We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly EPIC in Service and Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly EPIC in Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

For my first visit to Miami, I didn't want to feel that I was getting ripped off by staying near South Beach, and I also really wanted to have access to a premium pool experience. Luckily I found that and much more at EPIC.

The lobby and common spaces are all impressive and ipeccable. The evening wine hour was great because you could take your glass outside the lobby and watch boats pass along the canal into the bay. The pool area is amazing and while you may need to shift to maximize your sun exposure, there were plenty of chairs to relax including some really fun pods that you could takeover when it wasn't too packed. The pool definitely will have a DJ on Saturdays that cranks up the volume, but it added to a fun youthful vibe. And since the pool is several stories up, there's typically a breeze that can keep you cool when your reasonably priced frozen drink and snacks don't do the job.

The room was great for sharing with friends since they have balcony's and very spacious bathrooms in addition to well equipped rooms. Since it's Miami, we didn't do much but sleep in the room, but the beds were super comfortable, and we never heard any noise from other rooms. Housekeeping did a great job daily and the elevators were fast. I loved even how en route you could take a break and get some flavored water and fruit any time day or night.

The only trade off to EPIC is being downtown/Brickell area instead of right in Miami Beach. The taxis to all fo the hot spots were never more than $20-30, so sharing with a few friends made it very afforable since we spent LESS THAN HALF per night of a lesser quality room. With the extra money we saved, we were able to really celebrate in style and make sure the party never came back to our room. Given the top quality service from the hotel always able to greet us and treat us well, it felt great overall to be there.

Room Tip: Higher floors and a view of the canal are great! There really isn't a bad view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upgrademe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
upgrademe81
Thanks for sharing such amazing comments from your stay. We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed everything EPIC has to offer. We are glad you had fun at our pool area, with a relaxing yet great vibe on weekends, as well as our hosted evening wine hour.
We hope you will be selecting our hotel again when visiting Miami. We are looking forward to your next stay.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    614
    178
    92
    60
See reviews for
595
1,128
141
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. Free tea & coffee in the mornings in the reception and free wine for one hour in the evening. Hotel very clean and beds very comfortable. Did not eat in the restaurants as expensive but plenty of eating places outside hotel and very reasonable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Bill G
Thanks for sharing your great comments. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay and especially appreciated our complimentary coffee and tea service as well as our hosted wine hour each evening.
We hope that your travels will bring you back to Miami and our hotel in the near future.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ive been meaning to write a review about this hotel for some time. Went in August as a 1 night getaway with the wife for our 1 year anniversary- and the Epic hotel has really set the bar high!
Free room upgrade, champaign and strawberries met us in our room, amazing restaurant set up from the concierge at Trullucks and the staff were fantastic! NOT AT ALL WHAT WE EXPECTED My wife and i honestly expected the pretentious southbeach hotel and instead got a really humble and warm staff. Even the bouncers at Zuma are Nice!!! In Miami ...thats not normal. you guys deserve the praises you are getting from other reviews.

On a side note- went last night to the restaurant on the 16th floor with friends from out of town and though the service was excellent, the food was a big let down. Wont be going back there again but we are looking forward to trying dinner at Zuma in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Frederick F
Thanks for taking the time and posting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding AREA31 restaurant. We recently finished our redo and the grand opening of AREA31 is scheduled end of October. We hope you will be returning very soon, to get pampered by our staff and to have another relaxing and fun weekend, or to celebrate your second wedding anniversary.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

There's nothing negative to write about this hotel. Everything was perfect.. the location, the luxurious decor, friendly/ welcoming staff, there were no complaints that I have. They have wonderful views and I loved the rooftop pool. The bartender made great drinks. If you are poolside I recommend "the flamingo". The reason for going on this trip was to celebrate my mothers 50th birthday and this was the perfect place to do it. We definitely are planning to go back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the residents pool side gives you a chance to see this building that constantly li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Kayla M
Thanks for your sharing your feedback. We are thrilled you selected EPIC for the celebration of your mothers 50th birthday and that you had an amazing and unforgettable time. It makes us happy you enjoyed EPIC's ambience and amenities, from our pool area to tour comfy and spacious room with stunning views.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a wonderful week at the hotel with the family, everything was perfect, like a paradise. But, the only thing wrong was the valet service. The only incident we had was with the valet manager, who's name is Wilson, from USA Parking, he had a very bad attitude with us, he hasn't good manners to deal with customers and said too many bad words.
I don't think he is the right person to be in the manager position, and I hope you do something, for that not to happen again, as the direccion of the hotel. Thanks and Sincerely Mrs. McQueen.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyc2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
wendyc2893
Thanks for posting your comments from your recent stay at EPIC. We are sorry to hear about the feedback regarding the valet manager and we like to apologize for the unprofessional behavior you encountered.
We are glad that your overall stay at EPIC was wonderful and everything was perfect.
We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I lived this hotel for 3 nights. it is great and attractive, especially the dinner has a best taste and quality. The service is friendly and timely, when I stayed there this September. It is a family trip with my parents and two kids (one is 3 years old and the other is 5 years old). For the next trip, definitely we will select this hotel again and enjoy a new trip

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Chao L
Thanks for sharing your wonderful comments. We are happy that you had an amazing and relaxing stay with your entire family.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please visit us again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

First time thirty years of traveling, this hotel let me check in at 6am in the morning! This hotel truly takes care of patrons like family! The room was clean the food was excellent, I will adopt the Kimpton hotel chain as one of first choices on my next trip!

Room Tip: Any room I believe will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Mike C
Thanks for sharing your experience form your stay at EPIC. Arriving on a red eye flight is not easy and we understand. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you very early morning.
We appreciate your kind words about our excellent service and that Kimpton hotels will be your first choice whenever you will travel again.
We hope you will be visiting us in the near future.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing