We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not great, not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not great, not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent two nights here. I know it was in the middle of nowhere but you are really only about 10 minutes away from restaurants etc.. in Doral. What I liked about the hotel were the rooms. Very clean and comfortable bed. Also the black out curtains were the best I've ever seen. If you closed them in the middle of the day you would have no idea it was day time, that's how dark the room stayed.

What I was not so pleased about was the staff. For example we called down for towels and they never sent them. The front desk staff was just not that friendly. The other issue I had was with their small restaurant. I got an order of Hummus and they give you a huge amount of Hummus which is great, however they barely give you any flat bread to eat all the Hummus. When I asked if I can have some more flat bread, I was told I had to order another order of the Hummus. That was crazy to me. Also the hygiene of the girl who worked in the morning was beyond disgusting. She would cough in her hand and then handle food. She would wipe her mouth and do the same. Management needs to train their employees who handle food the proper technique to cough etc.....

Would I stay there again? If the price is right I would. I just wouldn't eat at their restaurant nor try to deal with the front desk because I did like the rooms and in the end that's what is most important.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    82
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
75
57
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There are so many better hotels than this in FL I can't see any reason for staying here. This is one of the worst international chain hotels I stayed at considering the brand name. Everything went wrong start from the beginning. From the perspective of Hotelier front staff and management needs more education, they have no clue about the customer service. Manager on duty that I was dealing with was very lackadaisical. I was promised a late check out during the checking time and but the manager on duty next was almost argue with me and trying explain that she was doing me a favor.

I suggest other friends and co works to not choose this hotel if they go Florida. I will make sure to spread the word to other who works for all Marriott and different properties how they treat the guests. People go for travel with great expectation, and even small things might make their trip as very bad memory. 
This time, especially when I checked out the hotel, our Miami trip memory became one of the worst trip ever for me. Nothing is more frustrating than being accused of something you didn't do. I still have problems with my credit card after the trip.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are plenty of hotels in the area. Find someplace where the staff have hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in Miami because I had great a rate on my flight and an even better rate at this hotel. When I rented the car the woman asked if I needed a Sunpass but I declined because I decided I would use the "cash" line. Wrong, some highways don't have cash lines. Either you have a Sun pass or they read the tag of the vehicle. Ughhh, I haven't received my bill yet but I was bamboozled twice. Anyway, the hotel was like any other Courtyard and was very spacious. I was able to check in early which was great. The property is located in an industrial area so there's not much to do so you need a car. To avoid the tolls I had to travel a few miles down to get on either 75 or take local streets. The Florida Turnpike is near the hotel but it didn't work for me without having a Sun pass. I would stay there again but be more prepared by bringing my EZ pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronniecesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while celebrating my 30th birthday in Miami. The hotel is new, very well designed, and conformable. The rooms are very nice as well. We didn't have any issues to report and enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for a very reasonable price. Service was good, rooms are spacious, just any thing you want a hotel to offer is there. However, when you get of the turnpike you are passing an unmanned toll. There is no turningback and no way to pay. When I got home I had a USD 50 fine for passing two toll boots. 1) Miramar 2) NW 106th ST West
I always pay my tolls so I am a bit pissed that Miami tricks people into these fines.
Bottom line is that if you do not have a Sun Pass you better stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charly640527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard Miami West/Florida Turnpike. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. The southern portion of the Florida Turnpike is now cashless. You may either pay by a Sunpass or you will be billed "toll-by-plate," therefore anyone can utilize the hotel exit. The “toll-by-plate” portion of the Turnpike is billed at the cost of the toll plus an administration fee between $2 USD and $5 USD. I would recommend contacting the customer service number and inquiring about the $50. Fines should not be accessed for utilizing the “toll-by-plate” service.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip, and it was the perfect place to come home to after a full day. It would make a great place to stay for families as well as for business. The hotel is located right next to an industrial area, so it's more likely you will see business travelers, but regardless, if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay off the turnpike, you can't beat this place. The beds are comfortable, and the internet is fast, unlike that of some of the competing brands nearby. The only drawback for me is that breakfast wasn't included, as it is at such places like Hampton or SpringHill Suites. I know those are different service levels, so that may be why. All in all, I would definitely stay here again, and I recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teknojunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard Miami West/Florida Turnpike. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits to the area.


Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way North from the Keys. I was a little concerned with safety in the Miami area so I wanted a convenient location as far West of the city, but with easy access for a few of the attractions in the Miami area. I was very pleased with the surroundings, as I felt safe at all hours. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the staff was very courteous and provided insite into locations we wanted to get to. The only issues we had was the lack of restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel, and since Courtyards do not serve a free continental breakfast, we spent a good bit of time looking for the food we wanted. I would definately stay here again if in the Miami area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwalker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard Miami West/Florida Turnpike. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. The Courtyard is located approximately 5 miles from several local restaurants. You may also take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that can transport you to several restaurants as well as the Dolphin Mall. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits to the area.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami West/FL Turnpike
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West
9.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#30 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Courtyard Miami Airport
#29 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike

Property: Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike
Address: 11580 NW 105th St, Miami, FL 33178-1191
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
#26 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Miami West/FL Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami West/Fl Turnpike Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing