We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm torn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Opera Suites & Marina
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Miami
GardeniaPalm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I'm torn”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

On the one hand, the view was great. On the other, I had to be careful where I stepped while getting to the balcony to see it.

I arrived midweek for my four night stay. I was given a 1 bedroom on the 56th floor. When I got off the elevator and opened the door... WOW! What a view! I could see downtown, Brickell, the Venetian Islands, the Port of Miami, just about everything south of the building.

The floors were a white polished stone and I thought everything was fabulous, until closer inspection.

There was an immense amount of long hairs all over the floors of the unit. The carpet going in to the bedroom was torn, the area rug in the living room was filthy and the floor to ceiling windows hadn't been wash since the building was built, it seemed.

Normally I take pictures of the bad, but I was so grossed out I had to immediately begin cleaning. After I removed the hairs and scrubbed down the bathroom, I thought all would be well.

10 PM comes and I take down the covers to crawl in to bed and fitted sheet is turned inside out, there are the same long hairs all over and big black marks all along the pillows.

I went downstairs but the woman at the desk was on the phone and didn't look up and I think was pretending to not see or hear me.

Since the units come with wash and dryers, I went back up and threw the sheets in the wash.

The shower head and jets were very nice, but the tub didn't drain well and I ended up standing in a big puddle every time I got in. Towels were worn.

I'm torn because on the one hand the view and location were good and the furnishings in the condo were also good (I loved the sofa) On the other hand, the unit had obviously not been cleaned and then housekeeper simply made the bed as opposed to changing the sheets.

The bottom line is the rate their asking on some sites ($300-$400 a night) is NOT NOT NOT NOT worth it!!! I cannot stress that enough! I paid $104 a night and for that price, it WAS worth it. I wouldn't pay any more then $140 a night for a one bedroom.

If you're coming for an extended stay, it's a good place to stay, just expect that you'll have to clean when you get there as well as do laundry.

There is a pool, hot tub and sauna as well as a gym in the building on the 11th floor and that was a nice feature to have. Being a residential building, the facilities were never crowded like they are at traditional hotels.

I would recommend this hotel ONLY with the stipulation of price I mentioned above.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeniaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ST Paul, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Opera Suites for the Strickly Sail Boat Show and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, large (compared to a hotel) and the people at the front desk very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was fully equiped and the views "fantastic" . Request an ocean view you will not get a better view for the $. Very convenient to downtown, restaurants and easy to get a cab if needed. A very safe area and quiet. Do note that if you are looking for a resort this is not for you as it is more of a condotel set up but a great value for the $ compared to the other hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquavitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

It should be understood first of all that the Opera Suites and Marina is really an "Apparthotel"; i.e., it is a set of condominiums made to operate as a hotel. This is important, because of the expectations that some travellers have regarding a "full service hotel".

As an Apparthotel, it is very good. Its suites are spacious and modern, and most have impressive views of the Miami skyline and the bay. The location is also good, not quite in Downtown, but close enough to the Metromover (free public transit) to make that a non-issue. The pool is large and heated, and the fitness center is likely well-equipped. I found the front desk staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.

As a hotel, it is missing some key things, like a restaurant, room service, a large lobby area to relax in, etc., but if you know this going in, it doesn't bother you that much. There are three large hotels in the immediate vicinity (Doubletree, Marriott, and Hilton) featuring restaurants and shops, and the building next door has a very good and affordable caffeteria (Carrals), where you can sample both typical - simple - American as well as Cuban fare.

Some observations:
(1) They can provide you with extra linens, pillows, blankets, utensils, pots and pans, etc., but these are not in the room when you arrive; you need to ask for them.
(2) The room had been swept clean, but not mopped, so the marble floor was a little dusty on our arrival. This was pointed out to the staff at checkout, and they humbly accepted it, promising to correct it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Spent 5 days for the NCAA basketball Tournament. The staff we the best.. friendly, helpful and went out of their way. Stayed in a very spacious and comfortable 2 bedroom suite. What a view!!! Bayside, American Airlines Arena, Music and Opera Hall all within walking distance. Did I mention the view!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We wanted a couple of days to chill out prior to our honeymoon crusie from Miami and whilst this apartment cost a bit more than we would normally have spent it was well worth the money.
The apartment was on the 22nd floor of a 60+ floor complex, with spectacular views. The 1 bedroom apt was spacious and beautifully fitted out with everything you needed + ample parking on site, but at an extra cost.
Not much in the way of places to shop or eat within walking distance unless you like junk food, but if you have a hire car there are Malls and restaurants within a short drive.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — The general fixtures and fittings and of course the huge walk-in wardrobe!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank McVean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#55 of 122 in Miami
2,604 reviews
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#20 of 122 in Miami
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Suites & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites & Marina

Property: Opera Suites & Marina
Address: 1750 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-3203
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera Suites & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Opera Suites & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Suites & Marina Hotel Miami
Opera Suites And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing