We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Choice & the rate is worth every cent and then some” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South
Ranked #28 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Oakley, Cal
1 review
“Excellent Choice & the rate is worth every cent and then some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I were going on a cruise with another couple with another couple and flew into Miami early and stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites. We had issues at the airport and ended up in Miami even earlier than expected. The excellent staff (Mitch Betmudez & Liz) were so understanding, professional and helpful that they held onto our luggage for us (6 bags) pointed us to a local resturant for breakfast (which they were right it was a wonderful breakfast). When we returned they set us up in our rooms as early as they could, since we were all up for more than 24 hrs. Once we were all rested we had a wonderful dinner and enjoyed the hotels happy hour. The hotel is gorgeous, the art work and lobby are very modern. Our rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. In the morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which had a wide variety of breakfast items. We enjoyed our stay so much that we do plan on returning to see more of Miami and plan on staying there again. I truely hope this helps you in making your decision when deciding on a GREAT hotel while in Miami. I also read reviews prior to selecting the Fairfield Inn for our stay. It lived up to all that I read and so much more. A special thanks to Mitch and Liz for all that you did for us even though to you it might be a normal day. Well be back D. Jensen from California

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisdom0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    357
    101
    27
    22
See reviews for
299
217
42
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Good free shuttle ( don't forget to tip the driver). Convenient to the airport without being trapped in the airport. Reception staff are all excellent. They deserve more paid holidays as a reward because they are great ambassadors to the Marriot Group.

The hotel is close to a busy road junction but in a quiet residential road.

The room was excellent and quiet. Very comfortable bed. Free local phone calls. The breakfast was excellent expecially the cook yourself deep waffles.

The safe is free and well managed. There is free use of Internet computers which was such a help. The foyer is ideal for meeting people and coffee and iced water always on tap.

There is a very good clean and resonably priced Latino Cafe just through the adjacent gas station. They also do take away and very good sandwiches. The Gas station sells milk.

There are public buses into downtown but we were told that the service is not reliable. The main road junction near the hotel is intimidating, so best to walk down the quiet residential road opposite the hotel, which brings you out close to bus stops on both sides of the main road.

The outdoor spar pool is small but excellent for a plunge.

The only minus points were flyers pushed under the door in the small hours ( a towel stuffed under works) and the lifts are frustratingly slow to arrive. Use the stairs instead for a free workout.
We would certainly use this hotel again, it is well run and user friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blinkinsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Miami, then two days traveling the Keys and Everglades, then back to Miami for one night before an early flight. We realized it'd be best to stay near the airport for that last night. Searching for hotels near the 'port with shuttles, we were delighted to find that there was a Fairfield Inn because we'd had a good experience at another Fairfield.

We did have a problem at the airport because as it turns out, there are TWO Fairfield Inns at or near the airport and it took us quite a while to get the right shuttle. This is the one on NW 11th St. If you make your reservations by phone or internet, make sure you get the right one and find out where the shuttle picks you up.

The hotel appears brand spanking new. It's immaculate and no bad smells. Architecturally it's quite elegant. The elevators are fast and efficient. There's a restaurant/bar although we didn't try it. Continental bkfst starts at 7 AM and we were already gone.

I used the coin-op laundry and both the washer and dryer worked very well. There's a sort-of combined spa/pool - it's very warm, perhaps 90º, but not as hot as a hot tub - and about 4' deep, but 15 feet or so across; with sitting ledges and jets all around. I was able to dogpaddle around and then sit and enjoy the massaging jets. A great experience and there was almost no one else around. The fitness center is open around the clock and the equipment is all functional.

The airport shuttles run from 5 AM. Overall this was a terrific place to stay. My only complaint is it's a little pricey. I think we pd. $167 for the night; I thought airport hotels were supposed to be cheaper. Oh yeah - we got a senior rate of $152 but had to settle for two qn. beds - they won't give you a King at that price. I dk if they charge for parking because we'd already dropped off our rental car. Actually we asked if the shuttle could pick us up at the car rental and were told no. We had to take the rental shuttle to the airport, then get picked up by the hotel shuttle outside baggage claim. As I mentioned above, this is the most difficult part. But Miami airport's car rental venue is hard to find and I recommend taking the car back the night before as we did. Otherwise you could get lost in the airport maze and miss your flight.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netmorby110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I booked in this hotel after our cruise, as we needed to fly out the next day. I wasn't expecting much since it was such a great price, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are bright and clean, and quite large. The bed and linens were consistent with what we have found in hotels costing twice this price. Between the comfy bed and the quiet room we got the best night sleep of our whole vacation.
The staff were great, always responded with a smile and provided helpful suggestions.
Only drawback to this hotel is the location. It's great if you only want to go to and from the airport, but if you want to go to South Beach or downtown be prepared to spend 25+ for taxi fares each way.
There is a great little Latin restaurant right around the corner from the hotel (cross through the gas station) that had awesome food at great prices. It's not fancy by any means, but the food was authentic, and great tasting.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJHucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This Fairfield Inn was a good stop for my family as we were heading towards the Keys for Christmas Break. The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious, clean, and quiet. The traffic can be very heavy to get to the hotel. The hotel is close to the airport but no issue with hearing the airplanes. We definitely liked the convenience to the downtown Miami area as we went to a Miami Heat game. The stadium is only 10 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekGolfingGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

#1 - They charged $20 more than the base rate on my reservation (not including taxes and fees). They honored the reservation price after I complained.

#2 - They only had ONE small elevator operating for 125 rooms! The wait for the elevator unreasonable as it was overloaded beyond capacity every time it came to the 5th floor. We had to lug 3 large suitcases and carry on luggage down 5 flights of stairs.

The breakfast scene was alarming with hundreds of people preparing their own food in a small area. The area was unsanitary and every table was filthy. Marriott brand used to stand for excellence. How sad it was to see they are on the US corporate race to the bottom. After travelling around South America and experience great and friendly service at hotels it was very sad to return to a 3rd world US hotel like this. There is probably no hotel left in the world where you need to lug your luggage up or down 5 stories, except for this one in Miami.

The place was at least clean and the cleaning ladies were friendly. If you need a place to stay before a flight it is not bad as long as you don't have much luggage and don't mind climbing stairs. If you are going or coming from a cruise, this place could be a real bummer.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mcl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyMB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Dear MCL3:

I recently received your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of the staff, myself, and the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott brand, I would like you to know that we regret any inconvenience you experienced. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future. I am glad the staff was able to accommodate and match the best rate.

We value your business and hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in the near future. We have ranked very high on trip advisor because travelers like you loved our property. We hope to continue offering you the best choice for your travels.
Again, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and allowing us to address your concerns. We look forward to seeing you in the future, and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.

Sincerely,

Mitch Bermudez
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We paid for the pre-cruise package from their website, which includes transportation to the port of Miami, and they would not honor it! We got suckered into staying at this hotel, paid the additional for the precruise package, and STILL had to pay an additional fee to get to the port.

Also, the shuttle from the airport comes whenever they feel, not every hour as they claim.

There is NO security, they had local residents walking thru the hotel slipping advertising papers under the doors. Seeing the neighborhood would make one uncomfortable with this.

We were up all night with the loud sounds of traffic, people yelling, and firecrackers(gunshots maybe).

We DID call Fairfield Inn Customer Service, and they're sending the complaint back to the hotel that would not work with us to fix this problem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alisha2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyMB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guest,



I recently received your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of the staff, myself, and the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott brand, I would like you to know that we regret any inconvenience you experienced. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future. I have also spoken with my Staff to make sure we are doing our promise to serve our guest in the best possible way.

We value your business and hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in the near future. It seems there was a miscommunication, and I would like to make it right, we have ranked very high on trip advisor because travelers like you, who loved our property. We hope to continue offering you the best choice for your travels.
Again, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and allowing us to address your concerns. We look forward to seeing you in the future, and demonstrating our commitment to delivering outstanding service and value.


Sincerely,


Mitch Bermudez
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Courtyard Miami Airport
#31 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#29 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Airport
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South
Address: 4101 NW 11th St, Miami, FL 33126-3602
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami International Airport is a 5-minute drive from this hotel, which has a free airport shuttle service, a fitness center, and full breakfast. Free Wi-Fi, a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV with HBO movie channels, and a desk are featured in each room at Fairfield Inn and Suites Miami Airport South. Guests will be 7 miles from the cruise ships at Port of Miami. Dolphin Mall is a 15-minute drive from the hotel, and a transportation service is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Miami Airport South
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing