We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“it's a *Motel*, *not* a hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it's a *Motel*, *not* a hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think this place suffers from bad expectation-setting. It's *not* a 3-star hotel. It's just a motel. They've tried to doll it up with some kitschy jetsons-style decor and baby blue paint, and changed the M on the sign to an H. But it's still very much a MOtel, and sort of a dump.

So when my family arrived expecting a nice stay in a hotel, we were severely disappointed. The rooms are typical motel-style. The door didn't quite fit the frame leaving a sizeable gap through which we could see out to the street. The carpet between the 2 beds had a spill of cleaning fluid, so my sock got all wet and smelled of pine-sol. Either it was just a spill, or they had done a half-assed job cleaning up something gross there. The suds from the detergent puddle started coming up brownish; the carpet just felt so dirty that I didn't want my kid to set foot off the bed.

The bathroom was old, with broken handles, etc. The mini-fridge was not plugged in, and the outlet it should have been plugged into was broken in the wall. The lighting is very harsh. I really don't get how this place has such good ratings; it's sort of a dumpy motel, definitely *not* a 3-star hotel.

The immediate location feels ok; we were able to walk up the block to a few restaurants and shops. But driving around a few blocks, it's clear this place is right on the edge of some pretty sketchy neighborhoods. Not really a great place to take a stroll. You'll want to drive to your vacation attractions from here.

Before we arrived, we asked if early check-in was possible, and also whether a crib would be available for our baby. These are typical requests at a hotel, but the responses we got were somewhat curt. While we were waiting we also heard someone on the phone getting some equally brusque customer service.

We ended up checking out of this place later in the evening the same day we arrived; we didn't even want to stay the night here, despite the fact that we had paid a nonrefundable booking in advance. The net result of the experience was that I lost some faith in trip advisor ratings!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vineet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We apologize for any Inconvenience you may have experienced at our Hotel.
We are a three star hotel and have been rated four star by our guest.
The building in which your room was located was our newer building that has been through a complete renovation a few years ago.
Our entire property is well kept and needless to say our rooms are spotless.
We are the only Hotel in our surrounding area.
According to when you were ask the reason for your early departure upon check out your response was your wedding party had already booked you other accomidations and paid for elsewhere.
At no time did you mention to our staff that it was due to any dislikes you may have had at our property or our surrounding area..
We also do not have any early check ins since we are 100% occupancy during the season.
We are sorry we did not meet your standings, but I am well aware of how good our property is and how we accommodate all our clients wants and needs.
We are sorry we weren't able to meet yours.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    313
    201
    87
    75
See reviews for
150
391
67
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The breakfast was good, the people were nice, the room was clean and air conditioned, it was nice to relax by the pool at night, Miami is a great place to visit, no matter where you go. I had read reviews about this place being too far away from Miami center, but it was a lovely neighbourhood where others said hi and weren't rude. Their was a wendy's close by and a lovely precious stones and stuffed animals museum not too far. With the bus it took us 20 minutes to get to Miami Beach and a lady was kind enough to bring us to a local pharmacy where we could get a weekly 26$ pass :) All in all, the hotel was good and we had many great memories there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiraVasili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear to were satisfied with the comfort and quality we provided to you during your stay at our property.

Certainly looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautifully decorated: colours of rooms; paintings; coloured light hallway, breakfast area), everything felt effortless (real friendly, honest people working there;was able to make a phonecall and go on the internet pc), furniture is in real good state. All in all, it is the relaxing experience which will make me come back.
Ps.there's a main road in front of the hotel, so if you wish not to hear the cars driving by, maybe ask for a room on the backside.It didn't bother me, though)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank traveller 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband & I stayed here the night before flying out of the Miami airport.
It really lives up to it's retro reputation, and is somewhat spartan, but comfortable
enough. We were grateful for the earplugs provided as it is right on a busy street
that gets a lot of nighttime traffic. We did not use the pool, but the entire facility
looked clean enough. I was somewhat dismayed when a lone cockroach crawled
out from underneath the bed while we were packing the next morning, but he
wasn't very lively so I'm sure he was under the exterminator's spell. Would I
stay here again? Maybe. It's down the street from Balan's restaurant and that was the
highlight of our evening there.

Room Tip: Ask for the most recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razzle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear that there was a bug in your room these insects are called palmetto bugs and yes Florida is a tropical state and has been known for their insects.
We take every appropriate step to avoid this from happening.
Unfortunately we can not control nature,

We certainly looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is really good for the price. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the staff is helpful and nice(especially Mimi) . The location is central to downtown and beach..There is a very charming place for breakfast which is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel , clean , and good price . Location is central to downtown and beach. People there are very kind and helpful (mimi, symbia and charleis ALL people , I hope not forget any one). I recommmend this place to whom is comming to miami. Room facility is perfect and stuff which is not present can be found by the help of people there.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the New Yorker for one night pre-cruise (total of 3 rooms for our group). The room was very attractive and comfortable, with beautiful colors and fun artwork (we got Glenda and Dorothy from the "Wizard of Oz"!). Our room was on the street side, and even though we could hear some traffic noise, it was not loud and we didn't need the ear plugs provided.

Check in was fast and the Front Desk attendant was friendly. I also dealt with Mimi on the phone, and she was extremely helpful and polite, as well.

The pool area was nice and the courtyard was very attractive and comfortable. We brought food back in the evening and enjoyed our dinner in this area, as well as the continental breakfast in the morning. Food for breakfast was plentiful and was being replenished in a timely manner.

We booked our room directly with the hotel on their website, and when the price dropped, I contacted them and Gerri adjusted the price for us. This was a wonderful bit of Customer Service!

The hotel is a short drive straight down Biscayne Blvd to Bayside, the cruise ship terminal and the bridge to the South Beach area. Parking at the hotel was free, but it got abit tight late in the evening, so be prepared for some creative backing and forthing to get in the parking spots.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreytRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We like to thank you for your review, and are delighted that you will certainly recommend us and look forward to your next visit.
We are a hidden gem hotel that offers excellent customer service clean beautiful rooms and great amendies.
We are fortunate that we have a excellent establishment in the heart of Miami and will continue to strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel for all guest that visit Miami.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
The Vagabond Hotel
#41 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Regency Hotel Miami
#29 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#44 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Property: New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Address: 6500 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33138-6230
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing