We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do a lot better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Ranked #66 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Disappointing Residence Inn. The manager can reply to this with the copy and paste "we are undergoing renovations" (thank's Tripadvisor, that really adds to the experience) but this place needed redesigned and then renovated years ago.

Fitness center and pool were both extremely small. There are 5 floors in the main building and a couple of other smaller buildings, the fitness center is smaller than a single hotel room.

Breakfast was good, basically the standard fare. "Managers special" or whatever they call Tues-Thurs meals were hit and miss, nothing I would pay for. Free beer is nice, but I would rather have decent food. I suppose that is subjective.

Rooms were extremely dated. Hampton Inn less than a mile away has free breakfast and free parking and is a better building.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falqon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Falqon and thank you for your comments and for staying with us. I understand your concerns. Yes, we are currently in the throws of a very extensive and comprehensive renovation. In fact phase one is nearly complete and we are extremely excited. We anticipate being completely done this Fall and are extremely proud of what will surely be an outstanding hotel. The fitness center does have Life Fitness branded equipment complete with 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical trainers as well as a recumbent bike and dumbbells. We do provide 3 complementary hospitalities each week and the menu changes daily as well as weekly. The offerings will change later in the year to give a fresh appeal to our events.

I do hope that you will return so that you may see the changes that we make.

Sincerely,

Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    126
    63
    36
    19
See reviews for
135
66
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Upon our arrival at the Residence Inn C.G., I was helping with the luggage & my husband checked us in. When we got to the room, it was not the King Suite with pullout bed we requested. I called downstairs, and they explained that they had given us the wrong room type. I explained that we had booked a King. She replied that she had the reservation and that's not what we booked. I explained that my husband was on speaker bluetooth in the car when we reserved, and we both know what we booked. She explained they don't even have a King room. I said, "How could you offer a King bed if you don't have it?" She replied, "Well, we have a King, but only in a suite with a pullout couch." I said, "But that's what I said we booked!" to which she replied, "No, you didn't. Besides, we can't give you that room anyway. It's booked." After slapping my head, I gave up for now- we were due to meet the family that asked us to stay at this hotel to be close to them. First, my husband called to ask them why we couldn't connect our wireless devices. They connected us to IT who put us on hold for 15 minutes. He them explained that we had too many devices connected. My husband explained that we had only arrived in the room, and had NO devices connected. The IT guy kept telling us we had to disconnect our extra devices. Again my husband tried to explain, a third time, the IT said the same. My husband was in disbelief at this conversation and we gave up, again, for now.
A few hours later, we called the hotel before we went back to try & resolve the room situation. A man named Corey explained to me that I had booked this room. Again I explained that I would not have booked a double, since we only book King. He was so condescending, it was incredible. I finally asked, "Corey…has reservations at Marriott EVER made a booking mistake? I am just curious." He admitted that yes, they had. So I asked him if it was at all possible that they had made a mistake. He admitted yes, it was. So when I tired to ask him to book us into the correct room, his answer was? (drumroll, please…) "WELL, Ma'am…THIS is the room you booked!" *sigh*... fellow Trip Advisors…I was out of there. Not only are they incapable of customer service, the rooms are sad and small, there was hair in the sink I had to clean out, the halls are drab and dim, and besides the incredible location (which is incredible) , do not expect anything from this hotel. They should take a lesson from Marriott Jacksonville at Mayo that I stopped in recently which was stellar on every level. Better yet, they could take a lesson from the wonderful Hyatt Coral Gables that checked us in an hour later with no hassle, and all class.

Room Tip: Service was so bad, we checked out before staying the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank You for your comments and I am so sorry for the experience you had. I know we have no person named Corey on property so I believe you must have been speaking to central reservations. In any case I do apologize. Please know that we are currently under renovation and I do hope you will give us a second chance. We will be through in the Fall and I an certain you will be impressed.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This property is relatively small but laid out nicely, making great use of the limited space. The hotel has a nice pool patio area in the center/courtyard, with BBQ grills available for guest use. Amy and her staff keep the recently renovated property in nice shape.

Keep in mind that street parking is metered or you can pay for overnight parking at the hotel.

The very comprehensive buffet breakfast was terrific. In the evening there were nicely good burgers, salads etc. and draft beer. All of the food was included in the price of the room.

Within walking distance is CocoWalk, an indoor/outdoor collection of shops, restaurants and a movie theatre.

The University of Miami is a short distance down the road. We stayed here when we visited the Miami Seaquarium in nearby Key Biscayne. It was a short 20 minute drive from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as vacationing families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Extremely disappointing, dirty and overpriced. We were there during Spring Break which explains the high cost. No where near a beach or anything to do except eat and drink. Pull out couch mattress was gross and dirty tissues in bedroom. Asked to be moved and told nothing available. Outside road construction made it dusty and noisy at the pool. Had to go to front desk ask for pool towels and waited forever for them. Having stayed at the Residence Inn in Tucson, this place was a let down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank You so much for your feedback and for staying with us.. It appears as though we did not meet your expectations or our own. I do apologize for the lack of service that you received. Please know that we will ensure that we use your comments for further training of our staff. Also please not that our hotel is receiving a very comprehensive renovation that will be finished in the fall and I know that you will be impressed with the finished product.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this property several times over the past couple years and I am glad they continue to renovate. The managers reception is a big positive for this property as well as the location. Some of the rooms are a bit tired but offer decent ammenities. This should be a non-issue as soon as the renovations are complete. The one thing I did not like was the $20 a day parking fee. I did see the managers response to other reviews about the high parking fee, and just because parking in the area is challenging and other places charge a fee does not mean you should as well. What is the point? You are charging the fee because you think you can and you will make a few extra $'s. I think it is too high and I would rather choose a different part of miami than to keep paying that much. On the upside the staff has always been very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranger0793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went down here for a concert and our stay was great!!! The hotel doesn't look good from the outside as it has an ugly gray color but inside was really nude. The staff was extremely nice and the rooms were great!!! I would recommend this hotel and we would stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAND1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

A decidedly sub-par Hotel. The Residence Inn in Coconut Grove is a VERY tired old hotel. The elevator is the SLOWEST I have ever had the misfortune to ride and the property is so outdated it is absolutely scary. Furniture is poor, amenities are non-existent, and they charge $20.00 for parking. Do yourself a favor and park 1/2 a block away free. The neighborhoods are very safe and you can avoid the usual Marriott Nickle/Dime Routine.

The young lady who checked me in had trouble finding my name, even after I repeated it 3-times. She was totally out of it and probably was the best they could find. This property is definitely an employer of last resort, not an employer of choice.

Do yourself a favor, pay the extra money to stay at something that meets the Marriott Standards.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank You so much for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. We are indeed under renovation and are very excited as the finished product will be outstanding. We sure hope you give us another try.

Sincerely,

Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#45 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Property: Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Address: 2835 Tigertail Ave, Miami, FL 33133-5301
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove is situated in the beautiful and historic village of Coconut Grove, just south of downtown Miami and steps away from Coral Gables and Cocowalk. Each of our sleek and modern suites feature a full kitchen, separate living area with pull-out sofa and balcony with breathtaking views of Coconut Grove. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, weekday evening socials, relaxing swims in our outdoor pool and stay in shape in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing