We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gus is AMAZING”
Review of Area 31

Area 31
Reserve with OpenTable
Area 31 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 4,187 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Brickell Ave
Transit: Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.
Description: Chef Driven. Ocean Inspired. Local flavor. We have a unique perspective here on the 16th floor, allowing us to see everything that makes Miami famous. Then we hand it to Executive Chef Wolfgang Birk to make into something even more remarkable. Area 31's panoramic vistas provide the wow factor, but Chef Birk's elegant yet approchable cuisine draws full attention to the plate, as avid diners anticipate what his worldly influences and fresh inspiration will cook up next. Keeping it fresh is a big part of Area 31, and that includes sourcing ingredients from our favorite local vendors. While it's preferable to come here hungry, we're always happy to share the view with you over cocktails and people-watching from our spectacular outdoor Terrace Lounge. Habitually innovative, often breathtaking and always welcoming, Area 31 is here to make sure you're never more than an elevator ride from a singular Miami experience.
Webb City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gus is AMAZING”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We ate at Area 31 to celebrate a friend's birthday. Our server Gus was by far the best server I have EVER had. Yes, the views are stunning especially at sunset and the food is ok but the service provided by Gus was nothing short of spectacular. He was very animated and accommodating, never allowing us to want for anything. Gus, you are AMAZING!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
WOW! Gus was so thrilled to see your great comments! Make to ask for him on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    244
    108
    50
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We dined on the patio for lunch. We both had the tasty Pesto Grilled Chicken Sandwich. Service was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fancyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Great to see you enjoyed yourself! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“area 31”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

love this place. the view is incredible. nice menu. food is very good with very friendly service. they have great Miami Spice menus. they also accept SAVORED.. great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leslie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
This is awesome! I am so glad to see you enjoyed your entire experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good ambiance”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good ambiance, but it was ok. Interesting to watch people< The music was ok, but nothing special. We didn't had any place to seat, so we got tired after a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank claumun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, General Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, please be sure to visit us again! We have Happy Hour specials Monday-Friday with a DJ on Wed-Fri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Night !!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Super view......wonderful table....thank you Geno!! Impeccable personal service throughout the night. Many excellent suggestions....Ryan is the best. Busy but always attentive....felt like we were his only table. Passionate about his work and it shows. It does not get any better than
this !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful compliments all around! Ryan will be thrilled to see your comments, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Area 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing