We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disapointment!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Ranked #64 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge disapointment!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

It was already after 6 p.m. when we arrived at the hotel. After a long day of driving from Orlando, we were definitely NOT impressed when we were told that the rooms were still not ready and the explanation was "we are short staffed because it is the New Year". We were finally assigned our rooms after waiting an additional hour. However, upon entry into our rooms we noticed that the sheets weren't changed and there was a lot of hair left on the sheets in all 4 beds/rooms. Upon request we received new sets of sheets and we proceeded to change the beds ourselves. The staff was unprofessional and uncaring and did nothing for us. The hotel itself is located in a very poor area of Miami, almost under the highway/bridge. The area is not safe and there is nothing around in walking distance, besides a lot of homeless people on the street. In the morning, at breakfast, one of the guests noticed and pointed out to us that an employee had dropped the serving spoon, picked it up from the floor and placed it back with the food. That stay was a nightmare and thankfully it was only for one night. We booked 2 rooms in this hotel for one night before our cruise, because it was close to the cruise port. Unfortunately it was not close enough to walk, and it is almost more convenient to book the hotel next to the airport and get a shuttle to the cruise port from there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we review all our guests comments and use them to always better our customer service and experience for the future

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    248
    141
    58
    32
See reviews for
247
142
45
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
284 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our family stayed here several times when my brother was a patient at the University of Miami hospital. It is tucked away off several highway ramps and loud when you went outside due to traffic noise- but the rooms were nice and the service attitude was excellent. They know families are stressed when a loved one is ill and took good care of us at meals and times when we needed their help and advice. We felt like we got to know the staff and that means alot in the impersonal world. The restaurant is friendly and blends into the lobby and it came in very handy for tired meals after a long day of visiting hours. Truly a respite but pricey overall. Good shuttle services to the hospitals but make sure you check the schedule as there are gaps in service. Great Location but dangerous neighborhood overall so be careful. Expensive Parking too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Despite signs that say no smoking, my room wreaked like cigarrette. Everytime i came back after work, i swear it would be even more pungent, like the cleaning lady had been smoking in it while I was away. However, the staff was very nice and the room rate isn't bad for Miami, but you are in a bad part of town and the hotel is a little rundown and shows its age. I usually love the Springhill Suites, but this one was not up to par. I would have given it 2 1/2 stars if i could, because despite the cigarrettes, the staff really was great

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and your kind words regarding our staff while you were a guest at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center. I am sorry to hear that your guest room smelled of cigarette smoke. All of Marriott's domestic hotels are smoke-free. We have protocols in place for identifying rooms where our smoke-free environment has been compromised and standards in place to return the room to a smoke free environment. I sincerely apologize if this room did not meet this standard, and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention to share with our staff to highlight the importance of maintaining this standard.

I would like to gain a better understanding of your comments regarding the condition of our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to determine if you are referencing a particular area of the hotel. This property is just under two years old and we have standards in place to maintain a fresh product; to include carpet care, painting and decorating, crisp, clean linens and bedding, and well maintained public space and grounds area. Would you please contact me using the hotel's main telephone number? I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you for choosing Marriott hotels. Best Regards
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

For what we paid this was a great value, the staff was extremely nice. However, I would recommend breakfast at an off site location, it was like Grand Central Station. Other than that, great location, very close to downtown, shopping and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The rooms was large and comfortable.

Was located a bit off tourist attractions, but then the place has been developed for people requiring medical services of Univ of Miami Medical Center. Downside, major co-guests were old and there for some kind of medical treatment. Result, the atmosphere in breakfast room was more sombre than cheerful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for almost two weeks visiting family in the hospital. The location was very good due to its proximity to the health complex. It also helped that the train to downtown and elsewhere was only a 5 minute walk away and that groceries weren't more than a 10 minute walk away (although Whole Foods was a bit further - 25 minutes by train).

The downsides of the location is that it appears on the edge of a pretty dodgy part of town, there aren't a lot of great restaurants within walking distance, and the hotel is situated next to the freeway. Be sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway to reduce the noise. If you're a solid sleeper and you use the AC it probably won't bother you either way.

The rooms look quite new, were a pretty decent size, had a fridge and microwave, and for the most part it was quite clean although the carpet could use some more regular maintenance. Staff were friendly and available 24 hours. They had a little shop with snacks and various travel supplies that came in handy a couple of times. We didn't use the tiny pool or other amenities but the place seemed to have quite a bit to offer.

The lounge and restaurant downstairs was also handy and the food was decent. The light breakfast buffet which comes with the room exceeded my expectations (eggs, waffles, yogurt, pastries/breads, cereal, fruit, juices).

Perfect if you need to be in the health district or if you like access to transit and aren't picky about the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Enjoyed the large rooms and convenient shuttle service to Bayside and the cruise port.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrinhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to share them with our teams, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Airport
#37 of 122 in Miami
997 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Miami Downtown/Brickell
Regency Hotel Miami
#36 of 122 in Miami
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Property: SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Address: 1311 NW 10th Ave, Miami, FL 33136-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Miami Downtown/Medical Center hotel in midtown Miami is minutes from the Adrienne Arsht Center, American Airlines Arena, Miami Marlins Park, Port of Miami and the University of Miami and Jackson Health Systems. Start each morning with complimentary breakfast and unwind each evening in contemporary suites, 25% larger than comparably priced rooms at other hotels near Jackson Memorial Hospital. Enjoy additional amenities, including complimentary Wi-Fi and in-suite kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Maintain your workout routine in the on-site fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the outdoor pool featured at our Miami Airport hotel. Traveling for work? Take advantage of complimentary business services, including free printing and faxing, and host meetings and other events in 1,260 sq. ft. of total space. Whether staying for business or leisure, the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center hotel is ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing