We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15%
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monterrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

It's amazing... is the best hotel I've seen in my life... is very elegant, very comfortable, very clean ... perfect!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caromape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    279
    63
    24
    21
See reviews for
310
425
68
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Caters to the business traveler but perfect for leisure as well. Very large standard rooms!
Rooms are very comfy with high-end finishes and details. 52 inch tv in the room! Top notch modern bathroom with marble etc. Vanity has built in tv! Lovely hotel. Lobby is a little simple but nice. Coffee shop serving Illy coffee. Did not eat in the hotel but there are a couple of choices. Within walking distance of CVS, Starbucks, post office and eateries. Within walking distance of other high-end hotels. Short walk to Mary Brickell Village for shopping, eating, and entertainment. Short drive to South Beach. Close to Bayside Marketplace.
Very elegant hotel. One of the top hotels in the downtown/Brickell avenue area. You can't go wrong with this luxury property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
428 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

OUTSTANDING LUXURY. From the full size basketball court to the yoga studio. Great views! BEST BEST Concierge Lounge. 3-D Movie Theater, bowling, billiards, chocolatier, wine shop and restaurants. Exceptional rooms. WOW!!!!! Un-believable. Staff is off the chain for service. Great restaurants on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed last month in this new property and have nothing but excellent praise for it. First of all, I was able to check in at 8am in the morning which was a real mercy after having flown for 18 hours! Next thing I was upgraded to a one bedroom city view suite. And what a suite!!!! It had a separate hall, dining area with guest toilet. Then a huge bedroom with a super duper luxurious bath including a separate shower stall. The LCD TVs were 52 inches ones!
Being a platinum elite member , internet was free and there was a desktop PC for those who didn’t have a laptop with them. Cool!
I had also free access to the lounge. The lounge was the only disappointment I faced. It was an excellent place with breathtaking views. The food offerings could have been definitely better probably I am used to the offerings seen in the far east etc.
But I really cannot complain at all.
Then comes the attitude of the staff. Unbelievable in every aspect. From the doorman to the valet parking staff to the reception and lounge staff- you mention it- all have been trained to provide excellent service.
I requested the front desk if I could have breakfast in the restaurant instead of the lounge and the duty manager promptly delivered free breakfast vouchers for me. I have been spoilt thoroughly by the level of service and comfort in this hotel – something not seen too easily in North American hotels. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXBDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I just returned from a 5-night stay at the JW Marriott Marquis - Miami and boy am I glad the other properties I normally select in MIA were sold out! A beautiful property located Downtown providing a reasonable walk to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. I was here for business and will definitely consider for future visits if the cost isn't prohibitive.

As others have stated, the standard room is modern and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. Floor to ceiling windows provided great light during the day. My room was located on the 34th floor facing the bay so the views were gorgeous. No balcony but not needed.

I did not require much assistance from the staff but my interaction with the bellmen, valet, and front desk was always pleasant. I used the gym and the equipment is state of the art with a room for free weights and another room with cardio machines. Not a resort atmosphere (and not adverstised to be) but there's a virtual bowling alley that may appeal to some.

My only suggestion to other guests is when entering the guest room be sure to close the door completely behind you. The door is heavy and several times I was certain the door was closed, even heard it "close" behind me, however it would still be ajar.

Also I found the lighting in the restroom somewhat dim when applying makeup. My only real complaint is the sink has a slow drain (a pet peeve of mine) but I believe it is due to the sink's style, not plumbing.

Overalll, I loved this hotel and will recommend to anyone else looking to stay downtown.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cokosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This review is written by a business traveler who frequents Hilton and Marriott hotels in North America and around the world. My wife and I stayed here before a cruise that left Miami Harbor.

Good:
- Very spacious rooms (stayed on points, were given a suite).
- All rooms and common areas renovated recently with moden, contemporary decor.
- Large 52+" LCD TVs in living room and bedroom.
- Interesting TV built into mirror of washroom.
- Separate bath, toilet, shower areas with automatic blinds.
- Modern work area with desk, chair, Cisco phone, touchscreen computer.
- Wired and wireless Internet access.
- Good service in the concierge lounge (they must have read the previous poor reviews).
- Spacious concierge lounge with refreshments/food rivaling other Marriotts.
- Great service (bellhop, front desk, valet and folks getting a cab).
- Close proximity to Miami Beach / South Beach by taxi.
- Did not try the world-class amenities (gym, pool, etc.) - though other reviewers have reviewed such positively.

Room for Improvement:
- Slow channel changing on TV's - DirecTV is used as the provider and changing channels seems very slow.
- Cost of the rooms - we used points, but cash price would have been $450 - not sure if we would have paid that much given the location.
- Downtown location - not something the hotel can change, but the hotel is ideal if you wanted to be downtown, or in an area which was not as hospitable for walking around in the evenings. If you wanted to visit Miami/South Beach...other hotel choices (Marriott brand also) are available much closer to the Beach and in more tourist-friendly areas.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

First the bell desk gave someone else our bag!!! Then we were told that they overbooked and did not have a room for us. Hours later (after we missed our concert that we paid for) they found a room with one bed in it. There was 4 of us. They said that a room with 2 queens was not available. So 2 of us had to sleep on the floor!!! Awful! We were wishing we were a little younger so that we didn't have to struggle with sore backs the next day. A bed is such a basic thing that you would expect from a hotel. They also were not able to provide us with a roll away bed. Our room was only cleaned once and there was not a single towel, tissue, or toilet paper replaced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ccouls01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing