We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
177
358
246
100
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
358
246
100
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscayne blvdmiami beachcerealmimocruiseport
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 983 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The New Yorker Boutique Hotel is a retro looking structure that has been nicely remodeled. It is 1950's vintage but has all the modern amenities. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and professional. The rates are very affordable for Miami and it is not too far from the action of South Beach. There are some very good and affordable restaurants (Balans, Jimmys Diner) within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable and they were clean. The only down side to the hotel is a limited amount of parking and the general area that the hotel is located in. I personally felt safe and comfortable there but some people may not.

Enrights
Columbus, OH

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, We are happy that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our hotel. Our staff are very friendly and helpful and make all our guest feel at home.
We are located in a transitional neighborhood but we have been established for more than 40 years and are a safe property and its surrounding area.

Looking forward to your next vist
Walter&Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The retro themed hotel was cutely decorated. Unfortunately it needs a deep cleaning and some cosmetic touch ups. The front door and bathroom door were grimy and either need to be cleaned or painted. The bathroom had black mildew on the shower walls and the hot and cold knobs were hollow because the fronts of the knobs were missing. There again, just a thorough cleaning and I wouldn't have felt the need to stand on a hand towel while showering. The carpet needed a cleaning as well. The bed was comfortable, so a good nights sleep wasn't a problem. It's great for just a night or two but wouldn't book a lengthy stay. I was disappointed because the room was cutely decorated but the lack of cleanliness detracted from that. I'm a big believer of clean is cheap and easy to achieve. Something else we noticed is there was no climate control in the room, which it was cool the night we stayed so the fan was enough but if was summer it could be a problem. There is a fridge in the room which is a plus. We aren't swimmers so can't comment on the pool and didn't have the breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the road out front.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the comfort and quality of our hotel.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel and will certainly fix the issues that you mentioned in your feedback and look forward to your return visit on your future holiday.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very pleasant stay, very friendly and accomodating staff and owners. Iron/ironing board in every room, as well as a hair dryer. I chose this hotel after viewing the HGTV makeover which was completed in 2011. It seems the New Yorker has continued with the changes and suggestions made by Anthony. My room was a couple of doors down from the office and I was wary of not being able to sleep well- but didn't hear a thing. Slept very well , in part due to the great bedding and pillows. Very nice breakfast patio, and a nice place to hang out to relax or read. I did try the pool area which was well appointed but it was too cool and rainy during my stay. I was very fortunate to attend New Yorkers' Christmas party, all guests were invited and many attended. It was a great party, wonderful and plentiful food, lots of interaction with staff and guests. While I have stayed in fancier places for the same price, I was not disappointed with my stay and would do so again. I grew up in the era of 50's hotel/motels and this brought back memories of my 1961 stay in Miami. New Yorker was clean, quiet, friendly, with a shuttle from the airport, near the cruise port, shared a taxi with other guests to the port. What more could I have wanted? My only suggestion would be a luggage rack in each room. Although there is no restaurant on site, there is an excellent restaurant just a block down the street.
Nancy S

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaNature01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind review,
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our hotel.
Our staff are very friendly and accommodating and are familiar with our surroundings to guide our guest to the best places to visit and eat.
happy to hear you had a memorable stay and will certainly look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

GREAT HOTEL, I WONDER WHAT FAMOUS PEOPLE STAYED HERE IN THE 50,s the price was right, nice bedding, did not have to use earplugs, stayed next to pool, you can tell they are trying to keep up maintenance as they were always working on something, loved the breakfast, and the smiling face of charles, it was nice to have staff there at all times, so cozy, sinthia was a sweetheart, helpfull and very friendly, all the staff did a great job! if your looking for the RITZ HOTEL,then book there, if your looking for friendly, homey, small, comfy, and fair price, this is the hotel. Jimmy,s Diner 5 blocks to your left, good home cooked meals. good price childrens consignment store across the street . had a great 3 day stay. all new pool furniture on its way, bet it will look great.

Room Tip: back rooms near the pool, lower rooms no stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikedeb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review,
Happy to hear you were pleased with the comfort and quality at our hotel, we are a hidden gem :)
We certainly look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great Little Hotel,1950's Art deco rooms. Very clean and with a great King size bed, excellent bedding and pillows. A comfortable nights sleep. This was a stop over before we went on a Carnival Cruise to Mexico and the Grand Caymans. Very friendly staff, Nice breakfast Patio. All Good. An excellent restaurant is just 1 block from the hotel. It's called the Blue Collar...This is a good place to stay if you want to stay on budget.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street on the lower floor. Very nice ,no noise even though they supplied ear plugs with the room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear you had a memorable stay and certainly look forward to your next visit.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel for travelers to stay with us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews