We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont stay Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Ranked #68 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Headed down to Miami to watch the Dodgers play the Marlins. Did some research on hotels that are close to the park and would shuttle. Find this one, rooms seemed to be nice and price was reasonable for being Miami. Got to the hotel and found the neighborhood wasnt that great, was almost scared to get out of the car. The front staff didnt have a room ready for us, mind you we were almost an hr early, had to wait in the lobby almost 30 mins for someone to help us. Never even gave an option to park in the garage. Was told our card needed to be ran as a debit by default, turned out no to be true, Never even signed a single paper she just slid the card. Then they charged almost 25 more then when we had reserved the hotel online. Got to our room and it was actually very nice, clean and bed was very comfortable. Went to the front to ask about the shuttle service to the park, was told they dont do that we would have to wait for the trolley that comes every 15 minutes. Waited almost an hour for a trolley that never came, and had the pleasure of "watching" some young man undress and change his clothes right in front of us, yet another sign of a great neighborhood. Ended up waisting 20 to pay for parking because no one could tell us where or how to get to the ballpark. Ordered pizza after getting back and the front office staff called our hotel room after midnight to see if we were getting delivery. Following morning we received a bill under our door that stated all the fees, i have never heard of a place that charges you a parking fee and then charges you tax on top of that! Went down to breakfast and you have LOTS of people trying to cram into one little room and get breakfast. Although the food was great, could have used more room and seating area. Ask another front desk clerk about the charges on our bill and why we were charged more then the bill amount, she stated it was just a hold to make sure it goes through, also mentioned that the trolley doesnt normally run on the weekends unless there is a special event that day. She was very nice and very helpful. All in all i wont be staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay. When you have an opportunity would you please contact me at 305-575-5300. Thank you for sharing your feed back and for choosing SpringHill Suites.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night before our cruise in late july. We came in after 10:45 pm at night, and normally would have missed the free shuttle to the hotel and would have had to pay a cab. I called the hotel a couple of days ahead to let them know we were coming in after the last shuttle run. Maria, the front desk receptionist offered to wait for us with the shuttle. This is what I call classy.
Our room was pleasantly large and clean, and the service excellent. The next day, for $5 each, we were shuttled to the pier to catch our cruise. Louis, our animated and entertaining driver, wanted to make sure everyone was happy and made the short trip memorable!.
If you need a hotel the night before your cruise, i highly recommend this place... there is not much to see around there, but its a short ride to the pier, accomodating staff and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptrekker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments and for staying at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center. I was delighted to read your comments and glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sharing your comments with Maria and the rest of our team.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really like this place staff very helpful, place very clean, very convinient to the miami beach like 7 min with gps direction. Food was great more than I expected. The location wasnt too good but the hotel has gate parking place and security. Overall very satisfied!

Room Tip: Very close to the HWY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exa0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for staying at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center and for providing your feedback on our hotel's services and food and beverage. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel's staff. Thank you again.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on frequent stay points while laying over overnight. Shuttle driver took awhile getting us picked up, but otherwise was a great stay. Restaurant/bar in hotel stays open til 10. Rooms clean and comfy, a tad bit of jet noise, street noise etc on top floor room, but not enough to keep awake. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get room on opposite side from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments on your most recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East Medical Center and thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A member of my family has been receiving treatment through the University of Miami hospitals for the last 3 yrs or so. The staff here is wonderful & welcoming & very much cares for guest wellbeing. The hotel itself is only a few yrs old - immaculate & fresh . There is a fee to park in the garage, but I recommend it for security,. Complimentary regular shuttle service to the several nearby hospitals is a huge help, and it also goes to the airport & Bayside shopping/dining area. Very nice complimentary hot & cold breakfast has many healthy options - should be something for everyone. Limited, but tasty lunch & dinner offerings, and there is a small bar area. Free Internet in rooms & lobby; satellite TV. The hotel is also just blocks from Marlins Park, so a good place to stay if you're in town for a baseball game; unfortunately, the shuttle doesn't go there.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor. I've not personally been there, but my parents were & said the rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stitchcat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your comments about our hotel, the services we offer and our proximity to the medical center and the kind words about our staff. I am also happy to say we have added shuttle service to the Marlins Stadium on game days.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was nice and close to Marlins park. There was a free trolley a few blocks away that you can hop on to get to the park. I'm not sure how comfortable I would be making the walk late at night after a game...the neighborhood seems a little rough. We took a taxi back to the hotel from the ballpark. Make sure you know directions to the hotel if you take a taxi...neither of the drivers that we had had a clue where it was. There is also a prompt, free shuttle service to the airport from the hotel. Breakfast was good as was the workout room. The pool is tiny. Modern, clean room with a little noise from the interstate nearby. Friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sibeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Our hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Marlins Stadium and located close to University Hospitals and downtown areas. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night pre-cruise, 3 adults, 2 teens. Nice that they had a pair of queen beds and a sofa-bed in one room to accommodate us all
Easy to find hotel, somewhat quiet area on a Sunday. Neighborhood is rundown, but it seemed that way for a large area around this hotel, like for blocks. Only a few miles to a decent shopping area, though, so you'll want a car. Parking is pricey, but very secure.
Front desk staff was excellent for the entire stay.
Shuttle to cruise port is $5/pp and they have several departure times.
Room was nice. My only complaint is that the throne is in a small room at the midpoint of one wall. And there's only a sliding door, so everything is heard coming from there, if that bothers you at all. The shower was in a small room at the far end of the same wall. Seems like they should have been reversed.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner and the service was abysmal. The place wasn't busy, but it appeared that the bartender was doubling as a waitress. Food was good, though a bit pricey.
Complimentary breakfast buffet was good, but the selections often needed replenishing.
I didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness center.
I would probably stay again but not a definite.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thompstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. My apologies the level of service you received in our restaurant was not up to our usual standards - thank you for letting me know. I will be sharing your review with our staff. I hope you enjoyed your time in Miami and on behalf of myself and my team we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
David Huntzinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
3.3 mi away
Miami Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.4 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#40 of 127 in Miami
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Address: 1311 NW 10th Ave, Miami, FL 33136-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $127 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center hotel in midtown Miami is minutes from the Adrienne Arsht Center, American Airlines Arena, Miami Marlins Park, Port of Miami and the University of Miami and Jackson Health Systems. Start each morning with complimentary breakfast and unwind each evening in contemporary suites, 25% larger than comparably priced rooms at other hotels near Jackson Memorial Hospital. Enjoy additional amenities, including complimentary Wi-Fi and in-suite kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Maintain your workout routine in the on-site fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the outdoor pool featured at our Miami Airport hotel. Traveling for work? Take advantage of complimentary business services, including free printing and faxing, and host meetings and other events in 1,260 sq. ft. of total space. Whether staying for business or leisure, the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center hotel is ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing