We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice motel, great for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #77 of 124 Hotels in Miami
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice motel, great for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and we enjoyed the hospitality and very friendly staff. The price is really reasonable. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The pool is not a highlight: the water is cold and not very clean. It is important to note that this is a very basic motel: they serve the same breakfast as in a motel 6, the services are equivalent to a Super 8 or a travelodge but with a desire to decorate nicely and nice touches (the patio to have breakfast for example) that give charm and make a difference with a basic motel. The big negative: the noise. Whether the road or people in the room, it is not well soundproofed.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is not central, you have to have a car. Balans restaurant on Biscayne is a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We thank you for your kind review,
We are a three star hotel with a four star rating by our guest.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel.
We have friendly staff who go above and beyond for our guest and make our guest feel that this is their home away from home.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    325
    215
    89
    79
See reviews for
155
409
69
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think this place suffers from bad expectation-setting. It's *not* a 3-star hotel. It's just a motel. They've tried to doll it up with some kitschy jetsons-style decor and baby blue paint, and changed the M on the sign to an H. But it's still very much a MOtel, and sort of a dump.

So when my family arrived expecting a nice stay in a hotel, we were severely disappointed. The rooms are typical motel-style. The door didn't quite fit the frame leaving a sizeable gap through which we could see out to the street. The carpet between the 2 beds had a spill of cleaning fluid, so my sock got all wet and smelled of pine-sol. Either it was just a spill, or they had done a half-assed job cleaning up something gross there. The suds from the detergent puddle started coming up brownish; the carpet just felt so dirty that I didn't want my kid to set foot off the bed.

The bathroom was old, with broken handles, etc. The mini-fridge was not plugged in, and the outlet it should have been plugged into was broken in the wall. The lighting is very harsh. I really don't get how this place has such good ratings; it's sort of a dumpy motel, definitely *not* a 3-star hotel.

The immediate location feels ok; we were able to walk up the block to a few restaurants and shops. But driving around a few blocks, it's clear this place is right on the edge of some pretty sketchy neighborhoods. Not really a great place to take a stroll. You'll want to drive to your vacation attractions from here.

Before we arrived, we asked if early check-in was possible, and also whether a crib would be available for our baby. These are typical requests at a hotel, but the responses we got were somewhat curt. While we were waiting we also heard someone on the phone getting some equally brusque customer service.

We ended up checking out of this place later in the evening the same day we arrived; we didn't even want to stay the night here, despite the fact that we had paid a nonrefundable booking in advance. The net result of the experience was that I lost some faith in trip advisor ratings!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vineet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We apologize for any Inconvenience you may have experienced at our Hotel.
We are a three star hotel and have been rated four star by our guest.
The building in which your room was located was our newer building that has been through a complete renovation a few years ago.
Our entire property is well kept and needless to say our rooms are spotless.
We are the only Hotel in our surrounding area.
According to when you were ask the reason for your early departure upon check out your response was your wedding party had already booked you other accomidations and paid for elsewhere.
At no time did you mention to our staff that it was due to any dislikes you may have had at our property or our surrounding area..
We also do not have any early check ins since we are 100% occupancy during the season.
We are sorry we did not meet your standings, but I am well aware of how good our property is and how we accommodate all our clients wants and needs.
We are sorry we weren't able to meet yours.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The breakfast was good, the people were nice, the room was clean and air conditioned, it was nice to relax by the pool at night, Miami is a great place to visit, no matter where you go. I had read reviews about this place being too far away from Miami center, but it was a lovely neighbourhood where others said hi and weren't rude. Their was a wendy's close by and a lovely precious stones and stuffed animals museum not too far. With the bus it took us 20 minutes to get to Miami Beach and a lady was kind enough to bring us to a local pharmacy where we could get a weekly 26$ pass :) All in all, the hotel was good and we had many great memories there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiraVasili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear to were satisfied with the comfort and quality we provided to you during your stay at our property.

Certainly looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautifully decorated: colours of rooms; paintings; coloured light hallway, breakfast area), everything felt effortless (real friendly, honest people working there;was able to make a phonecall and go on the internet pc), furniture is in real good state. All in all, it is the relaxing experience which will make me come back.
Ps.there's a main road in front of the hotel, so if you wish not to hear the cars driving by, maybe ask for a room on the backside.It didn't bother me, though)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank traveller 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband & I stayed here the night before flying out of the Miami airport.
It really lives up to it's retro reputation, and is somewhat spartan, but comfortable
enough. We were grateful for the earplugs provided as it is right on a busy street
that gets a lot of nighttime traffic. We did not use the pool, but the entire facility
looked clean enough. I was somewhat dismayed when a lone cockroach crawled
out from underneath the bed while we were packing the next morning, but he
wasn't very lively so I'm sure he was under the exterminator's spell. Would I
stay here again? Maybe. It's down the street from Balan's restaurant and that was the
highlight of our evening there.

Room Tip: Ask for the most recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razzle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear that there was a bug in your room these insects are called palmetto bugs and yes Florida is a tropical state and has been known for their insects.
We take every appropriate step to avoid this from happening.
Unfortunately we can not control nature,

We certainly looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is really good for the price. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the staff is helpful and nice(especially Mimi) . The location is central to downtown and beach..There is a very charming place for breakfast which is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel , clean , and good price . Location is central to downtown and beach. People there are very kind and helpful (mimi, symbia and charleis ALL people , I hope not forget any one). I recommmend this place to whom is comming to miami. Room facility is perfect and stuff which is not present can be found by the help of people there.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sinbad Motel
Sinbad Motel
#71 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.3 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#37 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Vagabond Hotel
The Vagabond Hotel
#43 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.4 mi away
Habitat Residence
Habitat Residence
#52 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
8.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Property: New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Address: 6500 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33138-6230
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing