We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveler rating
188
285
148
70
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
285
148
70
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson memorial hospitalmedical centersbascom palmergated garagemarlins parkwinn dixiecruise portfree breakfastfree shuttleshuttle servicesitting areafridge and microwaveyogurtwould stay here againrestaurant downstairsuber ridehot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 731 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We only stayed one night, so I never did see this hotel during the daytime, but at night it looked like a fortress in a bad neighborhood. We had to drive around twice to find the entrance. When we got inside, the staff was very welcoming. We had a King room with a sofa which was nicely laid out, and decor was cool IKEA-like with some nice features, like a partition between the "office" and the bed space, and a large screen TV that swiveled between the spaces. Shuttle service was prompt.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we review all our guests comments and use them to always better our customer service and experience for the future

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

First of all, approaching the hotel already made us quite uneasy - the location, the neighborhood, the entrance, the lobby - everything is below our expectation of a Marriott / SpringHill property. Then the room - it is not a suite at all, just a rectangular space, no hall way, no kitchen counter, nothing to even half separate the space, just sofa towards the door, next to a bed and another bed and then the window. Standing at the door you see them all. More strangely is the layout of the bathroom - a sliding door facing one bed leads to a bathroom with standing shower only, ANOTHER sliding door facing the other bed lead to the toilet room, in between is the closet, So you have to come out from the toilet, pass the 2 beds, to enter the bathroom. This leave the TV stand at an awful position of the room. The closet is not painted but has lots of scratches and dirty marks all over the wall. The light green carpet and sofa is full of stains. You won't believe it is a ~2-yr old property.

The staff is nice, breakfast is typical but OK, the small court yard is well maintained. An average hotel I'd say, but a very poor SpringHill/Marriott one.

Room Tip: Location and traffic around the hotel is bad so plan on have dinner somewhere nice before coming back to the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we review all our guests comments and use them to always better our customer service and experience for the future

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed for one night precruise. We had a 6 pm arrival and were leaving on the cruise the next morning. We are a family of 4 and given our short stay I didn't want to rent 2 rooms. I picked this hotel because the room had 2 queen size beds and a sofa bed, free breakfast and free airport shuttle. The room was in fact large and the breakfast was what you would expect. The shuttle was disappointing; upon landing we called the hotel and was told the shuttle only runs on the hour that we had just missed it and there would not be another one until the next hour. I believe that if you advertise having a free airport shuttle you need to run it more frequently than once an hour. Rather than waiting I paid for a cab to the hotel. The hotel itself was clean but as many have mentioned it is located in a marginal neighborhood. Next morning we took a cab to the cruise ship. The hotel offered a shuttle but it was $5 per person so for my family of 4 it was the same price as taking a cab (plus there was no availablity on the shuttle until early afternoon). Overall the hotel was fine for one night precruise (or if I was in need of the hospital) but I would not stay there otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ocdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we review all our guests comments and use them to always better our customer service and experience for the future

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a king-size bed suite. Check-in was quick and parking was convenient and secure. Our room was on the quiet side, away from the highway. The decor was very European and trendy. The hotel has a small outdoor pool which we enjoyed. Morning breakfast was good though they mostly repeated the menu. Even though the hotel is not in a touristy location we could easily cover all the locations easily in 15-20 minutes by car e.g. South Beach, Key Biscane, Bayside, Coral Gables, Little Havana. Even though the neighbourhood was a bit rundown, the property is new and clean. My brother stayed at the same hotel with his family in a two queen-size beds suite which was larger. My only gripe is that they couldn't get us side-by-side rooms, probably because we had different kind of suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway as the property is right next to it, which can make it very noisy inside.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcameIsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you have family who has to spend time at a hospital in Miami, this hotel is a good option. They have a special rate for people connected to the hospital, so be sure to mention that.

This is a busy place with lots of people coming and going, but front desk staff is good - they handled everything efficiently.

Our family member was having surgery at Jackson Memorial Hospital and the location of the hotel made it very convenient for us to either walk (10 min) or take their free shuttle back and forth several times a day.

Everything was very clean and seemed pretty new.

Parking is $15/day, but that was waived for families of hospital patients.

There is a free breakfast buffet. The breakfast food isn't great, but it is free and it's a full hot breakfast - eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt, bagels and muffins. We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant too. The service was slow at times and the bar is quite limited, but the food was surprisingly good.

Overall, I would stay here again. The only other option near the hospital is half the price, but seemed dirty and roach infested.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enathan119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we review all our guests comments and use them to always better our customer service and experience for the future

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews