We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dreaming of my return to Epic 😊” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Dreaming of my return to Epic 😊”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I wanted to surprise my boyfriend for a night away for his birthday and with my search of reviews Epic was right up there of exactly what I was looking for. It exceeded my expectations!! We showed up a bit early, noon, only to prepare for heading to pool until check in. But with a great surprise our room was ready. Thank you Seth!! . When we walked in the room we walked straight out to the balcony and what a view, it was amazing!! We hit the pool which was amazing too!! Great set up! When we returned to room the staff had waiting a plate with huge cookie that said Happy Birthday. It was the perfect touch to make my boyfriends birthday extra special. I can't wait to have another get away to the Epic Hotel, such a treat

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissNmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    575
    174
    85
    54
See reviews for
567
1,086
132
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent an amazing week visiting Miami whilst staying at the Epic. We arrived to find we had been booked into a room with twin beds but were quickly moved to a room with one large king and with a better view off the bay on the 26th floor. The hotel provided a cot for our 4 month old which looked a little old but did the job. The room and bathroom were both very spacious and the decor looked very new and clean. I thought it was well located for town and only a short drive to south beach and other main attractions. Overall a great hotel! Very impressive.

Only minor issues are;

1. My husband's credit card was blocked on suspicion of fraud by the bank. Instead of leaving a message in our room asking us to contact reception or calling us to advise that this was the case, they simply locked us out of our room and we had to go to the front desk to find out the problem. Quite annoying when you've booked to stay a week with a baby, so hardly a candidate for "doing a runner"! Also, arriving back to your room with multiple bags and a tired baby, last thing you want to do is then go back down to reception.

2. The restaurant was closed for refurb so limited food available....simple sandwiches and crisps...but they were tasty.

3. No option other than valet parking at $40 a day and then they expect tips on top of that....but then guess it is a big city so probably should expect it.

Other than these minor issues, the service was generally very good. We also had a couple's full body massage at the spa which was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericaharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Epic is a beautiful hotel and we particularly liked the spacious rooms with Miami views and how quiet it was. It is walking Distance from Bayside and walks around the water edge.the staff were friendly and a few we're particularly helpful. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZSwanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The pictures are a good representation of the hotel, but they don't do the hotel justice! We had awesome service the entire time. Willis and Oscar were the best valet managers. We had a bayview room on the 27th floor. Perfect scenery! I went swimming every morning in one of the heated pools and the pool attendants were perfect. I slept so well at night. There was a mistake on our bill while checking out, and it was fixed on the spot! I am BIG ON CUSTOMER SERVICE and they nailed it! The only slight downfall is that thier meals are really pricey and the food isn't worth the cost. We ordered room service and got the pot roast. It was a little tough and just wasn't worth $34. But we easily took care of that problem and ate out at all of the wonderful eateries/restaraunts in the area. I would definately come back to EPIC!!!!

Room Tip: If you're coming to rest and relax, get a high level room so you can't hear the club on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel has great rooms with a very modern feel
The water from the room is equal to the rooms - well worth a few extra dollars
Staff is friendly, helpful and always available in the lobby
Breakfast on the upper pool deck is a great way to start the day with view and good food
Lobby bar it quite the hot spot but very crowed by 10 and pricy drinks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed at many Kimpton hotels and love their excellent service, nightly wine hour, great restaurants and comfortable rooms. Our room was beautiful with stunning views of the bay and out to the ocean. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Our main complaint was that all five of the nights we were there we were asked to leave the pool around 4:00-4:30 in the afternoon so that they could set up for a private party.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionawBirmingham_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived at 2:55 PM after a horrible flight experience in from Toronto and driving around Miami for about an hour due to bad directions provided by our GPS unit (if you're using Garmin you have to type in the exact address of the hotel rather than look up the hotel by name).

The front desk clerk said our room wasn't quite ready yet. We had been on the go and had not eaten since we got up for our flight at 6 AM. I looked at my watch then I looked at her again and asked what time check-in was. She answered 3 PM and then got on the phone with housekeeping and managed to get us a room on the 20th floor, I believe the room number was 2002. We had reserved a 1 BR suite. On entering the room my attention was immediately drawn to the horribly filthy couch in the living area. I am not exaggerating at all when I say that this couch should have been in a dumpster somewhere. It was so dirty I did not want to touch it, let alone sit on it. In addition to the overall filthiness and dirt, it had what looked to be pink hair dye all over the seat cushions, there was a large pile of crumbs on the chaise section of the couch, and red wine stains from someone's wine glass on one of the cushions. I immediately called the front desk to tell them that we needed to switch our room because of the couch. I also told them that they needed to send a manager up here to look at the couch, and for the price of the room the condition of the couch was completely unacceptable and the room should be closed until the couch is replaced. They could not move us to another room immediately so we went down to the hotel restaurant for some lunch. The restaurant was closed so we ate at the bar. This is when things started to get better. We were served by the bartender, I believe her name was Jaime. She was one of the highlights of our stay at EPIC. We had the pleasure of being served by her twice during our 4 night stay at EPIC and I couldn't recommend her more. After our delicious lunch we went to the front desk and they had moved us up to the same room but on the 21st floor. The couch was still pretty dirty and if I had seen this couch first I probably would have complained about it also, but in comparison to the couch in 2002 it was 100 times better. The rest of the room was fantastic, the balcony was HUGE with an amazing view of Brickell key, the Miami river and the port of Miami. The pool deck was below us on the 16th floor but we didn't hear any noise from it at all. We spent some time on the pool deck, the service was great and the amenities were fantastic. Went for a massage at Exhale spa, that was great too. Overall the room was great once they moved us, we really enjoyed having 2 balconies and letting the fresh air flow through the room. The bathroom was up to expectations for a 4-5 star hotel, very nice. Every time we called for our car to come up the valet brought it right away. Overall except for check in the service was very good and except for the couches the room & other amenities were great. On our last night there was some road noise due to some construction the day before where they had installed this metal plate on the road which bumped very loudly every time a vehicle drove over it. This is not the fault of the hotel of course and I was actually surprised how well the rooms were soundproofed considering the location of our room and the # of windows and doors it had that opened to the outiside.

The hotel really should invest in professionally cleaning the couches in the rooms or replacing them with leather couches which are easy to clean. The dirty couch really left a bad impression in an otherwise great hotel.

Room Tip: The 1 BR suites are fantastic, just be careful to check the cleanliness of the couch upon check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTP538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing