We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice for family trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Art Museum

Miami Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #86 of 338 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1996, MAM has been a showcase of international and Western art, including photographs, paintings, sculpture and other mediums, from 1940 to the present.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
591 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,071 helpful votes
“good choice for family trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

we absolutely reccomend to visit the second saturday of the month 'cos it's free, otherwise the price of 8 usd wouldn't be acceptable for what they offer.
at the entrance there is a wonderful huge lobby to entertain kids allowing their art to come out.
there are many tables with scissors, gloves, paper of many colors to let them express themselves.
2 floors show artistic pictures, portraits and modern sculptures .
i probably don't understand modern art so it didn't impress me very much but when it's free you spend a pleasant hour wandering around.
don't forget: visit it the second saturday of each month, if you can.
;-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    15
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recommend a visit Miami Art Museum, the museum's exhibits quite good, There is a focus on local and Latin artists - mainly contemporary - which I've found very interesting.
$5 parking and $8 each to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

$5 parking and $8 each to see ONE ROOM of art. I say art but there were NO paintings, just a few photos and a couple of abstract pieces. We were out in 10 minutes. Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
5 Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Far below expectations - don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

After viewing 1 exhibit featuring 1 artist and 3 security guards, I asked if there was a second floor or something else I may have missed. The answer: "No, there was another exhibit but we took it down on Sunday." Oh. I don't know why they bother having this museum at all.

This would have been an absolute waste of my time and money if I hadn't bought a combo ticket for the Miami History Museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RedNailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

True, the location in what could only be described as a "rundown" part of downtown Miami isn't the greatest of assets of the Miami Art Museum, but on several visits I've found the museum's exhibits quite good. There is a focus on local and Latin artists - mainly contemporary - which I've found very interesting. In fact their current exhibition "Transcultural Pilgrim: Three Decades of Work by José Bedia" was excellent. Sure, you won't see Picasso and Monet here, but if you're at all interested in Miami's local and Latin art scene I recommend a visit. It's quite easy to get to even if the area is a bit sketchy. It's near the municipal courts and police headquarters. Street parking is easy. And in the same complex is a public library that is both a beautiful building inside and has rotating art exhibits of local artists. It too is worth a look see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miami Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing