We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food, Fantastic Ambiance!”

Mandolin Aegean Bistro
Ranked #29 of 4,162 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great reviews check it out
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Fantastic Ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This restaurant on my first visit has already become the best in South Florida. The food is really superb, do try marinated octopus, stuffed zucchini and the incredible kefte all of these are out of this world mezes. Daniel the waiter was extremely helpful in his suggestions and provided excellent guidance in the wine selection...Well done Daniel. We definitely come back to this welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSantanaCoralGables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    225
    55
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Among best Mediterranean cuisines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Terrific food and atmosphere in a really fun place. Varied menu with Greek and Turkish dishes and very reasonable wine list. Valet parking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gent1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great food. Amazing ambiance. Most delicious white sangria i ever had. By far the best aegean restaurant in Miami.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I never want to leave a restaurant broke AND hungry, but that was exactly my experience here.

We came here based on a friend's referral. The space itself is very nice. The covered outdoor area was quaint, though the music was a bit loud in the speakers.

When we walked into the restaurant at 5pm, It was empty. Completely empty. A waitress approached and asked if we had a reservation, and we didn't. She looked concerned and walked away. A waiter followed her, and asked the same question. We said "no, we're just looking for drinks and appetizers". He said they should be able to accomodate us.

We ordered two drinks and two appetizers. My girlfriend got a $12 glass of wine that couldn't have been more than 5 oz. I got a bottled beer for $7. The two appetizers, both around $15, were ridiculously small. Tiger shrimp (3) and 2 Zucchini strips, respectively. The food was average, and not particularly delicious.

The waiter asked "what will you be ordering for your entree"? And not "would you like to order an entree?" We said we were finished eating. He proceeded to put more clean plates on our table and gave us a "hard sell" to order more food. He came over twice more to see if we had changed our minds.

I'm no stranger to "fine dining", but frankly I was insulted. I was treated like I was only welcome there if I opened my wallet to them.

Horrible experience and I will never be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magellan602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience in a truly east mediterranean setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The setting is great – in a courtyard / canopy type – that resembles Mediterranean restaurants very well. Only concern is that I don’t know how they manage if it is raining because not all areas are under the canopy and breeze could make it tricky, but, in our case, since sky was clear was great to sit outdoors. Food is very very good, although the menu is limited – 5 or 6 entrees, the octopus and the lamp chops that we had were excellent. Taste was truly Greek/Turkish/middle east because of the ingredients - perfect choice, combination and cooking. It is a legit eastern Mediterranean experience both in the food and atmosphere. Again, selection is limited (only two desserts available the night we dined) BUT the best baklava I ever had had to be this one, simply great!!!. Have a very decent wine selection from everywhere and the service was perfect. If you are looking for this type of food, you have to try it; great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEPP1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandolin Aegean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing