We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    118
    60
    35
    19
See reviews for
127
63
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our team of 26 girls and 30 adults recently stayed at this property during a regatta. It was our third year using this hotel and we will definitely be back again! Michelle Maldonado, the Groups Manager, is a pleasure to deal with every step of the way. Every request our group made to the hotel was met with a smile and a yes. The rooms are immaculate , the morning breakfasts were perfect to fuel our team, and the pool area was well kept and never too crowded.

The location is perfect- in walking distance to multiple restaurants and nightlife of Coconut Grove. Highly recommend this hotel for families, business, and groups.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythreechicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lobby is great, bright and well thought out. Loved the Starbucks coffee availability and the great healthy choices for breakfast. The available bar was also a pleasant surprise. During check-in the counters are more like booths instead of a big counter allowing the staff to be more efficient. The staff was excellent and accomodating. The gym is excellent with all the equipment you need for a quick work out. The pool was very good but could use a little more florida influence. An easy walk of a half mile to Coco walk was enjoyed and I would recommend Lulu's for dinner with great outside dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Any Marriott is usually a good choice for us, but we were very disappointed in this particular hotel. However, I must say, we liked the breakfast included in the package (but I suggest you go down before 900am if you want to eat sitting down) and the hotel layout, including gym was pretty good.

The main shortcoming, was regarding the cleaning people. They did a very poor job in the sleeping areas, and even though we complained after a few days and they cleaned well for three days after that, they slipped right back to being sloppy and uncleanly for the other two days of our stay, including not vacuuming, not wiping the kitchenette area, the bathroom, the living area, not cleaning the tub, not taking garbage out.. we are talking very basic shortfalls. We thought leaving bigger tips would help but even that wasn't a good incentive after all.

On the beds, we had to change rooms due to the fact that the smoke alarm on our floor kept going off at all hours, two days in a row, and the beds in both rooms were too soft, producing back aches for both my wife and my self. I think I could deal with this for a weekend pinch but it sure affected the quality of our longer than one week vacation having to deal with morning back aches.

We were in the main building which has a pretty nice layout although we could hear everything, such as plumbing and other noises in other rooms and people activity in the hotel parking lot and this was annoying.

On the upside, it is centrally located near the coco walk, parks, key biscayne, brickell, coral gables, and dadeland and the kitchennette is a good feature for longer stays, but we probably won't come back to this particular hotel, considering the poor cleaning discipline and the soft beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjbsnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel our rooms were not quite ready so they put our bags in the back office and we went out to lunch and window shop. The employees are all very nice and helpful with recommendations and directions.
We walked the area and found a lot of shopping and restaurants.
Our room was located across the parking lot in a separate building. We were traveling with friends so we booked a two room suite. The hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms are clean. There was a fully functional kitchen, although we did not use it except to make coffee in the morning.
The pool area was nice and clean but too cold for a swim.
The hotel is fenced and you need a key to unlock the gates. There seemed to be ample parking.
Breakfast was very good. A very large selection to choose from and coffee is available around the clock in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamacat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was dirty as evidenced by the dirt on my daughters feet from walking around the room and the spider webs on the bathroom fan. Most troubling though was the amount of work being done at the hotel during our stay. One day while sitting at the pool we had to yell to each other to be heard over the power washing that went on at the hotel for the entire day. It was extremely loud and the workers did not seem to care about the people trying to enjoy the pool. We got wet multiple times from the spraying. Additionally a large amount of landscaping went on the next day subjecting us to similar noise problems. Both days my daughter was unable to take a nap due to the noise. We also complained to the staff that the work was going on past 8pm at night and they said the workers were not supposed to work that late and they made them stop. I was told by your staff that the reason for all the cleaning and landscaping in such a disturbing way was for the upcoming Art festival that was to take place the following weekend. I assume Marriott wanted the place to look nice for that event. I sent a complaint to Marriot first and they treated it as a review. This is a review. We have stayed in at least 5 Residence Inns in the U.S. and this one was by far the worst.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexandria4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back from a wedding down in Miami and stayed at the Residence Inn. Most of the wedding guests were from out of town and also stayed here. When we arrived it was almost midnight and half of our party (we had a 2 bedroom suite) had already checked in. My husband and I just started walking to the room and the front desk guy stopped us to make sure we were guests (which was actually comforting on a security level). It turned out that he was expecting us because our party had informed him that we had a late arrival. The living room was on the smaller side with a small couch and arm chair, desk, and tv. The kitchen was also a little small but we didn't mind. One bedroom had a balcony and the other did not but they were both still comfortable. The biggest downsize was the size of the bathroom...not much room to move around and getting undressed to hop in the shower but the shower had great water pressure and an adequate amount of hot water.

The breakfast and breakfast area were really nice. Breakfast included 4 different kinds of cereal, hot oatmeal, breakfast pastries, bagels and toast, a waffle maker with blueberries, chocolate chips, whipped cream, and strawberries. There were also eggs, sausage patties, and hash browns on one morning and biscuits and gravy in addition to eggs on another morning.

The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly to our large wedding party. They brought us out towels by the pool and even joked around with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#14 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#55 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Property: Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Address: 2835 Tigertail Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5301
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing