We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not so EPIC!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so EPIC!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to my stay here since I had read so many good reviews. Unfortunately I was disappointed!
Failed to accommodate us in the following:
1. Checked in at 5pm -luggage was finally brought up after 9pm!!
2. Small fridge request - also brought in after 9pm!!
3. Check out bill was inaccurate - fortunately no problems correcting it.

We dropped bags off at noon because we had refrigerated items (breast milk) bags were not seen again until past 9pm!! Fortunately we had no were to go, but it was a huge inconvenience because there was a breast pump in there that needed to be used urgently. I felt that we could of been treated with better customer service. I'm usually not a complainer but these issues were very disappointing to me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia80jacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
claudia80jacinto
Thanks you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about your inconveniences and like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your service expectations. We hope you still would consider returning to our hotel. We would love to have you back as our guests.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    613
    178
    91
    60
See reviews for
595
1,127
140
669
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the EPIC Kimpton or Mandarin Oriental when I am in Miami. And once again, all good at the EPIC

Great Miami views, good ambience, staff are good. Location is great for Brickell area or further afield.

Room service and food is good. So what else?? Well, Friday night in the bar at Area 31 on the 16th floor is a circus. Great music and very trendy crowd, but come on put some more bar staff on shift. Waiting 20 minutes to get a drink rivals the worst London pub on a Friday night after work. Not enough staff and those at the bar picked and chose who got served on not. It was great that the place was busy and kicking, but service was sad and that needs to improve

But overall, besides this disappointment, the EPIC is one of your two top choices in Miami and in a competitive market go for your best deal

I will stay at the EPIC again, hopefully they get some more bar staff hired in the meantime

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Stephen H
Thanks for your candid feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to EPIC and are happy to welcome you back each time you are visiting Miami. Thanks for sharing your comments regarding our bar service. We will ensure, next time you are our guest that you will receive the attentive service you expect from us. We are happy EPIC is one of your favorite hotels in Miami and you enjoy our location, rooms and friendly staff.
We are looking forward to your return.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was booking a last minute over-night getaway for our 5 year anniversary. I found this place and reviewed the pictures, looked clean so I booked. The price seemed a bit high...but it was worth it!

We arrived at 7pm after crazy traffic and the location is walking distance from a ton of nice restaurants and cafes. They gave us 2 vouchers for wine (that we missed earlier I guess) and 2 vouchers for continental breakfast.

The hotel was very new and chic- super clean and had anything you wanted at your finger tips.
The ROOM...was sooo nice. Updated and clean- they upgraded us to a "water view" and it was gorgeous on the huge balcony. They also left us a bottle of nice champagne (delicious) upon entering the room and a note wishing us a happy anniversary :)

The next morning we went to enjoy our breakfast- for $7 more per person it included "hot items" which was well worth it. Everything was yummy and the breakfast room was open with nice views of the city.

Even though we were there only one night it made a lasting impression- we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Megan O
Thanks for your awesome feedback. We are happy you selected EPIC to celebrate your anniversary and our staff took good care of you. We are glad you felt comfy in our modern rooms with stunning views and started your day with an indulgenced breakfast at our signature restaurant AREA31.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business at the recommendation of work colleagues. Nice greeting at the front desk after I escaped the crowd that surrounded my cab trying to get in before I got out!

Had a great room on the 29th floor. The balcony overlooked the waterway and the view was lovely. Even though the room was 13 floors above the outside bar I still heard the boom boom beat of the music.

Nice bathroom with quality amenities. When I arrived at my room there was a discarded room service tray in the hall. The tray was still there when I checked out the following day which was very unappealing. On check out I had to ask the front desk to remove the tray.

Overall, a very nice hotel, good location and very reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
happytraveler1528
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay at EPIC. Please allow us to apologize for the trays left in the hallway and for being disturbed by the music from our outside rooftop bar at AREA31. However, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a very friendly staff and desk clerk. Got room on the 25th floor with an outstanding view. Hotel was recently updated with a modern chic flare. Tons of restaurants and bars are walking distance from the hotel. Port of Miami is only about 2 miles away ($12 cab ride). Great location when heading out on a cruise ship. Internet was included in the room. Pool was on the 15th floor and was mostly adults, but some kids were there playing too. Our room was very quiet all night despite there being a wedding party on our floor. Concierge had a cab waiting to take us to the port in the morning despite there being restrictions because of the triathlon being in town. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better for the view, but you may have to wait for the elevator a while. I would als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Jim K
Thanks for sharing such nice comments. We are happy you selected EPIC for your stay in Miami. We are conveniently located, close to local restaurants, shops and the port of Miami – ideal for guests coming from or going on a cruise. We hope you will be our guest again when returning to Miami. We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about my time here and this hotel. What a great staff. Extremely helpful. At check in Aubrey was a bright ray of sunshine on a blustery day. She seemed to look after us all day. The gym was excellent. Dinner at Zuma was also great.

I'll definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Shelly D
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. Glad you enjoyed Exhale spa and restaurant ZUMA.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcharlesil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We were so disappointed in our stay. We requested a king bed 30 days before our arrival but when we arrived, no king bed available. Reported blaring loud tv in adjoining room to front desk but no action taken to reduce noise at 11:30 PM. Room conditions and amenities were substandard for this type of property. Too many other quality hotels to select from so skip this place!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ronharczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
ronharczak
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are saddened to read your comments and like to apologize for the inconvenience your experienced by not receiving the bed type as you had requested and by being disturbed by noises from the neighboring room. We hope you will be giving us another chance, so we can provide you with the services you deserve as our guest.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing