We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Second Stay, but Valet Needs Improving!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bermuda
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Second Stay, but Valet Needs Improving!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the second year in a row for New Years. The hotel service as always was amazing! We arrived very early in the morning, well before check in, and despite this our room was ready within the hour. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and offer a very scenic view of the Biscayne Bay. Last year we did experience a slight hiccup with the shower temperature. Unfortunately, we were obviously showering at a time when many others were as well as the water temperature was less than desirable (I like a steaming hot water). It appeared this was also the case this year so we decided to aim to get up earlier in the morning and thankfully did not experience this problem at this time. We rang in the New Year on our balcony and thoroughly enjoyed the music being played at a party around the pool. The fireworks display was also amazing for a second year in a row! The only two negatives about our stay this year were that we could often here our neighbors in the rooms next to ours talking or when they had their TV on. We did not experience this last year and often heard it from both sides of the wall. Overall it was not a total irritant as we spent a great deal of time outside of the hotel room but at times when we were there, it was slightly annoying. Also, the valet service at the hotel is in need of DIRE improvements. While the valets are very friendly, they take forever to retrieve your car. I know that there are a lot of people staying at the hotel and believe me, I don't expect my car within seconds, but a 20+ minute daily wait can get quite tedious!! I know these valets work extremely hard but it is obvious that there is a breakdown in efficiency somewhere. If this could have been amended our stay would have been close to perfect. We would like to return here again this year so hopefully they've managed to change this by then!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Foodie788
Thanks so much for your review and for having stayed with us over New Year's two years in a row. It's great to hear you had a good time with us and are considering your third stay with us!
When it comes to our Valet, I do understand your point. Trust me, we are doing everything in our power to speed up the car delivery, however with the New Year's business we did have some challenges due to the extremely high volume which I cannot deny.
We look forward to having you back, send me a quick note prior to your visit, so I can personally ensure that your loyalty will not go unnoticed.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    587
    177
    89
    60
See reviews for
579
1,100
135
647
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This review is biased because I stay at the EPIC Kimpton in Miami all the time, in fact whenever I am in Miami. I have stayed at many different hotels in Miami, and I keep coming back to the EPIC. The Mandarin Oriental in Miami is also excellent but almost always considerably more expensive. I have done the rounds in Miami, so believe me you will struggle to beat the EPIC. There are some issues like the hotel getting so popular the valet drop off hotel arrival area is turning into a circus and I have suffered very poor service (previous visit) in the understaffed bar area, but these are not (yet) deal breakers and I will be back at the EPIC again next week!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Stephen H
Thanks you so much for your splendid review and for being one of our regulars.
Being your winning hotel in Miami is a great compliment and makes us all very proud.
I promise you, we will continue to deliver.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We came in between Christmas and New Years, the hotel was very full but even at capacity the staff was very professional, friendly and upbeat. Christoper was very accomodating and charming. We had 3 rooms for our family and all experienced a wonderful time. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydrew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Haydrew2
Thanks for sharing your experience. I loved your comment that our staff was very professional, friendly and upbeat. Our staff genuinly cares as much for our guests as we care for them.
I am really happy you felt this way.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Epic Hotel over the holidays. Room and amenities were terrific, and all the staff were very friendly. Special thanks to Zachary who checked us in and provided great information for our stay. I would definitely stay at the Epic again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Justin L
Thanks for your great review and for having stayed with us over the holidays. Trust me Zachary, one of our managers at the Front Office was happy to be recognized.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

In classic Kimpton fashion, the Epic is a luxury, modern hotel with exceptional customer service! After being delayed in Miami for several days due to snow storms in Chicago, I chose the Epic through a flash sale website. Not only was I impressed with the stylish rooms, great location and water views, but also the helpfulness of Tara and Malik at the from desk when I needed to extend my stay by several days. This is definitely one of the premier properties in downtown Miami!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CWmsWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
CWmsWow
Thanks a lot for this awesome review. Sometimes in life the unforeseen brings out the best!
I am thrilled you found us through a flash sale and enjoyed your stay with us so much.
"Customer service and class" is what EPIC is all about. Our great staff members like Malik and Tara do personally care about each one of our guests and truly deserve the recognition you gave them.
Prior to your next trip, check us out at Kimptonhotels.com, we certainly can't wait to have you back.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I traveled there and was it very amazing the new year!!! Zuma is inside the hotel that is very amazing!!! Thanks Epic!!!!! This trip was amazing!!! Every night i was at Zuma!!! Very good restuarant!!! I play ps4 on the tv and was amazing!!!! Very thank you!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Pedro S
Thanks for your review and for having stayed with us over New Year! Great to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came down for a "girls' weekend" birthday celebration and had an amazing time. My friend, the birthday girl was delighted to see a personalized birthday cookie with fresh strawberry in the room for our arrival, We stayed on the club level and the view from there was phenomenal. Oscar, the concierge helped to make our experience a true celebration. We had dinner in Zuma which was nice, however not quite as fabulous as I had hoped. (Don't bother trying to reserve on Open Table- it would always appear to be booked. The hotel concierge was able to secure reservations for us.)
In the morning, I was expecting a continental breakfast in the club lounge. It was continental PLUS! The fruit platter was exceptional as was the smoked salmon.
It was a fantastic stay and I hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Stay on the club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guestess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Guestess
Wonderful review, thanks a lot for sharing. I am excited you got to experience our club level service for your special birthday girls weekend. Personalized amenities on special occasions is what EPIC is all about. By the way Oscar says " Hi", he is eager to create the next Kimpton moment for you!
EPIC wishes, come back soon / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing