We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averagely prepared French food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's in the Grove

George's in the Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
George's in the Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #454 of 4,138 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Cross street: Main highway
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Averagely prepared French food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited George's in the Grove for the first time Sunday evening. Service is excellent. Complimentary glass of 'champagne' is a nice touch. However, the food was average and inside a bit too dark. Steak lacked proper seasoning and fish was good but not 'very' good which is what we were expecting from this well established restaurant. Our expectations were a bit higher than the reality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncc1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Waiter threw a fit over our Groupon!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I dine out a lot and are very good tippers. So we were shocked and embarrassed when our waiter ran to the manager and had a hissy fit because we showed him our groupon for our meal. Other than that we have no complaints. The place is lively and fun. The comp glass of champagne was nice yet we ordered a bottle of wine while we waited for a table. Back to the waiter, he had a food runner take care of us instead of himself. Nonetheless we tipped 30% the value of the coupon plus for extra items we ordered to show him how rude he was to just expect that we were non tippers. The manager explained that most groupon customers do not tip at all. That is horrible and cheap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disapppointing Dinner - Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We ate here with friends using a Groupon for a 3 course dinner off a set menu. Our server was very attentive and we started the meal with a complimentary glass of champagne.The selections on the menu all sounded great. The appetizer of fresh avocado and tomato was beautifully presented and very good. However, the escargot, while tasty, was not hot. We thought perhaps it was a mistake and asked to have it reheated (I like bubbling escargot) and were told it was the restaurant's policy not to serve it pipping hot anymore. Too bad as it would have been excellent if it were hot. The main courses were a disappointment. The pepper steak was just OK.. My grilled branzini fish over spinach was not that special. The spinach had a good flavor, but the fish was almost overcooked and tasteless. For dessert we had cream brulee, which again was OK. However, the apple tart, was more of an American pie with thick crust than the delicate French apple tart. A real disappointment for a French restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely, service very good, and sitting outside on a tree lined street a real plus. It's too bad that the quality of the food does not make this a great place to dine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's not what I thought it would be.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We came here with a groupon just to see if we like it. I'm glad we did not pay full price. The service and food presentation was great. The food had no taste and the chicken was greasy.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I came here during our stay in Miami. Our hotel was only a five minute walk (lots of boutiques on the way too). We ate really early because we were catching a movie afterward so we were the only people in the restaurant which was nice. The bread was very tasty and their spread was great too. We ordered the truffle fries for an appetizer which were good but not what I was expecting for a french restaurant. For my entree I ordered the Morel Mushroom Risotto with Shaved Foie Gras and Truffle Oil....hands down the best risotto I have ever eaten. Don't be turned off by the color of the risotto (I was at first). The dish had tons of flavor with the mushrooms, truffle oil and foie gras. It was a fairly large portion and it was so good I almost ate the entire thing. It was our last night in Coconut Grove and we were extremely satisfied with our meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George's in the Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing