We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwind and de-stress yourself”
Review of Hotel Urbano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urbano
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you want to isolate yourself from the big city and from a terror boss, drive away to Miami and sta at Hotel Urbano. You have to have transportation though if you want to go around to the beaches and some other areas that offer lively activities. I stayed here from Friday afternoon to Sunday to rest for a while and think less about work. I drove to the nearest beach I could find in my iPhone map and decided to spend some me-time. I love how I can relax inside and out the hotel and feel very pampered. I didn’t have to worry about anything else. One thing I can advise people though, especially those that would bring their cars, make sure that your vehicles are travel ready and won’t leave you in the middle of the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarryMrarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks so much for the fantastic review! We're thrilled you were able to relax as much as you did and enjoyed your time with us so much. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 739 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights before we went on a cruise through the Caribbean over all our impression was Mediocre. The staff were friendly, although frustrating seeing as we were trying to find nice places to eat in the area and the only response we received from 3 different staff members was that they were un sure what was good in the area but their restaurant in the hotel was good. The restaurant in the hotel looked more like a cafeteria then a nice restaurant. Also the room rooms were small and poorly designed seeing as you could not take a shower and some one else be able to get some thing from the closet seeing as their is a very large weird door that attaches the 2 rooms. Now on to the positives: The breakfasts were very tasty and a nice sized portion. The pool area was nice was a great place to sit in the evening after a long day of shopping. Also the art throughout the hotel was very neat to look at as you wandered through the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are much nicer and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

We're so glad you had a chance to enjoy our extensive art collection and thought the breakfast was lovely! We hope you enjoyed your cruise and thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Pro
1. Nice pool area
2. Free wifi
3. Comfortable room/bathroom
4. Friendly staff
5. Free Bus outside (the trolley)

Cons
1. Parking rates per day are so expensive
2. Bar very expensive
3. Some balconies overlook main road

Overall nice hotel based on pool area, clean and friendly but by the time you pay for the parking per day it becomes a little bit expensive.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rach8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

We so appreciate the review of your recent stay with us - next time you are in the Miami area, please feel free to contact us directly at sales@hotelurbanomiami.com and we will be happy to assist with your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I was in Hotel Urbano for a week on business. From the moment I checked in it was a pleasant experience. Nelson was very helpful at the front desk and remembered me throughout my stay and made my experience very nice.

The rooms are nice and large and the pool is amazing.

Only minor gripes are that the computers in the business center need to be updated. Very hard to print one sheet. As well, $24/day valet with no self parking. Typical for the area though.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank ThurmanMurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days while on vacation. I think reviews should do more than extol or complain and repeat what every other reviewer said. I think readers appreciate tips on how to maximize their stays (I do!).

Let's get the basics out of the way.

Stylish, clean, well maintained property; rooms smallish but well designed and comfortable; great beds; plenty of hot water for showers, etc. Lobby restaurant serves a great breakfast at competitive prices. Lovely pool area. Excellent, friendly customer service at all levels (special mention to Nelson at reception).

I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Now, some information to help you maximize your visit...

LOCATION:

The property is located at the end of Brickell Avenue, which is a combination of expensive, bay front condomiumium towers and Fortune 500 corporate office complexes. Other hotels in the area start at $400-500/night.

This is not a tourist area of Miami. You need a car or to be prepared to take a cab. I had a car. You come here without a car, you're going to feel isolated. Don't blame the hotel. Look at a map.

On the other hand: you're 2 miles to gorgeous Coral Gables and an easy, 10 minute drive to Key Biscayne.

The street behind the hotel is Miami Avenue. The homes on this stretch of Miami Avenue start at a million dollars.

Yes, the hotel is next to the entrance to the Rickenbacker Causeway. This makes the area seem busier than it is. However, the Rickenbacker only goes to one place: Key Biscayne. It's the only way to get to Key Biscayne.

The Urbano is the closest hotel to Key Biscayne not actually on Key Biscayne. The only hotel on Key Biscayne is the Ritz-Carlton (starting at $500/night). If you don't have $500/night to spend, and you want to visit Key Biscayne, the Urbano is where you're staying.

Do a Zillow search for the property values on the streets immediately surrounding the hotel and Key Biscayne. http://www.zillow.com/ You will see what I'm getting at with the demographic remarks.

PARKING TIP:

The Urbano charges $30/night to valet park at the hotel I don't pay for hotel parking, period. (A point of principle for me.) I saved $150 by parking on Miami Avenue, right behind and to the north of the hotel. The street is quiet, well lit, and safe.

Some parts of Miami Avenue require a parking decal; most do not. Just be careful not to part on the blocks that require a decal. If you're not an American and don't know what a parking decal is, Google it.

WHAT BEACH TO GO TO:

If you came to Miami to see other tourists, go to Miami Beach or South Beach, and good luck to you. It's expensive, crowded, tacky and the beach itself (the sand) is not attractive. They're about a 30 minute drive from the Urbano, and then you have to deal with parking. Just a mess.

On the other hand, if you came to Miami to experience south Florida, go to Key Biscayne. It's one of the top 10 beaches in the US (maybe the world). Key Biscayne is what Miamians think of when they think of "the beach".

Soft white sand. Plenty of easy $5, all day, parking. No noise. State and national park land. Protected flora and fauna. No tee shirt shops. No college kids boozing it up. No "scene" other than what nature and a million dollars in property values will get you.

I rented a bike on Key BIscayne and peddled around the island. Very safe, beautiful, relaxing.
http://www.mangrovecycles.com/

OTHER ACTIVITIES:

Vizcaya (Google it) is about 2 miles from the hotel. You can drive to the house and go inside, it's worth the time and money.

For $15-$20, I rented a kayak on the Rickenbacker Causeway and paddles southwest across Biscayne Bay to the Vizcaya "harbor". http://www.sailboardsmiami.com/ The water was fairly shallow and calm, the trip took me 45 minutes each way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thanks so much for this fantastic review - we love all the details and are sure future guests will too! We hope we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon - please drop us a line at sales@hotelurbanomiami.com for assistance with the booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights during a long weekend in Miami because we didn't want to pay South Beach prices all 3 nights. The hotel isn't within walking distance to anything, but we took advantage of the free trolley that goes to the Brickell Village and downtown. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, especially the valet staff. One of them walked out to the trolley stop with us and showed us the map of the route. We sat by the pool for a little while one day, but it was too chilly for a dip. I was hoping to be able to sit pool-side with a cocktail, but the bar doesn't open until later in the day. However, their happy hour is worth it for the 2 for 1 deal. I believe it's only on weekdays though so we only took advantage of it on Friday. The fire pit looked nice at night, though we never went out there.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and was eye level with the highway. Noise wasn't an issue for us, however if you're a really light sleeper, I'd ask for a room that doesn't back up to the highway. Bed was comfy. The parking fee is tough to swallow, but it seems to be the standard in the area. I imagine you'd be paying a lot more for a room and parking if you were staying down the road at the Conrad, JWM or even the Hampton Inn.

We had breakfast in the lobby and it was pretty good. The french toast had homemade whipped cream which was very yummy. All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and was eye level with the highway. Noise wasn't an issue for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg_O_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! We're so happy to hear you had a good experience and got a chance to take advantage of the free trolley service - please let us know next time you are heading to Miami and we will be happy so assist with a reservation on the other side of the building. sales@hotelurbanomiami.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed here January 16, 2014 for 1 night pre-cruise. Since we flew into Ft. Lauderdale, we had rented a car so location wasn't an issue with us. From the time we arrived at the hotel until the time we left, everyone was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Check-in and check-out were fast. The rooms were great and we never had to wait more than a minute or two for our car (valet). Although we didn't eat or drink here, everything we saw looked wonderful. The day/night that we were in Miami, it was cold and we did sit by the fire at the pool which was very nice. Wish we stayed more than 1 night. If we cruise out of Miami again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We're so happy you loved our little hotel! And thanks for taking the time to review your experience....we hope that next time you are in Miami we will have the chance to welcome you back again for a few more days this time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Regency Hotel Miami
#39 of 127 in Miami
1,897 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 127 in Miami
2,731 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 127 in Miami
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat Residence
#37 of 127 in Miami
641 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbano

Address: 2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $119 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urbano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urbano is a stylish, urban boutique hotel with a resort flavor, well situated within the active Brickell Avenue Business District. The eclectic and relaxing ambiance of the inviting pool deck and innovative, savory cuisine from Bistro Urbano & Bar with indoor and outdoor seating create the perfect setting for both guests and local residents to mingle and meet. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Miami, Key Biscayne, Coconut Grove along with many of Miami's famous attractions such as Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Jungle Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing