We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Next to Freeway not an Airport Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Ranked #56 of 120 Hotels in Miami
California, USA
Level Contributor
995 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Next to Freeway not an Airport Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

in a residential and business area, must have CAR. Free airport shuttle very difficult to stop at night! The driver of the little white van was racing in the fast lane and past me prior to me being able to hale. you can NOT see the writing on the van since they blind you with their lights at first. When you see the writing on the side of the van it's too late and you wait up to one extra hour!!!
I arrived after 9 p.m. and waited until 11 p.m. what a mess. all the other larger Marriott vans had signs on top and I stopped the several times to ask "where is my van!" No phone or other communications available! I took a cap for $22. Recommendations, set up specific Van stop signs and have the VANS STOP and not speed home. otherwise nice hotel little freeway noise with closed windows (can't open window 4th floor). Decent breakfast. But not an airport hotel (I only got 6 hours sleep - AA overnight flight from Costa Rica) Recommended if you have a car. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: get a room away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll certainly share them with our teams, and as far as the vans go I'll be sure to have the van drivers always stop regardless if there's guest there or not

We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    214
    123
    49
    28
See reviews for
210
124
36
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Came in for business on Sunday and had another wonderful stay. The room was quite and the staff are courteuos! The King bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I ate on property and enjoyed my Triple Chocolate Cake and Red wine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEX_SDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll be sure to share your kind words with the teams

We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

After a week of working hard digging ditches in Nicaragua for a service trip, all my boyfriend and I wanted was a hot shower and a place to rest our heads during our 16 hour layover. When we got to the airport, we called to make sure that there would be a shuttle there to pick us up. Their shuttle was being outsourced to another company that night, and the company was obviously not too reliable. During our hour and a half ordeal, Ron and Zoila answered our calls, made calls to the driver, and promptly called us back to update us. They were patient with us as we lost our patience, and they kept us updated as often as possible.
When we finally arrived, they were very busy at the desk, but still took the time to apologize and reimburse us for the cab that we ended up taking.

Ron and Zoila were two of the most professional and helpful agents I have encountered in a long while, and their service has ensured that Springhill Suites will be my hotel of choice whenever I am in Miami!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CorBell025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I'll be sure to recognize these associates during our daily stand up, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The good:
The hotel was great in terms of service, cleanliness and a nice breakfast to boot. I was impressed with the room since the was nice and large with a divider for the sofa/desk area. The complimentary refrigerator was great as well.

The bad:
There was parking around the neighborhood, but as I was being parked some random person from the community warned me of parking overnight outdoors. After that I decided I'd pay the nightly parking fee...

Hotel isn't really in what I'd call a safe neighborhood (I wouldn't feel comfortable being out late afternoon-night.) Lastly, plenty of random pizza menus under my door, which makes me wonder who else can easily slip pass the front desk.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amertrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do have security 7 nights a week and we'll certainly work on keeping this solicitation from continuing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I needed a hotel near the University of Miami Hospital for 4 nights. I had some fears about staying here after reading the reviews. However, after 4 nights I can tell you that this hotel was a pleasant surprise.

Yes, you will find pizza flyers under your door at night but that's the only issue (not really an issue). There were no issues with "undesirables" outside the hotel.

The room was very large, comfortable, and immaculate. The entire hotel was very clean. I got the impression that the staff tries hard to make guests comfortable.

Parking was a bit price at $15/day but at least there was plenty of parking in the secure indoor garage.

The included breakfast was more than adequate, with scrambled eggs, sausage/ham, cold cereals, hot oatmeal, breads, yogurt, and make-your-own waffles, plus free coffee. Dinner choices were like decent bar food - burgers, salads, wings, egg rolls. The food was good enough that I had breakfast and dinner in the hotel every day. Wednesday night, they served free wine and dip. Nice touch.

I walked to the hospital every morning - it's about a half-mile walk. The hotel offers a free shuttle to/from the hospital. I believe it returns back to the hotel as late as 10pm. I used it once. Again, a great plus.

This is the perfect hotel if you need to stay near the Medical district.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience while staying with us, if we can be of further service please let us know. We hope your visits to the hospital proved to be successful and wish you the best of health

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night because I missed a connecting flight in Miami.

Rooms were very clean and had nice amenities. Airport shuttle got me to and from the airport no problem.

I got there very late almost 10pm when I checked in. They have a very nice cafe in the lobby that serves a limited menu and Starbucks. This place closes at 10pm and if you want something to eat after 10pm...not many places to eat in walking distance at that hour. Also, my shuttle to the airport was at 6am...and the cafe was not open until 6:30am. So basically between 10pm and 6:30am...there is almost nothing to eat here except whatever they have in the cantina. That was a bit annoying.

Other than that, my stay was wonderful. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wchang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry you were not directed to our 24/7 pantry that offers food, beverage, ice cream and snacks, I'll ensure to bring your concerns up to our desk so they are directing guests as need
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband recently had surgery at the Miami VA Hospital and we stayed at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott. Very close to all Miami Hospitals (ie VA, Ryder, UM, Jackson Memorial). Very nice, new, clean hotel with secured parking (for add'l cost). Offers free shuttle to/from Hospitals. Hotel would also be close to downtown Miami, Port of Miami and Marlins BallPark area also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay and wish your husband a speedy recovery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coral Way
Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami
Downtown
Aloft Miami Brickell
Aloft Miami Brickell
#51 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Property: SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Address: 1311 NW 10th Ave, Miami, FL 33136-2103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing