We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NOT AS DESCRIBED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT AS DESCRIBED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Upon our arrival to the motel area I was very hesitant about staying in the area. There were numerous homeless and strange people walking around. My husband checked us in and we headed up to our 2nd story room. My 1st impression was that the room was very retro as described. Unforfunately I was very disapointed in the room.
If you like dirty walls, an air conditioner in a recessed closet, NO dresser, although if you wanted to hang your clothes on the 4 hangers in the closet it would have obstructed the A/C,1 lamp, a bed that creaked every time you moved, a toilet that leaked every time that it was flushed and had a loud squeel at the end, no place to put toiletries in the bathroom (or anywhere else) or an electrical outlet, all tile work grouting that was done as repairs was sloppy and no alternative to down pillows this is the place for you. I would rank this motel as sub-par even to Motel 6 standards.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here try to get a room in the "newer" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay at our property.
However we do have staff 24 hours at the front desk to accomidate our guest needs and if we were informed of any issues we certainly would have taken care of your issues.
We are a three star hotel with a four star rating given by our guest.
We take every issue and comment our guest write on reviews and do our best to assure our guest have a memorable stay and when they do return to Miami we will be their choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    313
    201
    86
    75
See reviews for
150
391
67
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is in the process of remodeling. We had a room close to the swimming pool which had not yet been redecorated like the rooms shown on the internet. The room was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast seved in the morning was great. Transportation from and to the airport is available for $20.00. They are in the process of obtaining permission to drop off at the port. We took a taxi from the hotel to the port and the fare was only $15.00. Excellent hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.
we are happy that you were satisfied with the comfort and quality we provided to you and certainly looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we stayed here just for one night Oct 2012
first impressions were that it looked a good hotel
the impressions changed when we collected our room keys and the entered the room
it changed from good to excellent
the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was perfect, clean, cool and modern looking with all the facilities you require
the pool was clean with plenty of seating
coffee and tea was available for free at all times
we faced the main road but were not disturbed at all
the staff recommended a restaurant within a few minutes walk, and she was spot on, we enjoyed a lovely meal at a reasonable cost
I would recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying again when visiting Miami

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barrie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased that your were satisfied with the comfort and quaility during your stay with us at the New Yorker Boutique Hotel and certainly looke forward to your return visit.

Sincerely
Walter & Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights in september 2012. Basic motel just a few miles north of downtown and in front of Miami Beach. Good location.
Really essential but clean and comfortable enough. A little bit noisy with the rooms facing Biscayne Blvd. I would suggest it as a valid choice for a low cost stay in Miami.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioZanotti_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review,
We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to your future visit,
Walter & Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I only stayed for one night with them but because of Isaac tropical storm i had to stay in the day and night.
The room was big, clean and nice with all necessary things in it. Wifi was not always stable though.
I would not say Location is great- a little bit backwards towards downtown but close to the ocean on another hand.
The staff is super-friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review,
Sorry to hear that you were having issues with the wifi due to the weather condition we were having during your stay which made it difficult at times thou the outside courier was working very hard to fix the issue.
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was traveling to the Miami area from NY to help my elderly dad who was having eye surgery. He arranged for me to stay at a motel located several blocks from where he lives. Honestly, I was not expecting much because the area is mostly comprised of old 'sketchy' motels. In recent years however, there have been lots of changes in the neighborhood - new great restaurants & shops. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised and impressed from the moment I arrived at The New Yorker! Mimi at the front desk was very sweet and welcoming when I arrived. My room was adorable! It was contemporary and cheerful.It was decorated in aqau, white and a touch of cranberry. There was an over-sized silk screen print of Charlie Sheen hanging over my bed. I think all of the rooms have a different, hip & fun decor. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had at any hotel. Walter & Shirley, the owners, did a fantastic job turning this old motel into a chic boutique that looks like it belongs on Ocean Ave in South Beach! Each morning a contintal breakfast was served in an outside courtyard. There were cafe tables and chairs set up as well as wicker couches and club chairs set under a pretty canopy. Each morning Charles (who was working at the buffet) asked me about my dad's progress. In the past while visiting the Miami area I stayed downtown at the Double Tree, however, getting in and out of the hotel and getting my car from valet took forever. The New Yorker was conveniently located and made traveling easy. For the week that I was in Miami, it was my home away from home. I felt very comfortable and cared for. I will be looking forward to my next trip to Miami and I will most certainly be staying at The New Yorker!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your response to your stay with us.
Yes we do make our guest here at hotel their home away from home.
Our staff are very accomidating and provide excellent customer service to our guest and their families.
Happy to hear your dad is doing great and his surgery was a success.

Looking forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the New Yorker Boutique Hotel before cruise. I highly recommend the New Yorker. Free breakfast every morning. Free wi-fi throughout the property and free parking. It's conveniently located on Biscayne Blvd and 65th street. Staff at check-in was extremely friendly and helpful. Purely clean the room. Great breakfast with friendly staff. Be sure to return next vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
The Vagabond Hotel
#41 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Regency Hotel Miami
#29 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#46 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Property: New Yorker Boutique Hotel
Address: 6500 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33138-6230
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing