amenities and a fabulous staff. I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with a view of the bay. Ask for an executive corner suite if you can. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the other JW in Miami last year but this one is even better with great location, rooms and great service. It totally eclipses local Ritz Carlton's. Wish they had a nicer bar with a view as it was a shame to have to go over the road to enjoy the skyline at night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alphatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
136 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Posh,sofisticated with no frills,classy,this is JW Miami Marquis.Staff is amazing!!!I arrived at the hotel early nighr of last Saturday(10/12) and the lobby was full of guests of the Miami Gala Ball to support The Children`s Hospital.I was really afraid that the noise could affect my night rest,but Rodrigo,from the front desk,found us a room in the 37 th floor,a very quiet room as he have said and it really was.The room is large,extremely well decorated.The bathroom is also large too.I askrd for a mini fridge and they sent it quickly.THere is a desk computer,an Illy coffee machine,fax,and a lot of amenities.We had a great stay there!!!

Room Tip: THe higher the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing