We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original delicious cocktails in Midtown Miami near Design District”
Review of Sugarcane

Sugarcane
Reserve with OpenTable
Sugarcane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 4,201 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Wynwood - Edgewater
Description: Thank you for choosing SUGARCANE raw bar grill. Get ready to kick back, eat well and stay awhile! Should you need to change your reservation, please be sure to call us. We look forward to serving you!
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Original delicious cocktails in Midtown Miami near Design District”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambiance .. The happy hour is great, everybode steps in and enjoys it, then after dining it becomes more like a bar I enjoyed the beet mojito and the hibiscus cachaça. Loved the deco, and the style. Its located in the heart of Midtown just in the perfect spot for the new fashion emerging district in Miami, its a perfect mix of european and tropical Miami style a mix between coconut grooves with brickell. Sushi is great too¡ the happy hour is great, really enjoyed it,!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheEpicureanGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    241
    63
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went for dinner and again found a lively place with tasty food served and friendly service. We liked the bar and the large wine selection and were impressed to find Laurent Perrier rose Champagne offered by the glass - at hefty USD 40 by the glass...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cocktails yay! Service what's that??”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Went to Sugar Cane for my bday/ NYE.. First walk in, and it is a zoo by the hostess stand. We got there a bit early for our reservation, so after checking in, went to the bar. The bartenders were very attentive and knew their drinks! The cocktails were great. 35 minutes after our reservation time we were finally seated, near the door. Asked if we could move, but only other option was by the speakers.. So we stayed.. Here's where things went really downhill. The server really knew nothing of the menu, other than what management had probably prepped him on earlier. This place has a lot of tapas style dishes, so we ordered a bunch, thinking like most places, they would be paced.. Well the food came quickly and all at once!! Tiny table, with no room for the dishes.. Then he nor any busses ever changed out our sharing plates, as your supposed to. Never brought more water until we asked, and saw our cocktails were low but did not ask if we wanted another. What an easy upsell for a restaurant! How stupid!! The food itself was really good, and had great various flavors. Because of that, we decided to still ask for a dessert menu, which after almost 15 minutes never came.. So we finally asked for the bill from the manager.. My bf rightfully so, ripped them a new one because not only was the service bad but he had put in the reservation and told the hostess again it was my bday., but they did nothing. The manager was apologetic, but it was too late. They clearly brought out their D team, on a busy night and didn't care about any of the quality but rather packing that place to the brim.. Despite great food, we will never go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hostess couldn't find our reservation and that was a bit frustrating as we had to prove that we did make one. Finally sat down to enjoy what was a decent dinner. Service was okay as they mostly stood around talking to one another. Were a bit busy. We sat in the patio which was beautiful. Food was good but nothing to rave about. We will give it another try but hope that this time they will find our reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“should of been better”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

'duck & waffle' we gave it a C nothing special , 'goat cheese croquettes' gave them a C , 'bacon dates' would of gotten a A but seeing they were not hot , they get a C as well, Broccoline' C wouldnt get it again. 'octopus' it was cooked to much and very soft my wife didnt like it at all, the suace that came with it did nothing for the dish, C also, we had high hope's for this place but it just was disapointing all the food was not hot and some dishs were lacking taste, the waiter was really good and the reataurant is nice looking but for some reason they fall in the area of not serving hot food, we dont understand it at all, its becoming the normal for places now

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cullinand17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugarcane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing