We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay out of the club level”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay out of the club level”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We chose the Epic hotel based on trip advisors reviews. We have been to South beach and wanted a different location just before our cruise. We had three nights water view club level. Amazing staff, amazing view and a good location. The one miss was the club level experience. The staff in the club level went out of their way to make it enjoyable....with what they had to work with. Always behind the eight ball....always rushed and under staffed. Never on time setting up the meal presentations. The food ??? If you have stayed at Ritz Carlton club level.......not even close. We paid extra for the club experience and was truly let down. I feel if we had not been in the club level the hotel would of been perfect. Get this figured out quickly and perfect score!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russdorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
russdorth:
Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us about your experience.
Thank you also for mentioning the amazing staff.
We will take a look at the opportunities you encountered in the club lounge and remedy immediately.
We look forward to your return and a perfect score.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,219
    671
    203
    103
    71
See reviews for
644
1,215
151
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed at the Epic while attending a conference. The rooms are decorated in a simple, modern style and are lovely. Mine (on the 27th floor) had a generously sized balcony with a beautiful view of the bay and the hotel's pools below. Improving on a few "little things" would take a good hotel to great: put a coffee maker in the room; audit the room before a guest checks in--mine was missing a luggage rack and I had to ask them to bring one; when someone orders a $45 room service dinner, don't make them beg for a glass of ice water, then bring them a tiny 4 oz. bottle of water; when you know your hotel is sold out, hire enough valets so the place isn't chaos, with your guests' cars sitting there completely unattended with the keys in and cars running (when I brought this to the manager's attention, he took care of it immediately and comped my parking charge, which I appreciated); perhaps most importantly, when a guest smokes near someone else who is eating in your restaurant, in violation of Miami's anti-smoking ordinance, MAKE THEM STOP.

This really is a lovely hotel and it would be very easy to fix these things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomFrancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
DomFrancon:
Thank you for taking a few moments to denote your experience with us.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the modern style of our property.
We will follow up on the opportunities of your stay immediately regarding an in room coffee maker (available upon request), luggage rack, water not served with your In Room Dining meal, our valet service and have all remedied immediately.
We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I was in Epic for 4 days when I was traveling back from New York. The hotel is very clean and well organized. I got a room on 30th floor, what allowed me to get to the Club Lounge, where they have a simple but nice breakfast, nice treats during the day and some fresh fruits after 09:00 pm.
The view from my room was not so nice as I was facing the city, but the noise isolation in my room was very good, making it a very silent room.
The gym is well equipped also and works 24 hours, what was important for me as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy_Abud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Levy_Abud:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your very nice contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning that the hotel is clean, well organized and that you enjoyed your stay on the club lounge level. We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed in a corner suite on the club level. The suite was fabulous, decorated in a tasteful minimalist modern fashion. Its main balcony overlooked the Miami river estuary and Biscayne bay. There was always some activity on the water to capture your attention.

Without exception, the hotel staff were warmly friendly and eager to do our bidding. The club lounge supplied five separate feedings each day, which were ample to provide breakfast and a light lunch. The open bar was kept well-stocked evenings with premium brands such as Hennesy cognac and Glynfiddich whiskey.

We ate several times at the Area 31 restaurant in the hotel. The food was tasty and nicely presented, but we felt the menu was way too heavy on fish and lacking on other entrees. The Marriott across the street and the Hyatt a block away had decent restaurants within easy walking distance.

One major problem arose: When I initially called to make our reservation, the person at the Kimpton reservation center refused to honor the "3rd day free" promotion advertised on the hotel's web site, and I had to email the Epic's manager to get that rate. Then, the person making the actual reservation asked for my credit card number via unsecured email. I declined, attempted to call her without success and finally completed the reservation with the Eic's front desk staff. Weeks later, I called to add a room for guests of ours, and discovered that our reservation had been cancelled! Fortunately, a very pleasant manager at the reservations center reinstated the reservation and all went well afterwards.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Epic and are making plans to return. A suggestion for the hotel, though: Put in a sundries shop (magazines, candy, etc) . Currently there is none, and the only alternative is to walk to a nearby hotel for what you need.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khaug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
khaug1:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the club level and the employees were friendly and eager to provide the service you expect. Thank you also for your suggestions regarding the sundry outlet and we will further review your reservations opportunities for a more seamless experience. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

From start to finish, my stay at the Epic was nothing less than sensational! Check-in was friendly and super fast. From the time we pulled up in a cab, we were poolside in about 20 minutes. It would have been faster if I wasn't busy gawking at the spectacular views from the balcony when we got in the room.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. Rooms are immaculate and huge. The balcony is a great perk. The entire staff was incredible. We had most dealings with the pool staff, who were amazing. They could not do enough for you and were extremely pleasant. Special mention must be made of Brooke and Yuki. They greeted us every morning like we were family. They absolutely went the extra step in providing outstanding customer service.

Food offerings were diverse and good. We tried room service, pool menu and Area 31. All were very good and rather reasonably priced. There was enough diversity that in staying there for 4 days we were able to find several new options to try.

The surrounding neighborhood doesn't offer much but with a place like this, there is no reason to really ever leave the property.

The crowd was mixed, but all seemed to co-exist perfectly. Families, singles, couples, old, young, etc., etc.

The entire vibe of this place was just perfect for what I was looking for - relaxation in luxurious accommodations. I got home last night and already miss the place. I'm already looking forward to my return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkgesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
mkgesq:
Thank you for taking a few moments of your day to post your experience with us.
Thank you for praising the team and the accommodations.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We picked the Epic because of its #1 rating, and we weren't disappointed in the least. We found the hotel staff very pleasant, the hotel had a cool design vibe. They gave us an upgrade. The bath was amazing with separate shower and bath, and separate commode room. We loved the sliding doors and spaciousness. At breakfast, Juan was welcoming each day of our stay. Jose the manager was a great host. Traveled with husband and young adult daughter. Also the location was convenient although the parking was expensive. In and out valet was fast and courteous; there was no rush & we had time to arrange our car for nature excursions to Everglades, beach and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
olive11:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
Thank you also for mentioning a few of our employees by name.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

My family took a little extended vacation to Miami last month and the Epic was a fantastic choice. Located more in the business district, the hotel's style, ambiance and dedication to service charmed us all! Its certainly the first time I've stayed in a hotel and remembered the name of the houskeeper, Elizabeth, who was fantastic every morning. The hotel itself is extremely stylish and clean and the rooms were impeccable. The area surrounding the hotel is probably not the best area in which to go out at night but the nearby Bayfront Park had interesting shopping... The Miami Heat arena is within a 10-15 minute walking distance too so not too bad. This location is definitely not anywhere near South Beach so people expecting a nearby beach are SOL. It was 37 degrees when we were there so that wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillv1701h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
jillv1701h:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your stunning contribution.
We are so happy to hear that you remembered the name of your room attendant Elizabeth.
That is truly amazing. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing