We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience!”
Review of House of Food Porn

House of Food Porn
Ranked #2 of 4,687 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $143 - $350
Description: Chef and creative force behind ShuShi Cuisine, his unique twist that expands sushi to world of new flavors and shows guest how to roll their own way. His lifelong love of sushi began at the age of 16, when Franco Antonio tasted sushi for the first-time—and the notion was born that he could learn to make sushi to save money and impress the young ladies. A few years later, after his parents refusal to eat the mainly raw sushi rolls that Franco Antonio was creating, he developed his unique approach to rolling their favorite Cuban dishes in the form of maki rolls—appealing to their native palette. His mother accidentally coined the name Shushi because she was unable to properly pronounce the word “sushi”. Thus began an exploration of world cuisines wrapped into robust ShuShi rolls with cooked ingredients. (Private dining and Catering available)
Restaurant details
Description: Chef and creative force behind ShuShi Cuisine, his unique twist that expands sushi to world of new flavors and shows guest how to roll their own way. His lifelong love of sushi began at the age of 16, when Franco Antonio tasted sushi for the first-time—and the notion was born that he could learn to make sushi to save money and impress the young ladies. A few years later, after his parents refusal to eat the mainly raw sushi rolls that Franco Antonio was creating, he developed his unique approach to rolling their favorite Cuban dishes in the form of maki rolls—appealing to their native palette. His mother accidentally coined the name Shushi because she was unable to properly pronounce the word “sushi”. Thus began an exploration of world cuisines wrapped into robust ShuShi rolls with cooked ingredients. (Private dining and Catering available)
Reviewed November 8, 2018

I found House of Food Porn while scrolling through Instagram and beyond thrilled that I stumbled upon such a unique find. I purchased the sushi-rolling class package for my boyfriend and I to celebrate his birthday. From start to finish, Nicky and Chef Franky made our experience personable and unforgettable. This place is hidden gem in Little Haiti, but don't be deterred by the location! I drove all the way from Pembroke Pines to have dinner here and I would do it again in a heartbeat, Miami traffic and all! The atmosphere is very chic and trendy. From the moment you walk in, they are warm and welcoming. I have eaten at many restaurants in South Florida and there is nothing quite like the House of Food Porn. It is beyond your average dining establishment and the PERFECT place for a girl's night out or romantic evening with your significant other. Chef took his time teaching us how to roll our "ShuShi" and guided us along the way as we attempted to make the perfect roll. The food was TO DIE FOR and Nicky makes an incredible Sangria! The best part? There were so many delicious rolls left over, we were able to take them home for lunch the next day. They hit the spot. We cannot wait to go back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jessap585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
399frankb, Owner at House of Food Porn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed and great review! We are thankful for guests like you who clearly got our message. Personalized service and yummy ShuShi is our recipe to make you happy. We love what we do and we take pride to exceed expectations and deliver topnotch service. We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future!!!

Cheers,
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

My brother got this as a birthday gift for me! I was this close to not going because it is all the way in little Haiti on the opposite town of where I live...but my husband and I made it to the class they host on Tuesday at 7 pm and we had an amazing experience!!!!! The place is small but quaint... the host did a wonderful job decorating it and making us feel super welcomed. We always had our cups filled with water and sangria and a smile on our face. The chef was wonderful, down to earth and encouraging!!!! A def. must to do. We are even thinking of having them cater or to host a class at our home with friends. Super fun!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank vsamc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco B, Owner at House of Food Porn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review!!! We truly appreciate it and we would be honored to cater or host a SHUSHI ROCK'N ROLLING CLASS at your home. We are looking forward to serving you again,

cheers,
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

I am not one to leave reviews , but with this amazing restaurant experience and the food that I am still day dreaming about, I just had to share the love for all my fellow trip advisors. Your Miami experience will not be complete until you eat at House of Food Porn. Friday was my first time eating there (my boyfriend has eaten here before and knew he had to bring me.) Franky and Nicky honestly made me feel like family. This was a such a genuine and unique dining experience. Nicky makes Bloody Mary shots out of this world and Franky, OMG, he have the hands of a god with the food he creates. Don’t believe me? Go and you will see exactly what I mean. Can’t wait to go again! You guys rock !

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank maliagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco B, Owner at House of Food Porn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great and detailed review! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your private dining experience so much, we couldn't describe better what we intend to do and always strive to exceed expectations! We are looking forward to hosting you again, we had as much fun as you and this is why WE LOVE DOING WHAT WE DO!!!

Cheers,
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

This is quite the food experience! Chef Frankie cators the menu to u & ur group &host Nicole makes sure all r having fun w drinks, music & great conversations! I highly recommend this place for a special celebration or nite out if u like being catered too in a chill atmosphere

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank NicoleH4089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco B, Owner at House of Food Porn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, it means the world to us. You nailed it, personalized service und yummie SHUSHI is what we are proudly serving, so great that you had a good time with us! We are looking forward to hosting you in the near future, check out our Rolling Classes which are held every Tuesday, TASTEBUDS ROCK'N ROLL PAR EXCELLENCE!!!

Cheers
Nicky and Chef Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

The food is amazing. The experience is amazing, this is a great restaurant. Nothing can compare to the special experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco B, Owner at House of Food Porn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Peter,

thank you for taking time to leave us such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed this unique private dining experience with your friends. Personalized service and yummy SHUSHI is our recipe to make our guests happy, We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future, maybe for our 11/11 Tasting on Nov 11th at 11am/pm, that would be AWESOME!

Cheers,
Nicky and Chef Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House of Food Porn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.