We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay on 29th floor”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #19 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed on the floor that allowed full access to the concierge lounge, which offered light tapas-style meals 5 times a day (hot breakfast, lunch, mid-day snack, hot dinner and evening dessert), along with a full open bar with premium brands. If you are a light eater, you could eat here without having to pay to go to any restaurants, which is tough, given the great options in Miami. The concierges were friendly and helpful, to the point of having a personalized list of weekly activities and restaurants, created based on feedback from other guests. Our suite had a wonderful view of the water and skyline. The hotel is located within a 12-minute cab ride to South Beach, and a 15-minute ride from the airport. It was a short walk to the local touristy market, as well as to the Brickell area, which we were told is a trendy option for locals who do not want the South Beach experience. There are also café style restaurants within 5 blocks walking distance, and without having to wait for the draw bridge over the waterways. We were also very happy to see that there was a scale in the bathroom; the only other place we ever saw this was the Trump penthouse in Las Vegas and the Rosewood in Vancouver. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room on the concierge level.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

skytre
Thanks for your excellent review. We are glad you selected our club floor for your stay at EPIC and enjoyed the personalized service provided to you and our delicious selections, from a healthy start breakfast to hors d’oeuvre with a local twist and our sweet dream deserts. EPIC’s location is perfect to explore shops, restaurants and sights.
We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again. Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,307)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton EPIC Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 3,308 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

As part of the local Arts Center we were invited to attend a special event at the hotel. This was on a Wednesday night and since we had to go to a concert in Miami Beach on Friday, we decided to stay at the hotel Wednesday through Saturday. What a treat. It was a little hard to find (Biscayne Blvd Way was not in our GPS) we were delighted with the place and service. One of the pools was under renovation, but unless you looked over the bushes they brought in to cover it you would not have notices. One of the highlights was Oscar and Adrian at the pool. They treated us like royalty, always checking on us and filling our glass with cold ice water. The only draw back which is why I did not give an excellent review was the valet. On two occasions, even after calling down 10 minutes in advance (like they asked us to) we still had to wait 20 minutes for our car.
If you can plan in the car delay, come to the Epic and have an epic experience. Oh by the way a must is Zuma Restaurant on the 1st floor!

Room Tip: As for higher floors with the bay view, beautiful at night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Oscar R
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the delay with your car. EPIC is a very happening place, with lots of visitors for our signature restaurant AREA31 as well as ZUMA. Just give us 20min notice and your car will be waiting for you. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay and the service provided by Oscar and Adrian at our pool deck was very attentive and memorable.
We hope you will be our guest again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent 3 different times at this hotel from May 2013 -Sept 2013 ... Celebrated my birthday here with great loving friends and Tion my friends boxer mix... Highly recommend this hotel and the views towards Miami Beach are amazing. Huge Balcony and Breakfast was amazing. Make sure you make early reservations for Zuma you can't miss it. Sit out on the water . I will return again to this great wonderful hotel and staff.. I give it 5 stars.
I had an amazing massage many times on my stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Larry K
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your review from your recent stay. We are happy to hear that each time you and Tion visit you have a wonderful time. Glad you celebrated your birthday ‘epic-style’.
We appreciate you are recommending us to other travelers. Please come back soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My name is Artin, a current inner circle member with the Kimpton group and this review is long overdue as I have stayed at The Epic countless times in the last two years, mostly for business trips but at times taking my family and loved ones.....

While staying at numerous Kimpton hotels across the country, The Epic is like no other. Their customer service, attention to detail (customer needs) and overall feel of the hotel is amazing. They go above and beyond to make you feel like your appreciated and I can't say that often for most if not all Miami based hotels. Their rooms are always clean, beautiful views in each direction and if your lucky enough to get upgraded which they kindly always do! well, your in for a treat.

Their staff is extremely friendly and always looking to make your stay pleasant. I've had the privilege of getting to know a few of them due to my extensive stays there for business and I have nothing but praise.

In particular I would like to point out a specific individual, Yoli Troncoso Spaulding. She works at the Epic hotel as a coordinator of sorts. I had the privilege of meeting her at the 5pm free wine hours at the Epic some time ago. She is what the Epic is all about! Her willingness to make my stays pleasant and help with any assistance needed on shorts notice is priceless. Even with other Kimpton property stays or anytime I've had emergencies or last minute requests for stays and needed information about other hotels, she's been a phone call away. I could go on and on about her willingness to make me happy with the Epic, but truth be told I could say the same about everything and everyone at the Epic.

I LOVE this place!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My name is Artin, a current inner circle member with the Kimpton group and this review is long overdue as I have stayed at The Epic countless times in the last two years, mostly for business trips but at times taking my family and loved ones.....

While staying at numerous Kimpton hotels across the country, The Epic is like no other. Their customer service, attention to detail (customer needs) and overall feel of the hotel is amazing. They go above and beyond to make you feel like your appreciated and I can't say that often for most if not all Miami based hotels. Their rooms are always clean, beautiful views in each direction and if your lucky enough to get upgraded which they kindly always do! well, your in for a treat.

Their staff is extremely friendly and always looking to make your stay pleasant. I've had the privilege of getting to know a few of them due to my extensive stays there for business and I have nothing but praise.

In particular I would like to point out a specific individual, Yoli Troncoso Spaulding. She works at the Epic hotel as a coordinator of sorts. I had the privilege of meeting her at the 5pm free wine hours at the Epic some time ago. She is what the Epic is all about! Her willingness to make my stays pleasant and help with any assistance needed on shorts notice is priceless. Even with other Kimpton property stays or anytime I've had emergencies or last minute requests for stays and needed information about other hotels, she's been a phone call away. I could go on and on about her willingness to make me happy with the Epic, but truth be told I could say the same about everything and everyone at the Epic.

I LOVE this place!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Artin H
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful review. We are thrilled get such great feedback from such a savvy traveler and loyal Kimpton guest such as you are. It makes us proud to hear that you are impressed with our hotels amenities, comfy guest rooms and the attentive service, especially provided by Yoli. Your upgraded room is waiting for you. Are you ready to return?
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Simply put this is the best hotel I have ever stayed. Celebrated my 50th Birthday while renting the Waterview King Suite the weekend of 10/17-20/2013. Staff was great. The parking valets are slow, my advise is to call before you leave your hotel room so that your car will be ready.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side is where you will experience less noise. The suites are well worth the money...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcleve863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Jcleve863
Thanks for sharing your comments from you stay. We are sorry to hear about the valet service, but we are happy you enjoyed your overall stay and you had an unforgettable 50th birthday. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second time at Epic and this hotel would be flawless if not for one aspect - we waist to much time at the vallet waiting for the car to be brought. It usually took around 20 min of waiting outside, in the heat. Despite this, I just love this place in every aspect. Breakfast and happy hour are unbeatable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraCRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

SandraCRS
Thanks for taking the time and posting a review on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear about the parking experience but we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope you will continue to be our guest and keep on joining ‘the best happy hour in Miami’ at AREA31 on Thursday and Friday nights.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $198 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing