We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!!”

La Camaronera Fish Market
Ranked #73 of 4,251 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I saw this restaurant on television months before my visit from Georgia & was determined to try it. My friend & I were clearly pleased with EVERYTHING!! I tried the calamari, fried shrimp & this oh so delicious rice with fish combined. I don't recall the dish he ordered but boy did he 'kill it'...lol... He resides in Miami & passes this location often but never thought to stop by; he's been there twice since my visit 2 weeks ago. I look forward to my next visit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danyielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    83
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cool, CA
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“If you found Little Havana underwhelming, eat lunch here. Hunt for it -- it's worth it!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you found Little Havana underwhelming, eat lunch here. We went here on a recommendation from Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. It was not a place that we would ever have found without the DDD alert. The place was jumping. It is a small diner set into a nondescript strip mall. You can eat at the counter or be seated at a table. The ambient noise level is very high, raised by animated conversations and meal preparation. For such a small restaurant, it is fully staffed with 10 to 12 servers and prep personnel. The menu is somewhat limited but what you can choose from is first rate. The chef recommended shrimp sandwich has six to eight lightly breaded, plump shrimp nestled on a soft scrumptious bun (with lettuce tomato and special sauce). The red snapper sandwich was also delightfully prepared, it was moist and delicious. The special of the day was a pan-seared sea bass sandwich that was top notch. The conch fritters were a serious hit with many of the locals (although locals dominate the patron demographics, tourists are made to feel welcomed and valued). This is a real find for people who may have been disappointed with Little Havana as a “Thing to Do”. It is worth the search -- the food is outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best I've ever had”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I saw this place on tv, so while visiting Miami I had to try it. The shrimp is the best I've had, and the snapper sandwich is incredible. The guys working were super friendly, and they have a neat history behind the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlakeA_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp Sandwiches!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is an institution. I am a local and lived just around the corner from this place more than 20 years ago and never knew it was there! Recently a co-worker suggested it and a group of us went there. Everyone was raving about their choice. So from the Camaronera Shrimp Sandwich, Lobster Sandwich, Seafood Enchiladas to their signature Minuta (Snapper) Sandwiches they were all excellent. Make sure to add their house sauce. If your in Miami dont miss this place. Since it was featured on The Food Network its always full of tourists. Their sandwiches are like $6 but you will need 2 if your hungry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for the Fried shrimps and famous fish sandwich!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We started with the fried shrimps which were super tasty.

Famous fish sandwich was also very good and I ordered he grilled fish filet which was good but I had to send it back because it wasn't cooked enough for me.

I would stick to the famous fish sandwich. Cheap and yummy!

Service was very friendly, too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camaronera Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to La Camaronera Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing