We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expectations not met ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheen Huaye

Cheen Huaye
Ranked #144 of 4,019 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
604 reviews
500 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Expectations not met ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We have been tempted for months to try out the #3 restaurant in Miami, but Cheen Huaye did not pass muster. The setting was plain, the service so-so, and the food was not exceptional. The pork special was the stand out dish, and the margarita was the memorable drink. The Ceviche was way to acidic, and the salsa was flavorless.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pineapples-a-Plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    38
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

including Mexico City. This place blew me away. The salsa was authentic and delicious, guacamole fresh, and the MOLCAJETE MARINERO blew me away. The smell of those grilled green onions was fabulous, and the sauce that the fish was in was perfectly delicately delicious. The tortillas yummy.

The servers were very present and helfpul. And they delivered my food without cilantro, which I can't taste properly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TipToeTippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“real mexican flavor in Miami, what a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

So the choices for mexican food in So. Florida are not very appealing. Either go to a more americanized tex-mex restaurant without authentic flavor or try to find a more authentic restaurant but without the modern/clean feel of more upscale restaurants. Cheen Huaye is just the right mix. The place very welcoming and feels modern and clean. The bar looks great and more importantly, the food and flavors are excellent and truly taste more authentic than anything else I've had down here before. We had the canitas and the stuffed poblano and both were just excellent.
Service was quick and efficient, and our food came out very quickly after ordering it.

We'll be back soon to try other things in the menu!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ldg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Off the beaten path, but the best dinner we had while on vacation. Looked up Mexican restaurants local to our hotel in Sunny Isles (north of Miami). Had several to choose from, and even drove to a few on our list but kept driving - others just didn't appear to be authentic. Looked at the review of Cheen Huaye and decided to give it a try. SO GLAD WE DID. It's in a small strip of shops, but don't let that discourage you. We pulled in and were greeted by the owner who opened the door for us. We were immediately seated at a table and were served drinks right away. It's small, but seems they are expanding to the space next door. Nicely decorated - very comfortable. The waiter was more pleasant than anyone I've run into in years. He was very informed about every item on the menu and gave us a few suggestions. We took his advice on one dish and ordered a personal favorite as another dish. You can see the food being cooked and prepared, and the food was served in a timely manner. As we were eating, the owner came over to our table (as well as other tables) to ask if we were satisfied with our choices. He was also very pleasant, and described how Southern Mexican food is different than typical Mexican food. There are many restaurants in my hometown that I would consider "authentic" Mexican but Cheen Huaye is different. Their food seems more fresh, and they use ingredients I've never tasted before. Portion sizes were fantastic for the price, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic and Good Tequilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went here for my birthday and it was delcious. Tucked away in a strip mall it is much better than you would think on first galance. Got the taco sampler (had 3 different kinds). They have a number of different margaritas to choose from. From the chips and salsa to the dessert eveything was wonderful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheen Huaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing