We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great view, great service, lovely decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
washington state
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, great service, lovely decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is a beautriful new hotel in a very modern building and it seems they were still working out some engineering kinks. We loved our 1 bedroom suite with two awesome balconies although I found the angle of the TV in the bedroom to be difficult to watch from bed. We had problems with the toilet 3 mornings in a row and trouble with a/c the 3rd night which meant we slept (sort of) warm and sweaty and with the windows open, the outside noise was irritating. The next morning when I asked to be switched to another room and they showed no similar rooms available, they put us into the presidential suite, which was out of this world. No delay, no fuss, no attitude. Great service was provided and we left very happy campers. More than I can say for our experience in Orlando afterwards, but that's another story. The restaurant was very good. The polenta is to die for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank migobeachnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
migobeachnow:
Wow, thank you for taking the time to contribute such an excellent contribution. I apologize for all the opportunities which you encountered during the beginning of your stay, we will rectify immediately. I must say that is the most amazing opportunity guest recovery story I have heard. We are so happy that you mentioned our great service and left happy. We look forward to your return visit with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    576
    174
    85
    56
See reviews for
569
1,087
132
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Lucia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I decided to treat my wife to a weekend Honeymoon. Just me and her, no kids or childish venues to be thought of, seen or navigated. The Epic hotel was a perfect fit for these expectations. Per my wife, "The time spent away felt like when we were dating without kids to consider."

My with and I live in Broward County, which is 30 minutes from Miami. So, i won't mention the airports, shuttle service, etc.

However, I can tell you about our arrival greeting to our subsequent departure. Though, if we could afforded it we probably wouldn't leave.

On to the review. . .
We booked the hotel one week in advance and still obtained a decent rate. I called in advance and confirm that no conventions we scheduled there, which is important if you want some peace, relaxation and no hustle and bustle. Our dates chosen were perfect.

Upon check-in we were received by Albert, my Domenican brother from another mother. He took total care of us. Reuben was great too. Up to our room we went but we were put in a room without a view. However, with two rings to the front desk we were moved to room 2701. What an awesome view and space! My wife and I were blown away.

Little things we noticed, toilet door lock was loose and door bell face plate fell off. Even so, the ammenities were great. I know I sound picky but this is a review right?

At 6pm they have a wine and cheese event on the 16th floor. We enjoyed some fabulous wine and returned to our room to clean up for dinner. The bathroom accomodations are awesome. Just an fyi. . . the shower and tub are great for two adults. . .

We did not eat at Area 51 or (31) something like that. Instead we went to EOS, located in the ViceRoy hotel (8 minutes away). We walked there which was cool because it felt like you were in New York. There are alot of restaurants in the area so transportation is not necessary and yes we did feel safe walking around in the area at night.

EOS was great. Totally awesome food, portion sizes and food quality. The menu prices are appropriate for the venue and ambience. We would definitely go back.

Walking back was a little chillie, so carry a scarf or shaul for the wife.

The next day we decided to stay an extra couple of nights. Yes, we liked it that much.

I could say more but I think you get the picture. The Epic hotel is a great location for a couple's get away weekend.

PS: I forgot to say this. . . If you extend your stay make sure the front desk advises the cleaning people so they do disturb you by accident. Parking is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
SWD29:
Thank you for taking the time to write an exceptional contribution. Thank you also, for praising Alberto & Reuben for their exception service. We will assure they are recognized.
We are the ideal spot for a couples get away; we look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I chose the Epic in Miami after reading several reviews in your site. Some said it was the best hotel they had ever stayed in their lives. Quite a statement. Decided to check it out and frankly, test Tripadvisor reviewers as well.
The result was extremely satifying.
What Kimpton did with the Epic is unique!
Great feeling upon arrival, a new format that is very refreshing.
The right price and the right attitude towards how they charge. Very correct and appreciated.
Above all, however, this hotel offers service. Excellent service.
Everyone treated us (and people around us) with the correct measure of familiarity and distance people look for in hotels.
People like Gene, Bruno, Jacqueline and others made the difference.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Miami after this experience.
I truly hope they keep it up in the future.

Congratulations

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank From_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
From_Rio:
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent contribution. Thank you also for mentioning a few of our employees by name; we will recognize Bruno, Gene & Jacky for providing service excellence. We look forward to your return stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at The Epic in March on our annual trip to the Sony Ericsson Tennis at Key Biscayne; it was half the price of the Ritz Carlton on Key Biscayne, and twice the fun! The rooms are gorgeous, large, wonderful beds, heavenly huge bathroom with 'window' to the room, fab balcony, lovely helpful staff, proper tea making facilities in room - as requested in advance as, being a Brit, I can't get up without a cup of English Breakfast - stunning pools. The only tiny downside was that, even though we had 3 girls in the room, they kept forgetting to stock up again for 3 and we had to call down every day for more tea/wine glasses/coffee mugs/towels etc. It was fantastic having free computer with internet in the room - absolutely wonderful, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
betseybooc:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glamorous and blissful contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning the employees and the great amenities. We are so happy we were able to accommodate a proper tea set up throughout your stay. We will revisit the proper stocking of your guest room for three female guests. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in March with a group of us, but would have loved to stay longer as usual! We visit about 4 times a year & alwasys enjoy. A very unique boutique property near pier and excellent location for walk over to Bayside. From check in to check out nothing but friendly service and attitudes with everything (and I mean everything catered for). Everything top notch. This place actually inspired our own furnishings/bathroom back home.
Love it and will be returning, actually July I think LOL

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Rob070:
Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome contribution. Thank you for mentioning the friendly service and friendly attitudes. We look forward to your return visit in July.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

we stayed at the Epic in Miami from April 20 thru the 25th... it had to be the best hotel we have ever stayed at!! hands down! My son and I travel extensively worldwide and this hotelhas everything ANYONE would want or need.. rooms are ultra plush, and they has ammenities that blow your mind! everything about this hotel is 5 star. from the time you pull up until you leave its 5 star/first class all the way. They are kid friendly in everyway, close to EVERYTHING! I do suggest you get the club level with Mean Gene and Blondie as your concierges, they will HOOK YOU UP! anything you want or could imagine they can get for you and FAST! They are the friendliest people from the maids to the valets to the front desk clerks!! we were booked to go to Key west for 2 nights, then go home, but we enjoyed the epic so much that we stayed one night in key west and headed back to the Epic for our last night!! if you ever go to Miami... stay at the EPIC,,, it will be a stay that you will never forget!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
sammyt2:
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing contribution. Thank you also for mentioning the excellent service; we will be sure to recognize the club level team and mean Gene. We look forward to your return stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed in the Epic recently while in town for the Sony Ericsson Hotel tennis tourney in Key Biscayne. The Epic exceeded all our expectations. Quite frankly, this might be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in.

The room was wonderfully appointed. The bed (we had a king) was very comfortable with high thread count sheets. The bathroom was huge and probably the biggest of any hotel I have ever stayed. A nice touch were his and hers wash basin's. A lot of nice touches in the room, including a mini PC terminal that allowed us free interest access. The room included a balcony with a nice view of the bay. We tried the pool one day and it was quite nice and was heated. Service at the front desk was attentive and efficient.

I would add the restaurant in the hotel, Area 31, was mindblowingly good. If you stay here you are missing something if you don't try this restaurant. They offer some nice outdoor dining.

If there is a downside to the Epic is its not particularly well located in terms of walking to anything and is essentially in a business area. It is not difficult to get a cab out front. Was about a 15 minute cab ride to get to South Beach. If you are expecting a hotel in a walking neighborhood this is not your hotel. Nonetheless the amenities of this hotel are second to none.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjohns7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
mjohns7861:
Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. Thank you for all the accolades. We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing