We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Near Business District Dadeland Long way from Beaches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Dadeland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miami Marriott Dadeland
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Near Business District Dadeland Long way from Beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very clean and Comfortable & Quiet Hotel located 3 blocks from Dadeland Mall. Rocco's Pizza Lounge next door is new wood fired Pizza Place that is as good as it gets. Great High Def TV and WIFI that was "fast enough" and free, Meeting spaces were excellent. Meeting food (Breakfast & Lunch) were slightly less than acceptable, especially for Miami. The hotel lobby is located on a Metro Rail stop which will be a bonus for some. I never heard the train just saw it arrive every few minutes, Pool is on 3rd floor and great for sun bathers. This part of Miami Dadeland is 30 minutes South and way West of the beaches so better be coming here for a specific reason. Getting anywhere (including airport) from this hotel requires getting on a very crowded interstate. The hotel appears modern but is an older part of town. Why meet in Miami and never see the the Ocean or Beaches? There are a lot better airports to congregate to.

Room Tip: All rooms have great View. Why not go for a concierge level .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    199
    114
    33
    18
See reviews for
100
69
37
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well located property and good services. Metro Rail right outside the door to take you downtown or even the airport if you are adventuresome. However, their restaurant, Whitneys leave much to be desired. Food at dinner is poor; therefore, I would stay away from all meals there. A great deli is located within walking distance, lots of stores and restaurants to choose from and Dadeland Mall is across the street.

Room Tip: All rooms are good on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADRIENNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for a night as I was travelling from New York and had to join work in Miami Port. The Hotel is very plush and elegant as you approach it and is spread over a huge complex of buildings in Dadeland Boulevard. The Marriot Courtyard is just opposite the Hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodative. The front desk team went out of the way to help me out. i was travelling from India and my Apple chargere did not work because of the socket in US. The Front Desk Representative went out of the way and offered me her own Apple chargere and told me I could keep it to charge my Ipad and give it back to her when I check Out! Wow!

The Dinner was disappointing as they did not have any options except for rice and some meats and stew and desserts in the buffet. The breakfast however was very good and it really made my day as I was in for a long day at work.
The rooms are nice but generally look old and definitely are in need of a little bit of fresh paint and general upkeep. All the staff that I met were excellent and accomodating in every aspect and I did have a great sleep. The beds are comfortable and there is no disturbance.

There is a Publix Store just right across and it was very helpful for some forgotten and last minute shopping.
The views from my floor were great and I could work in peace the night before. Had a nice time and will definitely check in again.
Thank you to the team for making the stay especially memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALL OVER THE WORLD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The mall is located just off of US1, right by the Dadeland Shopping mall. The mall is a five minute stroll away.

This hotel is a standard Marriott.... unfortunately a standard Marriott from 1998. This was my first stay at this location, booked through my company. I have stayed many times at the Marriott Biscayne Bay and this hotel is just how the Marriott Biscayne Bay was BEFORE refurbishment.

The staff were very polite and helpful, but the hotel just has no soul. The bar and restaurant were just empty spaces. The restaurant on site seemed to only be frequented by people on business who had a meal plan booked through their companies. It is not somewhere that I would book and pay to eat.

The decor was outdated. Very 1990's Marriott. Not in any way contemporary. The carpets were frayed and there was obvious signs that there had been "make do" repairs to my room.

The room was clean enough, the public areas needed vacumming.

Internet was included in my room rate and the service was pretty fast.

I just don't know WHY anyone would stay here. The location is not near any tourist spots and it is too far from the airport to be useful for an airport stopover. Everyone I saw in the hotel seemed to be a part of a group that was having a conference on site, or Cruise Ship and Airline Crew Members overnighting.

The hotel needs to be bought up to date ASAP.

I would never choose to stay here. The hotel is just "Meh", the location is not appealing.... if you are tending to business nearby, maybe it would be OK, but there is also a Marriott Courtyard right across the street which looks a little more contemporary,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I reserved a concierge level room, which was considerably more expensive, thinking that the concierge lounge would provide us with the amenities usually found in such places. We were very disappointed. Although the lack of ANY services the first day and evening (Saturday) was somewhat compensated for by a voucher for breakfast, the Sunday evening spread was pitiful. The food was sparse and cheap, and not even a glass of wine offered. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was given a front desk assistant Manager who exhibited attitude. Although she comped us hors d'oeuvres and a glass of wine through room service, her attitude made the experience a negative one.

The room was small, dated and the flat screen TV didn't swivel, and could only be comfortably watched from the bed. The tub is very small (Hampton Inn-sized) and the towels are adequate- not plush. The pillows and bedding were great, as was the bed (very comfortable). The climate control was good, as well.

The Sunday brunch in the restaurant was not good (it used to be one of the best in Miami) and they gave me real coffee when I had asked for decaf, which made me very physically uncomfortable.

Our main beef with the hotel is the cheap approach to the concierge level of service and the attitude of management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

1. While the staff seems to try very hard, they seem to be understaffed. Phone calls to front desk ringing 20 times before being answered - not the definition of responsive service.
2. While the phone in the room has buttons marked for various purposes (room service, wake up call), they don't work. Again, you pretty much dial "0" for most anything.
3. Our room was tired. Lots of scuffs, mirror behind the sink clearly had suffered water damage, beds could use new mattresses.
4. Housekeeping - a pin on the floor can't be vacuumed up? Lucky we found it before stepping on it.
5. Heating/cooling - thermostat needed to be replaced - until then, we wore sweatshirts even though the unit said 78 degrees.
6. TV - I hope it simply needs a new battery - difficult to get a response.

I travel nearly every week and tend to utilize Marriott and Hilton properties. Won't try this one again, though.

Room Tip: Use this hotel if you are not paying for it yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellngcircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if there is a reason to stay here other than business, as Dadeland doesn't seem to be a tourist destination. This Marriott is a fine business hotel. Very comfortable, nice concierge level lounge. The quality of the room service food left a bit to be desired - not sure how you cook terryiaki chicken too dry - but I wasn't expecting a culinary masterpiece. My room was large with a good view. The pool area looked nice, unfortunately I didn't have the time to visit it. I'd stay again when in town on business.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Dadeland
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
0.4 mi away
Miami Dadeland Hotel
Miami Dadeland Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kendall
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Coral Gables
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Dadeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Dadeland

Property: Miami Marriott Dadeland
Address: 9090 S Dadeland Blvd, Miami, FL 33156-7825
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Dadeland 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Miami Marriott Dadeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Dadeland Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing