We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth the price, better options exist in Miami...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price, better options exist in Miami...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, I noticed the uppity attitude of the front desk. I had just driven 4 hours from Orlando, dressed casually in comfy driving clothes, tired, and anxious to check into my room and rest. But instead, I was forced to wait for 45 minutes until the man and woman (apparently dressed for their appearance the Academy Awards or something) who arrived AFTER me were accommodated and served by both employees at the front desk.

I bit my tongue and went with the flow, until it was my turn to check in. Let me just say that there was a huge, noticeable difference between the way the woman at the front desk treated me vs. the couple dressed in gold lamé with the exotic accent. She didn't even look up from her computer while speaking with me and I SWEAR she looked down her nose at me when she finally did look up.

Anyway, I decided to brush it off and went to my room for a long nap and a bath. Bathroom was very nice, by the way.

The in-room hotel guide stated that coffee would be served in the lobby every morning, but that a one-cup coffee maker could be sent up to the room upon request. So, while I was waiting for valet to retrieve my car, I asked a different staff member at the front desk about the single cup coffee maker, since I like to drink my coffee as I get ready in the morning. She literally looked at me like I was an idiot and told me that I could use the "card on the side table to indicate what I wanted to order from in-room dining, and hang it on the door". Then she turned to the person next to her, smiled smugly, and started talking about something else. Just like that, I was patronized and then dismissed.

I wasn't surprised, given the "warm" greeting I received while checking in, but I WAS puzzled, because this time I was dressed up!

At tvis point, I was beginning to feel like Julia Roberts in "Pretty Woman" and I was ready to throw a wad of cash at someone.

I could go on and on about the snobby attitudes and rude comments that I dealt with (only from the female staff, the make staff - especially the gentleman who worked the valet counter were awesome). Let me just conclude this review by mentioning that 5 star amenities can easily fade into the background when overshadowed by 1 star service from one or two staff members.

At $300+ a night, I expected more from the staff at this hotel. I expected professionalism and friendliness, rather than catty, rude, high-school behavior. Management should invest in some sort of etiquette training classes for these girls. At least then, they'd be able to "fake" being friendly to guests. Especially since the guests are the driving force behind the hotel's reputation and more importantly, staff paychecks.

I will definitely take my business and stay somewhere else during my next extended visit to Miami.
I won't patronize the Epic hotel ever again, thanks to the girls at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Syrah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Syrah N
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry about the experience you had with the Front Desk, I will absolutely look into it. We do have plenty of coffeemakers available for our guests so I am sorry once again for the misunderstanding. If you would like to give us another chance, I would love to personally ensure that you will be experiencing the EPIC hospitality we are known for.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    614
    178
    92
    60
See reviews for
595
1,128
141
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel - located in the up and coming downtown area of Miami. Modern, chic with great service. Valet parking is $37 per night which is steep - but par with Miami (there aren't too many other options). 15 minute walk from the Brickel area and the American Airlines arena (to watch Miami Heat basketball or concerts).

The hotel doesn't charge a resort fee and if you join the "in touch" loyalty programme (online - this is free), you get free wifi and also free $10 credit for the minibar. You can join "in touch' before your stay.

The hotel is home to Zuma - apparently a great restaurant (we didn't eat there). Also lovely pool area, great lobby with comfortable sofas. Lunch at the pool was ok (good service but small portions). Free glass of wine and snacks between 5-6pm daily.

They are great for service. It costs a few dollars to use their business center and printer. I needed it to print Miami Heat tickets - the front desk duly obliged free of charge.

The room was lovely. We stayed in a King premier. The view of the downtown area was nice with a lovely balcony. The bathroom was brilliant.

On the second day we were woken by some banging - this was due to some minor work they were doing on another room nearby. They offered to move us straight away. We declined initially but when it happened again then we did take up the option.

The only negative is the surrounding area is pretty quiet. We did jump in the car a couple of times to go to Coconut Grove area of Miami for lunch. The hotel - as I have mentioned, is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjayMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
AjayMV
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our location in the up and coming area of downtown. The words you chose "modern, chic with great service" truly describe our hotel I would like to thank you for the recognition.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed with my family for an impromptu visit during the week!
I called and spoke with the front desk staff and they were able to accommodate my requests with very short notice! They never said "no we can't or we can't do it with only 2 hours until you arrive"! Thank you for exceeding our expectations in all areas!
We will definitely be back, and recommend you to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHotelGuy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Reggie252
Thanks so much for your review and calling us EPIC. Our Front Office staff is known to make everything just happen and I am happy to learn that we exceeded your expecatations in all areas.
Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the Epic Miami Thursday, May 23rd - Sunday, May 26th 2013. What can i say...it was terrific! Great location; CVS, Starbucks & other stores were all less than a 5 minute walk away, 7 minute walk to Bayside, 8 minutes to American Airlines Arena... Great location! The staff was great as well. Very friendly, helpful & courteous. The room was very nice [#2618] Had a waterfall shower head, spa type tub, double sink & a nice big balcony overlooking Biscayne Bay. Definitely the best Florida hotel I've stayed in before! Only downsides for some would be the $37 a day valet parking (Only option) and the beds were kinda small. Other than that, I can't can't think of anything unfavorable about this place. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Reggie252
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed our location, the great staff and most of all the big balcony you will find in all of our rooms. Considering us the best hotel in Florida you have stayed in before is certainly a great compliment.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes. Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great room. Good location. The bathroom was beautiful and gorgeous. Nice staff. Great balcony. Excelent restaurant. The concierge service was exceptional! The pool is spectacular and the bar staff was fantastic! Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Helen R
Thanks so much so for your great review. I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed everything throughout your stay. Beginning with the location to the room ending with the great service provided by our staff in both hotel and restaurant..
Please come back soon . EPIC wishes. Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our pre-cruise stay, March 2013, on the NCL Epic. We checked in pretty late and the place was hopping with well-dressed party goers. Our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in. The bathroom & balcony were HUGE and the bed comfy. We did hear some dogs in the hallway, but they were not bothersome, I guess it is a pet friendly hotel. This is the place to stay if you need to stay close to the Port of Miami; it was a $10 cab fare to the port. We did have one little surprise the next morning. At about 10:00 am the hotel had to receive a shipment of goods so they closed the bridge down below & right outside of our window was a helicopter, yes a helicopter. The helicopter would go down get the goods and then he went up & dropped the goods on the hotel roof, THAT WAS COOL!!!! The room was just right & I would not hesitate to stay here again if I was visiting Miami. Happy Traveling!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsslovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
mrsslovestotravel
Thanks so much for your review. I am so happy to learn that you had chosen the EPIC as your Pre-Cruise stay. Our bathrooms and balconies are certainly really big and it's great to be recognized.
Please come back soon and you will have the same great ambiance you came to enjoy last time.
EPIC wishes. Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

For my birthday, I treated myself to an extended vacation at a resort property in Fort Lauderdale. I wanted a change of pace, so I decided to experience downtown Miami during the last couple of days of my trip. I chose the EPIC hotel because of its stellar reputation, and I was not disappointed! Christian at the front desk was the BEST. When he heard that it was my 40th, he went above and beyond to make me feel special and welcome. He upgraded me to a Club Level room with a beautiful view, surprised me with a generous drink credit to use at the hotel bar, and even gave me a certificate for breakfast in the hotel restaurant.

This hotel exudes class and sophistication, and I found most of the staff to be very warm and engaging despite the exclusive vibe. I wasn't there long enough to indulge in amenities, but I was very pleased with the expansive room, which opened to an intimate balcony overlooking the water. The room was modernly furnished and tastefully decorated. I especially loved the contemporary bathroom, which was stocked with high-end hair care and body care products.

My only regret is that I didn't spend more time at this hotel. If I ever return to Miami, the EPIC will be my first choice. Again, kudos to Christian and his team for going the extra mile. I was very grateful for and touched by the VIP treatment I received at the EPIC Miami!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Elle S
Thanks so much for your review. At EPIC we love our staff members and are very proud when they are recognized. I have immediately passed on your positive comments to Christian and he was thrilled to hear that you had recognized him. "Warm and engaging despite the exclusive vibe" is what EPIC is all about and we couldn't have said it any better.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes. Jacqueline. Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing