We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baklava...YUM!”

Mandolin Aegean Bistro
Ranked #27 of 4,220 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great reviews check it out
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Baklava...YUM!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We went on a Saturday night and the place was packed! The high season for South Florida has def started. We did not have a reservation but we were able to sit down right away inside. The table was next to the kitchen so my advice is to make a reservation. They were super busy so the service started off slow but eventually they slowed down and the waitress was very nice.

I recommend the White Sangria and the Lamb Chops. The Moussaka is also very good and the Greek salad is one of the best I've had. They also have a great white sangria.

Hands down the best part is the dessert, the BAKLAVA is to die for!

Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quitoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    233
    57
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Ambiance”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We got there late on a Sat night. The place is full of character. All of the items we had were very tasty. Service was prompt & friendly. If I had to nit pic it would only be that the greek salad was 6/10 and the bread served was more french/italian then greek/turkish. Over all a great meal in a city that is finally embracing substance over flash. Thank you.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very good, a little pricey”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I'm very familiar with and very particular about my Greek and Middle Eastern food. We stopped for lunch. I had a "pulled lamb" sandwich. Very good, on Greek bread, served with fries, at $14. I thought it was a few dollars high given the neighborhood and patio furniture atmosphere. My wife had mussels in broth. It was OK but i've had better elsewhere at other Miami restaurants. Beer was $6. There were several interesting Mediterranean offerings that I would try on a future visit. Definitely passed the authenticity test.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you miss turkish cuisine - must visit”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a small cottage that has been converted into a restaurant. Kid-friendly with a relaxed atmosphere; seating is mainly on the patio. Food is very tasty. My kids loved the calamari, and the smyrna street (turkish chorizo sandwich). I've gone several times for the stuffed zucchini, it's a vegetarian dish (i'm not vegetarian but i don't miss the meat). If you like turkish cuisine - this is a place to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 243travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor dining atmosphere and yummy Greek/Turkish food!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed a long, lingering lunch in this charming restaurant located just north of Miami's Design District. The area is a bit seeding (though still considered up and coming), but they offer $3 valet parking or meters nearby. The day was sunny and we were happy to find a table on the large outdoor patio. They also have a small indoor seating area.

The service was friendly and knowledgeable and the tables were filled with other locals. We started with the Turkish sampler appetizer (different dips like Hummus) and the grilled octopus appetizer (fresh and almost worth the $18 price tag). We shared a roasted lamb sandwich with caramelized onions (must say, this one was a bit underwhelming, though meat was very tender) which was saved by the delicious tzatziki spread. Dessert was also yummy...baklava and chocolate cake.

I would say the atmosphere was so good we will go back, the food was okay to great, mostly I think we should have picked something different from the menu as there was much to choose and I think we just missed with the sandwich when there were other more interesting options. Everything was exceptionally prepared, I just think some things we ordered were not quite our taste, but others may have enjoyed them...

In all we quite enjoyed the experience and ambiance and will return to try other items. Have heard it's also a great place for brunch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sellsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandolin Aegean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mandolin Aegean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing