We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Miami as it once was” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnacle State Historic Site

Barnacle State Historic Site
Ranked #54 of 324 things to do in Miami
Attraction details
miami florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Miami as it once was”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I live in Coconut Grove so I am quite familiar with The Barnacle. One of the oldest dwellings in Miami it reeks of a bygone era when to live here was to be a true pioneer. It only costs a couple bucks to get in, there tours of Ralph Munroe's house, occasional concerts, yoga, a typical Florida Hammock, views of Biscayne Bay, what more could you ask for. And it's right in the heart of Coconut Grove.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mjlMiamiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    22
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good historic tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I liked the fact this place is withn walking distance from the Mayfair Hotel. There is a nominal fee of two dollar for a self tour. I found this place interesting because along the tour there is plant life I've not seen before. The uses of the varied plants was interesting to me. The home and the history thereof is somewhat interesting, Check it out if you have the opportunity!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
478 reviews
446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's cute but it's not great! It's really too small to be great! IT's just a small house with grass around it, I don't know why they consider this to be an attraction...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Picnic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This park is nice. There is a tour of the old house. There are bathrooms. No food places. All there is too see is a open area that is next to the bay.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WillieC939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The real Miami. Get an idea what it was like to live here 100 years ago. Beautiful setting and the house is lovely. Guides offer interesting stories and are very informative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing