We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine and Down to Earth”

Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours
Ranked #4 of 211 Outdoor Activities in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buffalo Tiger's Fla. Everglades Airboat Rides is located approximately 11 miles west of Krome Avenue on Hwy 41 on the Miiccosukee Indian Reservation. Our hours of operation 9am to 5pm Monday thru Sunday. We are Miccosukee family owned and operated. Our tour guides take you on a 45 minute guided tour that includes a stop at an authentic Indian camp with boardwalk. See wildlife in their natural habitat. Experience the wonder and beauty of the Florida Everglades.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine and Down to Earth”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am visiting Florida with my Mom this week. We are staying on Miami Beach so we decided to get away from the crowds and take a trip to the everglades today. It was about an hour drive, but most of it is scenic if you are not from around here.

We looked up "everglades airboat rides" on google maps and saw that there were about five places on the same highway. We drove in that general direction and drove past many superficial, touristy looking airboat places packed with tour busses. We pulled into Buffalo Tiger because it was less crowded and is run by the local Indian tribe. It seemed like less of a tourist trap.

We walked into the main shop that is filled with handmade little trinquets and a few cheap snacks. We were greeted by Alberto (a local indian) who answered our questions and was super friendly. He lead us out to the dock where we waited for about twenty minutes for the boat to return. We saw two gators in the water just of the dock as well as a lot of fish.

When we finally got onto the boat with about six other people we met Ernie Redwing who is also native/local. He is well educated on the gator species and shared a lot of knowledge with us. We sped through the swampy waters at a very fast pace which was a thrill! We got splashed with a little bit of water and mud, but nothing that stained or got our cameras in trouble. We would pull up onto bushes and Ernie would call out to the gators with a certain clicking noise. They came up to the boat, knowing there would be food.

We also made a 10 or 15 minute stop at a locally owned island where we saw about 30 raccoons. They were very cute, but we were warned that they were dangerous and we could not touch them.

Overall the trip was awesome! The only downside is that they were feeding the animals dog food. I wish they would feed them small fish or something less processed overall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittneyChristie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    136
    22
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My daughter and I came to Miami Beach for vacation, we decided to go on an air boat tour, after researching many, we decided on Buffalo Tiger's Airboat rides. We went in side and were greeted by Alberto, very informative, answered all of our questions. We paid the $27.00 each and went to the dock to wait, while waiting we had 2 alligators swim up to the dock, great picture oppurtunities.
We boarded the boat with 6 others plus our guide Ernie Redwing. He took us around to different areas where he stopped the boat while alligators approached us. He explained in detail the differences between alligators and crocodiles, and also the differences between the males and females and how they act. He also stopped on a small island where a gaze of raccoons lived, more great picture oppurtunities. Birds were everywhere, too many to count. The tour is about 40 minutes long, well worth it.
I would definately recommend this company to everyone. We drove past 3 or 4 other tour boat companys on our way and we are glad we did. This will be one ride to remember and will be talked about for years

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CChristie966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A small company owned by indians; Buffalo TIger was their former chief
+/- 20 people on the boat - +/- 45 minutes tour
We have seen many crocks; the friend ly pilot tells a lot of facts about the crocks and "plays with them". This is really scary, but my kids liked it a lot!
You don't need a reservation - we did,'t need to wait at all.
At the end we have visid a small island with a lot of raccoons

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Piet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value, laid-back tour”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This down-to-earth, 45 minute tour was just right for us. It was much cheaper (and a bit shorter) than the competition and felt more like something the locals would do rather than what cashed-up tourists would head for. Run by a group from the Miccosukee people, we saw a few gators, lots of bird life, visited one of the group's grass island camps (with its large population of raccoons) and had an enjoyable interaction with the guide. We took some great photos and voted this one of the best things we did around Miami. Make sure you check out the Miccosukee village a few more miles farther west.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great family airport tour”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We made a quick stop as we were running down 41 (Tamiami Trail) and wanted to do a tour. Trip Advisor had this operation highly rated so we tried it. Tour was approx 45 minutes and cost was $74 for 2 adults and 2 kids with 10% discount found online. Our guide was Ernie RedWing and he was great. Most of the time was spent with the gators and Ernie calling them over to the airboat. They came right up and accepted the bread he offered. They got very close and at one point I thought a couple of them were going to crawl in the airboat with us. Our kids loved this and really got into the information Ernie shared about the gator habitat and behaviors.

We also made a quick stop at a small island to see an old Indian village and the swarm of raccoons that await visitors. The 'coons were very friendly and looking for handouts. We also got the airboat up to speed a few times and enjoyed the thrill of running over the Everglades at 50+ MPH. Overall a fantastic experience and one of the highlights of our trip.

The only sort of downside to this was that it was not a very "natural" experience with these animals. The gators and raccoons were clearly accustomed to humans and approached us eagerly looking for food. These animals were habituated and not as you would see in the wild. However, if you want to get close to the wildlife you won't do better than this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing