We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poor Management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Marriott Dadeland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miami Marriott Dadeland
Ranked #62 of 124 Hotels in Miami
connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by the bellman and front desk. I had made the reservation and do to some inconveniences was guarenteed an upgrade from the front desk manager. When I arrived the girl at the front desk knew nothing about this and the manager refused to speak to me. I was told he did not know who I was. Upon check out I saw this same manager, when I approached him to speak to him he was very obtuse and would not consider anything that I had to say. I would not stay at this hotel again. It seems the higher level staff is very self absorded and in it for themselves. This does not represent Marriott standards. It is also an older hotel and not in a prime location.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank exec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    207
    118
    36
    21
See reviews for
111
71
39
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

My Husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. It was wonderful stay, our room was on the 24th floor. It had a great view and a very comfortable bed.

This hotel is very close to the Dadeland Mall and also Miami Metrorail.

We had access to the concierge lounge, which serves continental breakfast daily as well as hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon.

All in all we had a great stay. Will defintely stay there again

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank checkme119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

I traveled to a client site that was about 3 or 4 blocks from this hotel. The hotel was very nice. There was a small glitch in their computer system when I arrived so they gave me a free comp drink from the bar while I waited.

The rooms were normal Marriott rooms, nothing really special. There is a Publix Grocery store directly across the street from the hotel which was easy to grab a few snacks and drinks for the evenings.

One major issue I had with the hotel was the length of time it took to get my car out of Valet. I called down each morning or evening to get my car about 5 or 10 minutes before I came down and I still ended up waiting a good 15 minutes. This turned out to be a major pain every day.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jvreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

I stayed at the Dadeland Marriott for 3 nights. I had 3 very busy days, including driving (this hotel was centrally located for me). The front desk staff were EXCELLENT - helpful to the point of giving me their phone number to call if I thought I might need driving directions after being on the road! They were also helpful to me by making photocopies, printing out maps, and giving me area information. The room was clean and I really appreciated the "non-smoking" rule - it was nice to leave my room and still not smell smoke, anywhere in the hotel. I ate room service after getting back in quite late each night and it was delivered in a timely manner. The first night was quite good, the second OK and the third not so great! They must change chefs nightly! The third night I ordered halibut and instead received swordfish prepared as the halibut should have been. Not only was the fish completely different (like ordering prime rib but receiving pork chops), the preparation was suited to halibut, not swordfish! Even so, I was so glad I stayed here as the location, proximity to highways, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the staff were all so important, top-notch, and appreciated!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LauraK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

We spent one night at this hotel at the end of September. When we arrived the check-in clerk asked "2 double doubles?" to which we replied yes (there was my husband myself and two children aged 9 and 7 ) He then said "oh we don't have any you'll have to have a rollaway bed put in your room". When the bed arrived it was of a single size even though we had been assured it was a double size and would fit two. When we asked repeatedly for another room or another bed we were told "we are full tonight ". It took several phone calls down to reception and then a visit to them to finally get another rollaway bed put in the room. The Assistant Manager okayed this even though it was "against regulations to do so !!!!" We had been travelling for 21 hours at this point and just wanted to get the children and ourselves to bed but we couldn' t believe the attitude of the Assistant Manager and reported this to Royal Caribbean as soon as we embarked the ship - to date( 5 weeks later) we still have not had a reply to our complaint. the hotel blamed Royal Caribbean for only telling them they needed a room the day before but Royal Caribbean claim this is rubbish. My advice? make sure you get the InterContinental Bayside as it is much nicer and right next to where "Liberty of the Seas" is docked !! Incidentally this happened to another Scottish couple travelling with their 21 year old daughter. Even she ended up in a rollaway bed !!

  • Liked — The beds were comfy
  • Disliked — The fact that had there been a fire we would've struggled to get out quickly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianePerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

I would agree with most review points from a previous reviewer (jjstives). This is an excellent hotel with excellent facilities and service. The comparison with a Marriott in York, England I stayed in 2 weeks previously is very noticeable in service and hotel standards, with this being a far superior experience.

Location is also good for the Dadeland Mall a few blocks away, a restaurant at the end of the road on the way to the mall (Chilis) and the end stop of the Metrorail just next to the hotel. Getting to South Beach on Metrorail you go to Government Centre, then take the frequent S bus to South Beach. It did seem only just safe on a Sunday morning - so I would think of taking a taxi on an evening, if by yourself or if any doubts.

From MIA Airport, the price is about $40 including tip for a taxi.

I stayed here with business & I was told by locals that everywhere is reasonably safe within 20 minutes around. The closest-by area to avoid seemed to be Grand Avenue in Coconut Grove. But decide for yourselves on this.

Overall, a good stop, but mainly if you want to be out of town or are doing business here. Ask for a room facing the City if you can as the views were incredible.

  • Liked — Views of Ciity, Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
463 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

This is a typical high rise Marriott, reasonably new, very clean and well kept, in the Miami suburb near several large malls, including Dadeland Mall.

The hotel is quite a long way from both the airport and downtown Miami or the beach, so if you consider this as an airport overnight, be aware that it’s a double digit cab ride from MIA. If you are thinking "beach," look for a hotel on Miami Beach, or South Beach, but this one is no where near any beach.

The hotel adjoins the terminal stop of the Miami Metrorail, which is a reliable elevated rail that services communities along the SW Dade area, including Coral Gables, the University of Miami, and Coconut Grove. This is a cheap way to get around and adult fares at present (8/07) are $1.50.

A lot of new construction in the area is bringing in new restaurants and small businesses, so it’s a high growth area, but seems safe to walk at night to and from the hotel and the mall. A Publix supermarket is next door as well.

Check in was outstanding…..the fastest and most efficient I think I have ever seen. No waiting, no delay. They had my reservation and I was on the way to my room in less than five minutes after coming in the door. I booked through Marriott's telephone reservation service and still find this more efficient than going on line because the operators can tell me a lot more than the web site will.

The room I had was not on the concierge floor, but on 21, two floors below, with concierge access. This was fine and seemed less noisy than the 22 and 23 floors, which had direct access to the concierge lounge on 23.

As a personal observation, I would like to see Marriott restrict concierge access to people over 18, (after all, they are serving/selling alcohol), as this is one of many concierge lounges I have visited where the kids more or less take over the place as a TV and food area, making it very hard to do any business work or just relax. I find it interesting that Marriott places no restrictions on children, but prohibits pets.

Room layout was super, with a well appointed king. The large, wall mounted, flat screen TV was the first I have found in a hotel room. A direct internet connection terminal on the work desk had wireless keyboard and flat panel screen…when it worked. Direct, plug in internet access, if you have your own laptop, was a flat $10 a day, noon to noon. I did not use that option because the desktop worked for most of the three days I was there.
Dressing area with a cotton robe and plenty of toiletries and clean, heavy towels, plus a toilet/shower room were well kept and clean.

Another nice amenity was an espresso machine on the dresser that allows you to make one or more cups of pretty good coffee as you want it. There was a conventional coffee maker in the cabinet as well.

I did not use any food services, but the lobby lounge was large and seemed to be doing a good, lively business. Overnight parking is $17. Valet service was courteous and efficient.

This was off-season and the single room rate was slightly under $200, which makes it a bargain these days for this level of comfort, safety and facilities. On my personal Hotel Perfection Scale, I would rate this one at this time at 98% or slightly higher as I had no problems with anything during my stay.

  • Liked — Well run Marriott
  • Disliked — No problems at all.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Dadeland
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
0.4 mi away
Aloft Miami Dadeland
Aloft Miami Dadeland
#6 of 7 in Kendall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall)
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Dadeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Dadeland

Property: Miami Marriott Dadeland
Address: 9090 S Dadeland Blvd, Miami, FL 33156-7825
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Dadeland 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Marriott Dadeland boasts 302 beautiful guest rooms including our newly renovated art-inspired Design Guest Rooms, a welcoming lobby with complimentary internet access and 35,000 sq ft of newly renovated flexible meeting space. Located in the heart of South Miami, we are minutes away from Downtown Miami and South Beach. Our hotel is steps away to Dadeland Mall, restaurants and activities. Located near the Historical Coral Gables, Sunset Place Shops, The Falls and Merrick Park, makes us an extraordinary shopping destination. We are a short driving distance to Baptist & South Miami Hospitals, Univ. of Miami and Florida International University. The Metro Rail station adjacent to the hotel provides ease of transportation to the Miami Airport and much more. International cuisine can be enjoyed at Whitney's Restaurant opened for breakfast and lunch. Looking to relax after a long day, unwind in the Le Mirage Lounge or sit poolside overlooking the sites of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Miami Marriott Dadeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Dadeland Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing