We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Area 31

Area 31
Reserve with OpenTable
Area 31 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,203 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Brickell Ave
Transit: Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.
Description: Chef Driven. Ocean Inspired. Local flavor. We have a unique perspective here on the 16th floor, allowing us to see everything that makes Miami famous. Then we hand it to Executive Chef Wolfgang Birk to make into something even more remarkable. Area 31's panoramic vistas provide the wow factor, but Chef Birk's elegant yet approchable cuisine draws full attention to the plate, as avid diners anticipate what his worldly influences and fresh inspiration will cook up next. Keeping it fresh is a big part of Area 31, and that includes sourcing ingredients from our favorite local vendors. While it's preferable to come here hungry, we're always happy to share the view with you over cocktails and people-watching from our spectacular outdoor Terrace Lounge. Habitually innovative, often breathtaking and always welcoming, Area 31 is here to make sure you're never more than an elevator ride from a singular Miami experience.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ate three meals (lunch and dinner), nice overall menu and enough options to visit multiple times. Nice outdoor seating though it overlooks the highway, city views are pretty. Fish tacos on lunch menu are amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences from your multiple visits! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    246
    108
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Staying at the EPIC (which is epic), got in around 5 pm and had reservations at 10 for Zuma so hit the happy hour at Area 31. I believe they had recently redid it. Very cool vibe on 16th floor by the pool and great views of the bay and Brickell. Suprisingly the food is fantastic. They were having some issues whether you can get the full menu outiside, but a little talking and we made that happen. The food is great, I really enjoyed the lobster in particular. I love the Epic and this is just another reason to stay there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Happy Surprises are the best, right! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had family visiting from out of town and went to Area 31 last night, as we had done a couple of years ago. I was aware that they had remodeled and gotten a new chef late last year, but we were hopeful that last night's visit would be as excellent as our previous one. We couldn't have been more wrong. We were a party of 9, all adults, and they have a new rule for larger parties that you don't get to order what you want from the menu. They select which appetizers and desserts you will get and you get to choose from 3 entrees. It was a VERY slow night so I don't understand why this rule was in effect. At any rate, since my cousin and I are vegetarians, we both ordered the risotto. It was just OK, not very creamy at all and with very little cheese. It reminded me of catered food you'd get at a wedding. The other two entree choices selected by the rest of the group, chicken and swordfish, were also rated as OK. The service was really bad. Our waiter was loud and somewhat obnoxious with a phony solicitous edge..."Would the gentleman care for…" and "How is the young lady doing" (to women in our group who were obviously older than he). Cocktails ordered right after we sat down were not brought to the table until after wine had been ordered, opened and poured. And since I elected to finish my cocktail "I don't care for any wine right now", my wine glass was taken away and wine was never mentioned again. Much ado was made over a sun-dried tomato tepenade and creme fraiche brought to the table to accompany the bread. But guess what? No bread was brought until we asked for it. Plates were grabbed away before we were finished. Just an overall BAD experience. I can't recommend Area 31. It does have a lovely 16th floor terrace view of downtown Miami. So maybe a cocktail on the terrace, but skip the dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salb573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you salbano for your feedback as we use this information to improve. Please do come back and try us again and personally ask for me and I will ensure you have a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food at epic hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

found on the 16 floor of the epic hotel
lounge by the poolside bar before tucking into good food,
with excellent service and fantastic surroundings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186402Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Glad to see you enjoyed both our terrace bar on the 16th floor and our amazing dinner menu! Check out our Happy Hour every Monday-Friday! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgoeus”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A beautiful atmosphere and great view, excellent service, and the restaurant is beautiful and the food smells very good. I highly recommend it. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troya50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno D, Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
And we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Area 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing