We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and Incredible Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Area 31

Area 31
Reserve with OpenTable
Area 31 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,138 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Brickell Ave
Transit: Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.
Description: Chef Driven. Ocean Inspired. Local flavor. We have a unique perspective here on the 16th floor, allowing us to see everything that makes Miami famous. Then we hand it to Executive Chef Wolfgang Birk to make into something even more remarkable. Area 31's panoramic vistas provide the wow factor, but Chef Birk's elegant yet approchable cuisine draws full attention to the plate, as avid diners anticipate what his worldly influences and fresh inspiration will cook up next. Keeping it fresh is a big part of Area 31, and that includes sourcing ingredients from our favorite local vendors. While it's preferable to come here hungry, we're always happy to share the view with you over cocktails and people-watching from our spectacular outdoor Terrace Lounge. Habitually innovative, often breathtaking and always welcoming, Area 31 is here to make sure you're never more than an elevator ride from a singular Miami experience.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and Incredible Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Tonight my wife and I were able to score a hard to get reservation at Area 31 at the Epic Hotel in Miami where we are staying. We had an AWESOME server named Carlos who gave us perfect recommendations as well as always was there when we needed him but was never "hovering" or invasive. I am trying to figure out how to get Carlos to work at every restaurant that I go to in the future! We had 5 or 6 dishes and a couple of desserts as well as a few drinks. Everything was superb and perfectly presented and the taste was perfection.
I recommend this place fully and with servers like Carlos, the experience was simply heavenly. Thank you Area 31 for a great meal and thank you Carlos for incredible service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjgclinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    237
    105
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“View is out of this world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was lucky enough to have a birthday dinner here outside overlooking Downtown Miami and the water at sunset. The food was great but the view was amazing. The staff created a special birthday dessert for me too. It can get windy even in Summer so bring a sweater.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
1 review
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We attended a series of meetings at the EPIC. On our first night, we ate in the private dining room, with an expansive view. The setting was remarkable, the food was fantastic, and the service from Ryan took it over the top.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 62Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi there, Becky! I am so glad that you had a great dinner with great views and great service from Ryan! I will let him know how much you enjoyed it--he is always happy to hear back from his guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“busy lounge scene with great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We came to area 31 for drinks on friday night and were surprised at the bar scene. Very busy and we found it difficult to find seats at the outside lounge. Getting drinks was impossible, so we asked a restaurant staff to help us, Carlos got us drink und found us a place outside to take in the scene and the amazing view. We then sat for dinner and had a number of appetizers that were tasty, especially the ham croquettes. My friends and I really liked this place and plan to return next time we're in town. Our server Carlos also owes us a couple of drinks! lol

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caludia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Caludia! It is so great to read that Carlos was able to turn your evening around! We understand your frustration with being able to get up to the packed bar, and soon you wil see a newly expanded bar to better service our guests. I will be sure to let Carlos know about your great experience with him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Dont ignore the patio scene.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went where with a business group of about 10 on a thursday night. Was surprised when the restaurant seemed empty. Why? Turns out the inside scene isn't what this is for, the PATIO scene outside is where you want to be.

While the food was good, my neck hurt watching the coming and going to the patio outside. Kinda reminded me of the rooftop bar at the Standard in LA. Wow!

Again the food was fine, innovative and tasty. I just wasn't focused on the food after awhile.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Area 31, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi! We agree that it is a great combination of innovative food and a great scene--thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Area 31 also viewed

 

Been to Area 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing