We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recomended” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlyle
Ranked #23 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not recomended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Bad cocktail, high price and although you are in the heart of miami beach, the table arrangements do not make the place optimal to enjoy the place. You do however have the chance to do it the second you get of your chair.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Asterixos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    6
    3
    18
See reviews for
13
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We visited Miami for the day and our parking attendant recommended the Carlyle. We were not disappointed. Our waitress was great. The food was delicious and the drinks were incredible.
One piece of advice, ask how much the special drinks and meals are. I did not and my drink was $35 and the meal I ordered was $55. The waitress was great to cancel my lunch special and replace it was a delicious Crispy Chicken taco for under $15. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenoser1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went here for a lunch a few times during our 9 day stay in Miami and had the Italian Sandwich each time as enjoyed it very much. Was a great location on Ocean Drive and the food was reasonably priced and delicious. We came back a third time and were persuaded to have a cocktail each as was happy hour. There were no prices on the cocktails but we decided as we were told it was happy hour we would get the other one free anyway so we werent too concerned. When we got the bill we had been charged $70 for two cocktails - apparently we had been conned into thinking it was happy hour as it was not. Shame as this turned somewhere we had thought was a lovely place into a bit of a sham. Tip: always ask the price of drinks as there is a reason they dont advertise them.

Room Tip: Didnt stay as hotel, only ate and drank here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruby80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in appt 4b with our 2 teenage kids. PROS: loads of space, well equipped (sun hairs and umbrellas v handy as VERY expensive to rent on nearby SoBe), great views, in the heart of the iconic Art Deco area, good value for money considering the amount of space. Cons: decoration a little tired and several broken windows that were out of action, no decent parking nearby. Other than that this proved to be an excellent base to explore South Beach area and our kids loved it. No pool but the beach is just over the street - but be sure to take the chairs!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have The View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stockytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metepec, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The waiters not are the best option, the have an awful temperament.
The menu had a good options.
I liked so much.
The ilumination, the tables, make you feel in home.
They have a promo steaks for $14.99 + tax
It's a good option to take dinner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JorgeAlber2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

An absolute plethora of space looking out over the Miami beach coast and Ocean Drive. The rooms are VERY spacious, marble flooring throughout with a slick walnut dash trim all around the apartment.

The appliances were plentiful and very useful. We used the coffee pot everyday and cooked sugar cured bacon on the stone hob. large flat screen TV and the mother of all beds that I couldn't touch the side if I lay down each way. Our highlight being the dual sinks in the bath all decked out in lush marble with a built in wetroom. Everything you would need and more.

Highly recommended. I booked through Mr Mark Amery and he was also very helpful and his prices are the lowest from what I researched.

If you want to feel like a rockstar this is the place to look!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gphoenix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the condos.. great space and location for the money. And the restaurant and lounge were really, really good. The staff was very attentive to us,and made sure that we were very well taken care of. Quite friendly for a South Beach place... and I've had my share of attitude from some of those places. Really fun place, to hang out on the weekend.:!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuceRock L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Cardozo Hotel
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ocean
#143 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle

Property: The Carlyle
Address: 1250 Ocean Drive, Miami, FL 33130
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach, on Ocean Drive, the Carlyle Hotel enjoys unobstructed access to the Atlantic Ocean in all of its beauty.Relax in residential comfort in well equipped one and two bedroom lodging accommodations, which are twice the size of a standard hotel room, featuring terrazzo slab, luxurious bathrooms and all the modern amenities you would expect of a first class hotel room.Professional concierge services are provided to guests and residents of the Carlyle 24 hours a day ensuring that your visit to Miami is seamless from arrival to departure.We look forward to welcoming you. Please call us for rates and availability for your next trip to South Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlyle Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing