We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel but no sunshine for the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel but no sunshine for the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel inside with excellent quality rooms. Staff are very professional and polite. The restaurant is allegedly highly rated but I found the menu limited, lacking in variety and the food quality good but not outstanding.
If you go to a Miami hotel wanting a sunny pool, then this is not the one for you. It has an outdoor pool but the tower blocks surrounding it take away the sun between around 9.30am and 4.30pm. It also is in a wind tunnel because of the other buildings. Lobby is dark and unimpressive.

Room Tip: Not for you if you or your family want to spend the day in the sun around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    281
    63
    24
    21
See reviews for
312
426
68
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Had this hotel recommended by a friend & was in no way disappointed - probably the best hotel room/suite we've ever had the pleasure of staying in - had mentioned we were coming en route to cayman islands to celebrate our anniversary & the hotel staff definitely took cognizance of this as we were given an upgrade to the most fantastic suite on arrival -huge living room,office,bedroom & bathroom - everything was big! - fantastically comfortable bed,great jacuzzi bath - in a word ,luxurious.Approx.15mins after arrival,we received a delicious chilled bottle of wine & tray of chocolate covered strawberries accompanied by a happy anniversary card - lovely touch. Forgot to mention the incredible views of the bay from practically every corner of our suite ,& the same could be said for the gym & swimming pool .Great to be able to take a dip after an active day - loved the pool area[19th floor].Must mention staff before finishing the review - 'service with a smile' does'nt really do them justice - so friendly & helpful - we've stayed in Miami on three previous visits at Loews,EdenRoc,& Hilton Bentley[all South Beach],all of which were excellent in their own way,but taking an overview of the whole package,the Marquis definitely leaves them trailing. - the Epic must be some hotel if it beats this ! - I've said enough,apart from,God willing,we will so definitely be back.! Oh,go to see 'The Heat' if there's a game on - great to watch & within easy walking distance[20mins].

Room Tip: Higher floors better for view[we stayed on 23rd] - ask for bay views-breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donmac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel was elegant. The room was spacious, and tastefully decorated. The ceiling to floor window overlooked the inlet, and my 2 year old loved watching the yachts and small boats go by. The tv w/i the mirror of the bathroom was great to watch while taking a nice long soak in the tub. The service by the entire staff was exceptional.

(I would have given an excellent rating, but the mattress in our room was worn. It actually sagged, and considering the beautiful hotel, and room, and surroundings, needless to say it was surprising, and certainly not acceptable!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivacatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room on 31st floor. this is a beautiful hotel with luxurious rooms. the lobby is understated and very quiet. there are ample staff to help with cars and luggage - we had no issue with wait times. we also had no issue with elevator wait times.

pros - automatic espresso machine in room! EVERY upscale hotel needs to do this! the breakfast was not as large as some hotels offer but it had everything you could want and children ate for $6, which impressed me. lovely pool with a few 'bed' lounges. the bathroom was wonderful and had a large tub.

cons - we had 2 children with us so we had a room with 2 full beds. there is ample space in the room and they should have been queen beds. also, beds are very soft. the pool is on the 19th floor which is much cooler than ground level. this may be ideal in the summer but made a difference in february weather.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemonjuicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

First off I would like to start on a positive note, because the front desk staff were friendly, there is a much-nicer-than-expected bar/restaurant in the lobby, and the location is perfect for conferences downtown. It was quite a bit cheaper than neighboring hotels as well, which is why we booked it. All that said ... my room smelled. Not good. It was a mildewy smell, I think from the air conditioning. The air conditioning left much to be desired. I tossed and turned all night, alternating between feeling a cold breeze and then, when I set it lower, hot and sticky. I didn't sleep well. Not all JW Marriott's fault ... but, when you pay more than $200 for a hotel room, you expect a decent night's sleep, yes?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jefffromtheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene_O1976, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for letting us know about the smell from the air conditioner. I am very sorry that you had that experience in one of our rooms. We try to ensure that our guests have an amazing stay and an excellent night's sleep in our rooms so the fact that your night's sleep was not good definitely caused us concern. Upon your review we have checked the AC in the room and noticed that it needed attention. We have since cleaned the filter and adjusted to fan to make it more quiet.
Once again, I am sorry that you had a less than perfect experience here.
We hope that you are able to make it back down to Miami soon and that you will give our hotel another chance.

Thank you,
Charlene Overturf
PR & Marketing Coordinator
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
charlene.overturf@mdmusa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is remarkable and staff was awesome. Can't tell how welcome my visit was you will have to experiences it 1st hand. Check-in awesome thank you "Jose"....the bellhop was very helpful with luggage and my expresso machine. I have pictures but can't download them on room computer. Beautiful view from the 35th floor....Hotel is close to bayside walking distance...5-10 minute walk....went to Bricknell area for the night it was a blast. 10-15 minute walk....Alot 2 for 1 drinks and food from every taste in the world. Best room & best bed I ever slept in....If you wanna experience Miami stay a couple days before a cruise to get full fun.

Room Tip: Best bed to sleep in and the towels are so soft I would like the secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.forida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I feel bad having to give this hotel a medium rating as it had allot of things about it that we liked. The view was spectacular, the rooms really clean and well appointed with plush robes and well stocked refrigerator.
For the life of me I can't nderstand why they didn't pay attention the mattress. It was probably the second most uncomfortable bed we have slept in. So soft we literally had to pull ourselves out. It provided for a good laugh but a Terrible night sleep ad a massage the next day

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S_foridaBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing