We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for Fabian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours

Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours
Ranked #3 of 209 Outdoor Activities in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buffalo Tiger's Fla. Everglades Airboat Rides is located approximately 11 miles west of Krome Avenue on Hwy 41 on the Miiccosukee Indian Reservation. Our hours of operation 9am to 5pm Monday thru Sunday. We are Miccosukee family owned and operated. Our tour guides take you on a 45 minute guided tour that includes a stop at an authentic Indian camp with boardwalk. See wildlife in their natural habitat. Experience the wonder and beauty of the Florida Everglades.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Cool, CA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Ask for Fabian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a wonderful hour and a half. Our guide, Fabian, was soft spoken and dignified as he discussed the Native American heritage that he is trying to maintain in the park. He was very helpful and safety conscious. He also was able to find us numerous photo opportunities, up close and personal with alligators of all sizes. He also took time to explain the more colorful flora we encountered in the swamp. The water level was low for this time of year but Fabian maneuvered the airboat superbly through the grass shallows. Mid tour, the skies opened up and it poured. Fabian sensed that the deluge was coming and raced us to a restored Indian homestead where we took cover under thatch roofed structures. Several other airboats showed up some long minutes later and were already thoroughly soaked with the rain. Fabian explained some of the historical perspective for the Native American family that might have lived in this type of settlement. The guides also brought out some dogfood and attracted a nursery of raccoons (approximately 20) that frolicked at our feet for ten minutes. Some adventurous (silly) folks bent down and petted the little critters that were soaked through from the rain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    119
    19
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Do not miss this opportunity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Consistent with the other reviews, this is a must-do adventure! My husband and I were in Miami to visit our son, whose coworkers strongly recommended Buffalo Tigers. A straightforward 45 minutes’ drive from the city, it is well worth the few extra miles/minutes past the other companies offering the same service.

Buffalo Tigers is run by the Miccosukee Indians and our guide Ernie Red Wing is proud of and knowledgeable about his heritage and the areas we explored. His passion was evident – making it not only a fabulous excursion but a fact-filled, interesting one as well.

He patiently and thoroughly answered all questions and regaled us with multiple up-close and personal encounters with alligators – interacting with them almost as if they were his pets – making for great photo opportunities!

The airboat ride in and of itself was exhilarating – and the stop at Tear Island where we were greeted by a group of adorable and friendly raccoons – an unexpected, fun surprise and yet another fun photo opp. We took a short tour of the once inhabited island with a compelling history and then headed back

Port-a-potties are available as are basic snacks (chips etc.) and water. Head phones are provided at no charge as the airboat is noisy. A 10% printable coupon can be found on the website. Wear sunscreen, sunglasses and a hat – the sun is hot and strong – and of course bring a camera, sit back and enjoy!

My only ‘complaint’ is that this wonderful adventure ended too soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzbird925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Buffalo Tiger's Airboat is the company to choose. There were only 4 others on our airboat. We saw a number of alligators and they were very close up. Our guide, I believe his name is Jimmy, was very professional and entertaining. He made sure that we got the most out of our experience. We stopped on an island and that was cool too. Jimmy went out of his way for his guests. It was obvious that he loves the Everglades and his job too. His wife was working in the gift shop which is worth a visit. The beautiful beaded items are handmade by the women that work at Buffalo Tigers. We really enjoyed our airboat ride and are glad that we went with this company. Also, there is a coupon available on their website.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“I'm so glad we did this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The reviews below are completely accurate: great tour, authentic guides, and at a very reasonable price. Thank you! Two points to remember though, one is to allow time for road works into the Everglades (about 15min extra), and secondly if you don't want to use a portable toillet stop in the city or casino before you enter the Everglades.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just a slice of heaven - great price and wonderful guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I can't even begin to tell you how over the top amazing this place was! Skip the tourist traps and keep going the extra five minutes to the Miccosukee tour - trust me! The guide was super knowledgeable about gators, we saw lots, and of course he was an expert at showing off his gator language! I can't even tell you how clean the air was, how beautiful the day, and how well organized it was, complete with a herd of friendly raccoons at the indian village part way round the tour. This establishment was top flight!

We had Ernie Redwing as our guide - he was FANTASTIC and made us feel at home. You can tell there is a great deal of pride that goes into giving these tours - there was not even a hint of 'jaded tour guide' in this fellow - he was enthusiastic and gave us a great trip.

I will definitely be back and it made for an amazing memory of our first trip to the everglades! Thank you so much!

{the Canadians}

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank missmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing