We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mole!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheen Huaye

Cheen Huaye
Ranked #116 of 4,107 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Loved the mole. I ordered a side dish of mole to go with the appetizer chips. The salsa they offer is exquisite as well. Lots of deep flavors and spices. Portion-sizes were generous enough that I had leftovers for breakfast the next day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    41
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GuacamOLE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic food, awesome margaritas, friendly staff; what more can you ask for? It sounds like a Chinese name, but they have fantastic Yucatan Peninsula and Central American fare.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kab9098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the best southwestern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been here several times. Every time the owner makes you feel very welcome and prepares food to your taste. I am vegetarian and I love it here. The chili rhinos is awesome. Also the veggie quesadilla deserves a mention.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ive lived in San Diego for years and have had my share of delicious Mexican food, but none quite like this. Their specialties menu is what to stick to. I think i've made my way through almost every dish on that menu and they have all been so unique and wonderful, compared to what a lot of us have come to expect from a Mexican menu. You can just taste the love and time that goes in to the preparing the food and it keeps us coming back for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Food, and now I know what a matraca is!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great dinner, celebrating a friends birthday. The food was excellent, we recommend the ceviche!!! Waitstaff was incredibly attentive, and responded to every request we made. The food was very authentic, and delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheen Huaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing