We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science - CLOSED

Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The current location of the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science is closed and will re-open at its new location in downtown Miami's Museum Park in summer 2016. The museum will continue to activate in and around South Florida via its "Out & About with Frost Science" outreach program, bringing educational science experiences to the community. The new Frost Science will be structured around a lushly landscaped indoor and outdoor Living Core Aquarium of terrestrial and aquatic environments, featuring a Gulf Stream Aquarium experience totaling over 500,000 gallons of salt water. The facility will also feature the state-of-the-art, full-dome Frost Planetarium, the Knight Learning Center, Innovation Center and Cafe, and an Exploration Center featuring permanent interactive exhibits. The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science is funded with the support of Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Daily shows of the planetarium included in a fair price. Interesting and funny for kids and families.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank W1LL14M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    32
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great For Whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our family ranges in age from 13 to 51 and we all really liked this place. Make sure to check out the sea lab. You can touch some of the sea creatures. We spent about 2 hours here. Right across from Vizcaya . Highly recommend both places.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KayinKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great interactive family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

There's LOTS for all ages to do! Little ones are always itching to grab and touch and play with things. This place has lots to try, learn, experience and enjoy.

We appreciated the staff from the moment we checked in at the desk. The planetarium laser show is clearly outdated, but our kids enjoyed it, having an opportunity to touch and hold sea stars/starfish was awesome! Even my 1-year-old had things he could safely touch & play with!

Love bringing families here when they visit Miami. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GFamilyMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but pretty good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is obviously an older physical location, and it shows. But it also shows it's relevance as many of the exhibits are great. Nano, the physics area...the games....the energy tracker, and the animal areas. The BEST part was the gentleman who explained the things that can be found on the seashore.....the shells, animals. He was great!

As a sidebar....as a transportation/logistics career guy, I LOVED the Pan Am globe in the entryway. So awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scharven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More exciting things going in your own backyard. Take a pillow for the planetarium because the seats are mighty uncomfortable lo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I remember going to this place when I was about 10 years old and let me tell you nothing has changed. My family and I didn't have to pay because we went on a day that BOA debit card owners go in free, so at least that wasn't a waste of money, rather a waste of time. The only thing we enjoyed was experience of petting star fish in a small out door area. Nothing has changed with the this place same old planetarium, and boring science shows.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisaaaax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing