We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

There was so much choice for our one-night stop at Miami, as a break between Orlando and the Keys. Should we stay near the airport or South Beach? I very nearly booked a place at the beach and then found this Residence Inn. We have had great experiences with Residence Inns, in Chicago and New York - so I really had no hesitation in booking. We love Marriott properties. We particularly love Marriotts because of their beds - we love the way you sink into them. So it is with heavy heart that I write this not-very-flattering review. I booked a studio suite as we prefer those rooms to the one-bedrooms suites; they appear to be more roomy and we don't need the extra privacy (it's just me and hub and our adult son). So, we arrived at the hotel and entered the plush, modern lobby, only to be told that we had been upgraded to a one-bedroom suite ... we were told there were no studio suites left. I guess the friendly lady at reception thought she was doing us a favour ... but if I'd wanted a one-bedroom, I'd have booked one (they aren't much more expensive). So, we made our way to our room and discovered that our one-bedroom suite was an accessible room, with an accessible bathroom which was depressing and poorly lit. Anybody with a wheel chair would never have managed to get past the bed into the bathroom, there was such little space. The bed was described as 'king sized', but I think that it was barely larger than a queen-sized bed. I'd like to think that perhaps it was the thunderstorm raging outside that coloured our view of the room - but there's no getting away from it - the bed was hard as a rock - and the pillows so soft that they squashed to nothing (I had asked for extra foam pillows, but they weren't in evidence). Our son also complained that the sofa bed was uncomfortable - he could feel the springs. The rest of the room was OK, but somehow below the standard of the Residence Inns we'd stayed at previously. We were disappointed. Our opinion didn't improve at breakfast. The food was well below par - potatoes mixed with meat of some description - and bacon that resembled salami. We were glad to leave and get on our way. In our rush, we handed in our room key before we'd swiped it to get out of the parking area and we had to pay twice for parking!
On a more positive note - the hotel, despite being at the airport, was very handily located. It was an easy drive into South Beach and an easy drive the other way to the Dolphin Mall.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Miami Airport. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. At the Residence Inn, we take pride in providing excellent service and accommodations to our guest however, we fell short of your expectations this time. Fortunately, it is feedback such as this that allows us the opportunity to improve. We hope that you will give the Residence Inn Miami Airport another opportunity to create a positive memorable experience for you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 593 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Amazing hotel, along with great customer service. Easy access from Miami airport. Customer service was outstanding. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your recent comment regarding the Residence Inn Miami Airport "Amazing All Around". It is comments such as yours that motivates us to continue creating memorable moments. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Me and a few friends used this hotel for our pre cruise hotel. This was a great choice since it offered hotel pick-up, free breakfast, and we were able to use our Marriott Reward Points. The hotel was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly. We had the king suite which included a seperate living area and kitchen. We also used the hotels outdoor gas grill to enjoy a pre-cruise bbq.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Free shuttle runs every 15-20 minutes to the Marriott Hotel Group "South Campus", which includes the Marriott, Courtyard, Residence Inn & Fairfield Inn, all located inside the same compound. Appears to be a newer Residence Inn & in excellent condition, with larger suites than we have gotten at some Residence Inn properties. Also discovered a plus by accident. If you exit the gated entrance to the hotel & walk across the street & left 1 block, you'll find Catch Of The Day restaurant, which was a great find. We felt like the only ones there who were not regulars. Great food & drink, with a nice outside covered patio. Good stop the day before your flight, or very relaxing if you are coming in from an international flight as we were.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wonderful Hotel with clean and spacious rooms.
Great stay...Great Airport location...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at this very nice hotel, because we had a very early morning flight our of MIA. We really enjoyed it, very modern and clean. Other Marriott hotels nearby have nice restaurants and bars as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Long story - short version. My husband got sick and was hospitalized during our vacation in the Dominican Republic (a whole other story and trip advisor review), so the plans for our trip home to PA had to be changed. We decided to fly back to the US as soon as he was up to traveling and to spend the night in Miami to break up the flight home. I called Marriott customer service early the morning I made our flight reservations. I said I needed HELP! My list of must haves: a hotel near the airport, shuttle service, and a laundry room. Bless Marriott (I wish I had the reps name) - the Residence Inn was the perfect answer. Imagine our delight when we checked in and found complimentary dinner was being served. That meatloaf and mashed potato dinner was real "comfort food" after what we had been through. Also, a lovely woman from the kitchen opened the breakfast juice machine, so my ill husband could have some apple juice (there wasn't any for sale in the mini mart). Our room had a kitchen and a sitting area along with a really comfortable bed. I made good use of the laundry, the mini mart, and the wifi. We enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast the next morning (the manager was circulating the dining area to make sure everything was going smoothly), and we took the shuttle to the airport. Thank you Marriott for providing us with a "home" when we really needed it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BFWPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport
0.1 mi away
Miami Airport Marriott
1.7 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
9.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami West/FL Turnpike
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $177 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a modern suite at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, a comfortable and convenient airport hotel in Miami, Florida set just 10 minutes from Miami International Airport. Our extended-stay hotel is the perfect accommodation to make travel easier. We provide a free airport shuttle to MIA and our guest suites feature full kitchens so you can prepare meals at your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing