We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Downtown Miami Hotel”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Downtown Miami Hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Two visits - great downtown location with water views. A Kimpton Hotel property with just just enough edge to be interesting, but comfortable and not over the top trying to be too hip. Rooms are spacious, well outfitted and elegant, balconies generously sized, pool area nicely located with restaurant/bar nearby. Plenty of interesting vibe, but also a quiet enough hotel to relax into. Check in swift and thoughtful (brought a glass of wine). Staff attentive, but unobtrusive until you need them. Nice spa with classes.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool, south or east view best.
See more room tips
Green Features: Have all of the usual practices and may well do more less obviously.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Sfdoc
Thanks for your amazing feedback. We are happy to hear you fell in love with our hotel ambience, great and comfy guest rooms and with our attentive and genuine staff. Exhale Spa and their Core Fusion Classes are definitely a must when visiting EPIC – we are glad you did so.
We hope your travels will bring you back to Miami and our hotel in the near future. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,205
    659
    198
    101
    69
See reviews for
634
1,199
149
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Epic this past week. He was there on business but I tagged along and we made a vacation out of it for us. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The employees were very helpful and attentive to each guest. I was very impressed with the quality of the service. I loved that all of the workers were dressed so nicely in lovely matching outfits that suited the Miami area perfectly. The room was gorgeous. We were on the 29th floor which is one of the concierge floors. It was very clean and a short walk to both the marketplace and brickell village. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyMinnieMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
NyMinnieMickey
Thanks for sharing such wonderful comments from your recent visit. We are glad you joined your husband for some R&R while he was staying for business. Our hotel is perfect for business, as we are adjacent to the Financial District in Miami, but very close to shopping, dining and sightseeing for our leisure guests. We appreciate your nice comments about our stylish and attentive staff. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is well appointed. The location is central to the business district. The bedroom is great. However, the bathroom, though spacious, lacks facilities for hanging towels, clothes, etc. Access by car is a little tricky. You have to cross two busy lanes to get to the drive way.

Room Tip: Depends whether you want the canal side or the boulevard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajjad_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Sajjad_73
Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and location, close to restaurants, entertainments and sightseeing and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our bathrooms and drive way access.
We truly hope that these issues will not keep you from returning to our hotel, when visiting Miami again. We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at the Epic while visiting Miami. It was a very nice hotel. My room was beautiful but it could have used some deep cleaning.The staff were very kind especially at breakfast, which was great by the way but costly. The omelettes were the best I ever had. I would say my experience was good for the most part. I did request that maintenance come and look at my bed because it seemed to sink in on one side. The front desk told me they would send someone up which they never did. I eventually fixed it on my own after waiting for so long. The mattress had slipped out of the box spring. I understand that they are busy but when you are paying luxury prices you should get luxury service consistently.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Traveler F
Thanks for posting your comments from your stay on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed to see that you experienced inconveniences with our Housekeeping department and their service. We sincerely apologize for the lack of attention to detail and the issue with your bed mattress. However, we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope you will be visiting us again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed in Miami for a couple of days with our 10 yr old son and had been looking at staying in South Beach but are so glad we didn’t. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and staff outstanding. The rooms had a contemporary feel, beds very comfortable and a shower with a rain shower head. We were located on the 26 floor and had a large balcony overlooking the city. The Epic is located a short walk to the Metromover which links up with the Metrorail and Bayside Market Place for shopping and eateries.

They have a great hosted wine hour early evening and a buffet breakfast daily: made to order omelets and waffles, bacon, fresh fruit, bagels, variety of chees and meats great coffee, bacon, sausage, steel cut oatmeal, and so much more. It was delicious to say the least but a little pricey.

We joined the Kimpton In Touch loyalty programme as this provided us with free Wi Fi, a voucher for the mini bar and a newspaper.

The property is currently undergoing a little maintenance, but this certainly didn’t affect our stay. We would definitely return to Epic Hotel Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
enjoylife4eva
Thanks for sharing such fantastic comments. We are glad to hear that you preferred EPIC’s location in Brickell Miami over South Beach and even with the little ‘nip tuck’ at our pool area and restaurant, you had a wonderful experience. Thanks for joining our Kimpton In Touch Loyalty program, where our guests not only receive complimentary wifi, but can raid the minibar, too.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On our way home from the Caribbean, we chose to break our travels in Miami. We stayed at the Epic Hotel in downtown Miami because we love Kimpton Hotels, and we heard amazing things about the featured restaurant Zumi. We couldn't have been more pleased! The staff were super friendly and helpful! The concierge Oscar was above and beyond! From the moment we entered the hotel, we were treated like family. The hosted wine hour was nice too! Thanks Epic! We will be back when in Miami!!!!

Room Tip: High floor affords awesome views of the city and waterfront!
See more room tips
Green Features: Be sure and close the balcony door, or else the A/C goes into patio (sleep) mode, which saves energy!!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
KatieSantaCruz_CA
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that your EPIC stay-over was epic: from our attentive service, to our comfy rooms, hosted evening wine hour and the dining experience at ZUMA restaurant. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What can I say about the Epic? We stayed here for two nights from August 2nd. Even before our stay Emily was super efficient at responding to my emails and when we checked in Emily greeted us at the desk and genuinely made myself and my family feel special. We were treated to a glass of bubbles whilst we waited for our room to be ready...and what a room! It was breathtaking to say the least - our two children were speechless which is saying something. There were so many little touches that made us feel very special - thank you to Emily and Aubrey :). Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - there is a card in the room listing things that they can get for you if necessary. I had forgotten my tweezers and within 5 minutes of making the call a member of staff appeared with a pair. Our room was restocked each night with bottled water and ALL the staff were super nice and polite. We ordered room service on the first night which was very good. The pool area is fantastic, although only one pool was open when we were there. The complimentary Wine Hour is amazing - the wine is really good, although the lobby area is a little chilly so rememeber to take something warm if you are going to sit and drink your wine.You can rent our bikes from the concierge desks - free of charge! AS a Kimpton In Touch member we also benefited from free Wi Fi, voucher for the mini Bar and a newspaper. We also mentioned the password at the desk and received another wonderful surprise. The breakfast is the best we have had anywhere - my son LOVED the waffles made in front of you to your order- Oreos, marshmallows, chocolate chips, he was in heaven. Seth at the front desk is a real gentleman and his excellent customer service was faultless. Everyone back home is now sick of me talking about the Epic and the Kimpton brand - I have recommended to all our friends and family and two people have since booked. I would like to say a huge THANK YOU to Emily, Aubrey and Seth and all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite- it was fantastic with two balconies. All the rooms seem to be fantastic- if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkswalesmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
monkswalesmold
Thanks for your amazing and detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you and your family had an epic stay – thanks to Emily and the entire team. We are glad you joined us for wine hour and explored our neighborhood on our fancy and brand new Kimpton bikes. Make sure to see our concierge for our yummy picnic baskets, to take with you on longer trips.
We appreciate you recommend us to your friends and family and we are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
448 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing