We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel, Bad Neighborhood” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Ranked #62 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK Hotel, Bad Neighborhood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days in late August with two other guys on our annual baseball trip. The hotel room was adequate & it was clean, the breakfast is okay but doesn't compare with those offered at Embassy Suites hotels. We walked to the metrorail Culver station south of the hotel which is in a dangerous area, we were taunted by a "street person", the neighborhood is filthy. The hotel is located in Overtown, which is one of the more dangerous neighborhoods in downtown Miami. I've never seen so many Bail Bond locations. The hotel appears to cater to those using the nearby medical center by offering a free shuttle service. The small pool was empty during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lugnutcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are located in the downtown area which has high police presence, we do have hotel security and gated parking along with secured entrances. We've never experienced any problems with vagrancy in the hotel or in the immediate areas

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    238
    135
    54
    32
See reviews for
237
134
44
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4-day stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center hotel. The staff Alexandra (13 Eleven Restaurant), Orvina (Front Desk) and Digna (House Cleaning) was all amazing and provided exceptional customer service. Each day we were greeted with smiles and pleasantries. Digna did an outstanding job tidying up our room despite the musty smell of the room. We tried spraying everything from perfume/cologne, Lysol and a hotel disinfectant to get rid of the odor, but failed miserably.

Here are a few tips for future visitors:

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport (15 minutes) away. If you decide not to rent a car, don’t fret because SpringHill Suites Miami provides a shuttle from the airport every hour on the hour for guests for free. Just call the hotel when you arrive. Or if you’re feeling a bit adventurous you can catch the Dade Country Metrorail system from the airport for approximately $2 and transfer to the Metromover which is free and get off at the Civic Center transit stop. The hotel is 4 to 5 city blocks away (10 minute walk).

You can also use the Metromover, which is free, and Metrorail system to navigate from the hotel to Downtown (Bayside) area or South Beach where all the action occurs both day and night. To save money, opt for the all day Metrorail pass for $5. This will give you unlimited metro rail access for the entire day.

Speaking of Bayside – if you’re interested in sightseeing tours, Bayside is where you can locate plenty. Safari Tours have 2-kiosk onsite and you can book day trips to the Everglades or Key West. You can also purchase a sightseeing tour of Biscayne Bay and the Venetian Islands with miamiaquatours.com. The cost for adults is $26 and children $16. They also have a competitor onsite; Island Queen Cruises that provide hourly cruises to Millionaire’s Row. For a reduced ticket price per adult/child pick-up a $3 off minicard in the hotel lobby at SpringHill Suites. You can also pick up additional minicards for other attractions such as: Jungle Island $3 off; Coral Castle Museum $1.50 off; and Water Taxi $2 off.

If you’re searching for inexpensive water, groceries and snacks there is a Winn Dixie within a 4-block radius of the hotel. Otherwise, you will spend upwards of $3 for a bottle of water at the hotel.

The hotel also offers on the hour shuttle service to/from the various medical centers in the vicinity. If you’re in need of computer access during your stay, no worries, there are two computers available in the lobby for your use. Please note, there is a 15-minute time limit; so work quickly.

The only other con besides the room odor and noise from the air conditioning unit is that the pool was out of order and the hotel team was unable to provide a definitive answer as to when it would reopen.

Overall it was an ok stay. Hope this review is helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BootsPlus4NVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we were in the process of re-surfacing the pool which it has been completed and re-opened, we apologize for the inconvenience. We will be looking into your concerns on odor; we did however recently have the hotel sanitized to include carpets etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I used this hotel solely by location to the Marlins Baseball Park in Miami. The hotel was noted as .9 miles from stadium. We took a local trolly to the stadium that took 40 minutes to travel the one mile. We DO NOT suggest this mode of getting there. The hotel is located in a less than desirable area of Miami. Secure once inside the building, but around the hotel were numerous scary looking individuals. Even the staff noted not to walk back to the hotel at night. The rooms had notable stains on the furniture and the carpet. Not what we expected from a Marriott property. The $15 a night parking fee was shocking also.

Room Tip: No good views associated with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your recommendations on how or not to get to the park, we are a downtown hotel and have hotel security and gated parking.
We do understand that in downtown areas you have vagrancy and we work with our local authorities and charities on how we can help these individuals find areas for to reside while they find their way in life

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Conveniently located to I-95 which is just a few blocks away so it is 10 minutes by car to Miami Beach.

We have only slept at the hotel but we recognized a lot of people which stayed of the hotel as they were taking the advantage of the closeness to the medical district.

The rooms are really spacious and i did not recognized the Highway close by. Our toilette was broken and they immediately came to fix it , great stuff. We have not been for breakfast but a Starbucks in the Lobby needs to be mentioned.

The only thing i honestly deeply regret is the fact that we have given 22 postcards to three different clerks on different days and only those 5 cards which were given during our stay, finally arrived. All other 17 cards which were given to two other clerks are still lost and this is 8 months ago and no fault of the post. If someone offers you the service to take of it i trust that this will work. Beside of the invested time and cost I am really unhappy with this situation.

But I will give the hotel one more chance on Aug. 23rd

All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I'll certainly look into your concerns, although we have out going mail that is secured thats dropped and picked up daily. We look forward to your return and thansk again for letting me know your concerns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at this property going on three times now as a family member is ill in a nearby hospital. At all times I have been impressed by the friendly, professional and very helpful staff. I have personally worked in hotel management for ten years and have high standards and expectations and I can honestly say that this hotel and staff cannot be faulted. They have been compassionate and always happy to help. The ladies at front desk, Marilyn who works behind the bar/restaurant, to luis who drives the shuttle are all great and welcome me back each and every time with a genuine smile and warmth. Regarding the hotel, it seems to be brand new so is in perfect condition and room and reception is always immaculate. Im fussy so I notice everything but I really cannot fault this hotel. (I havent tried the sofa beds but in my experience, I've never found a sofa bed to be comfortable full stop - its a SOFA bed!). The rooms are very large and spacious and I like the separate toilet from the bathroom. The work area is very good and I must say the free breakfast is fantastic considering it is free - huge choice. The wireless internet is free and also really good so add in the great little restaurant/bar and you have a great, clean friendly hotel at a fantastic price! A big thank you for always taking good care of me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, we hope all is well with you and your family and look forward to seeing you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

very nice hotel,close to the new marlin stadium. took taxi back and forth to the stadium. taxi was $10.00 each way and parking at stadium is $20.00. the hotel rooms have a seperate living room,refrigerator and microwave. price is good. parking is $15.00 a day. i will stay there everytime i go to a marlins baseball game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent the weekend at this hotel and appreciated the services! Friendly staff at check-in, courtesy van to Bayside, felt safe and secure. The sofa bed was lumpy, however, room was clean and convenient for three guests to share. Get downstairs for breakfast early. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOC-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Miami Downtown/Brickell
Courtyard Miami Airport
#33 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Property: SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Address: 1311 NW 10th Ave, Miami, FL 33136-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing