We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, great basketball court” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great basketball court”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for a conference - great conference facilities, great rooms and a fantastic basketball court. Teh conference seating is the best I've ever experienced : a mix of couches, bat tables and desks - awesome. Floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views of the bay. And the Miami Heat (apparently) shoot hoops occasionally on the court.

Room Tip: Bay facing is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biff3ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    319
    72
    34
    24
See reviews for
358
463
75
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the JW Marriott Marquis in Miami one night prior pre cruise. Got a great deal on Last Minute Travel.

This is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in! The contemporary rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom spectacular! Unbelievably comfortable bed and pillows and very large flat screen TV.

The staff made us feel like we were in an upscale boutique hotel - all very friendly and helpful without being annoyingly friendly! A manager who we met on the elevator going to dinner offered to take us up to their other hotel on the very top floors to show us those room , which I would guess are really spectacular!- but after a delayed flight we were too hungry at that time.

We have often stayed at other Marriotts and the only other time we stayed in downtown Miami was at the Marriott up the street for the Miami boat show a few years ago. What a HUGE difference !!!

Great location if your going on a cruise or want to be in downtown Miami.

Only con: walls a little thin. There was an especially loud family in the room next to us, which was annoying for a while, but I think if it were just people talking normal, it wouldn’t be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is really nice. My wife and I felt very intimidated pulling up to the hotel in a rented Toyota Prius. I was fortunate to have found an opening special as we would normally not stay in this type of property. The room was massive and everything was new and perfect. The area felt very safe to me. We were able to walk to Bayside for dinner and felt safe doing so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snuffycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The JW Marriott Marquis is in downtown Miami. The hotel and staff are excellent. The rooms are large, furnishings are wonderful, bed is very comfortable, bathroom is extremely large with TV in the mirror. You will be blown away when you open the door to your hotel room.You can walk to Bayside (many shops and restaurants) from the hotel along the bay via a walk area. The hotel has 4 restaurants and cafes that are top notch (di Bistro Moderne, Thirty Five Restaurant, Intermezzo Gourmet illy Coffee Bar, and Met Cafe & Bar). I could not believe there was a Bowling Alley, NBA approved Basketball court, a billards room, and Jim Mclean Golf School. They have a top notch spa, fitness center, yoga studio and great pool. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeoconee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Perfect downtown location, big chain hotel, sumptuous lobby, restaurant, great amenities (NBA basketball court!), spacious room, amazing decor...Everything brand new!
Very good breakfast and helpful professional service.

Room Tip: try to get bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I wish I good give them six stars. I stayed at the JW Marriott Marquis the night bfeore my Western Caribbean Cruise in October 2011. Clean, clean, clean and extremely high tech. The pool area left me awe struck. The hotel seemed brand new, the lobby was sparkling. The elevator hasd a large screen television in the wall that had CNBC on it. The staff provided us extra special service since I had just returned from a military deployment and celebrating wedding anniversery. I felt so honored. The bay view corner room was fantastic. The breakfast in the concerige lounge was top-notch, the staff in the lounge, the front desk, the bell staff , and the housekeeping staff were the best I have ever seen. I have stayed at several hotels on 5 different continents and this hotel beats them all.

I hope to go back one day!! My wife and I walked to Bayside and the hotels the location convient to many activities. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Higher Floor facing the bay. Lounge Access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spectra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
420 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

JW Marriott Marquis is very beautiful hotel with a lot of appointments but the staff was lacking. We traveled to the JW to spend New Years and unwind from a very stressful 2011. When checking-in initially the desk clerk couldn't find the reservation. I called the Marriott reservations and the JW directly to inform that we would be late due to travel delays so I just knew there wouldn't be a problem. After getting assistance from another staff member, life was sort of good. I will hit on the good points and bad points. Good: Large modern beautiful rooms with lots of room to spread out., computers in the rooms (I assume all rooms) with free internet access. Wireless in the rooms. great views for our room of the bay. Comfy chairs. The concierges were very helpful. The Bad: HORRIBLE ROOM SERVICE!! We tried it twice and twice it was bad. The mattress had a major dip in the middle, I mentioned it to the house keeper and she gave me a blank look...no speeky english. The bathrooms is nice but very dim. The valet guys were nice but were not very organized, for $37 per day valet fee, I expect the valet guys that are on the ball. I will say the manager (Quinton?) did remove the room service charges and gave us other amenities to compensate for the bad room service experience. I will say the staff needs work but they did try. I would stay here again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, preferably on the bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgreenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#11 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing