We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“such a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“such a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had very high expectations about the hotel because all the positive reviews. However the hotel turned out to be the biggest disappointment I have encountered so far. First of all our room was not ready when we get here, at 4pm! We had to wait around for an hour. They told me that they will call when the room is ready, which they never did. I had to go back to ask the front desk after I can't wait any longer. On top of that the reception was sort of rude. Secondly, the sanitary condition of the room was very questionable. We booked one of the suite. The sofa looked very dirty and had multiple staines on it. Thirdly we asked the housekeeping to make the sofa bed after we got in the room. It took them almost two hours to response to us. Whats more, the poolside lounge sofa also had questionable stains on them. The whole place looks like there was a messy party that's just ended. I am very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    590
    177
    90
    60
See reviews for
580
1,103
135
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife & I stayed for our 24th anniversary. The hotel & room water view are gorgeous. Upon entering our room, hotel staff had left complimentary French Champagne, Strawberries & Chocolate. At every moment, the staff was friendly & willing to assist to our needs. The prime location on the river allows for full enjoyment of the area's cuisine, art & entertainment.

Highly recommended for leisure or business purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stay @ Kimpton Hotels whenever possible and are members of their Inner Circle. We redeemed free nights to a two night stay and were upgraded to an awesome room with an awesome view. The hotel is beautiful and we liked the location quite a bit. The hotel is very clean and meets the usual Kimpton standards. My two negatives would be these: Parking was horrible. We valet parked (no other choice) & to get our car out to drive to South Beach for dinner, we had a 50 minute wait! I think parking is outsourced, it was a Friday night, and there were events going on at the hotel. But the wait was unacceptable. The parking manager or assistant manager was very nice, apologized, and told us he would take care of our parking. But, when we checked out, we paid the fully daily rate -- no compensation for the long wait was made. Second negative was that the sofa in our room looked dirty -- a cream colored sofa, so that's not hard, but I found myself not wanting to sit on it. But, the bed and bathroom were both fantastic, as well as the view! This is a beautiful hotel and I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Service is average due to the parking only. Everything else great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGC_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Usually downtown in any city will have a few sore spots, however, the Epic location more than makes up for any of those. The views are truly breathtaking so i can possibly agree if you don't have a view you may not get the experience.
We have been in South Beach numerous times and first time on Biscayne and would gladly stay again. Every person we dealt with had a great attitude, front desk check in, concierge, valet attendants. A couple of glitches with the breakfast buffet hostess but nothing major.
We also had four kids partying till two AM on monday but decided not to call security as we were young once too.
Perfection is hard to find but it is harder when you see everything negative, When you are nice to people, people are nice to you, everyone at the Epic was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPasoLalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Service at Front Desk was sharp, quick. Doormans / bellmans all very attentive, helpfull and knowlegable of the area.
Room was beautiful, extremely clean and very well kept with all the necessities and comodities you can expect of a high profile hotel.

Had all meals at Area 31 and they were all fabulous. Could not enjoy the beautiful terrace because of bad weather but I can imagine that evenings with good weather have to be "the place" to go and be seen. Still think of a great/tasty Chicken Salad I had for lunch. Different, flavorful,tasty and very healthy. Tried to get reservation for a business dinner at their lobby restaurant but they were booked for the next couple of month. Good I guess! I went back to Area 31 for dinner and to my surprise the bar was packed (locals) as well as the Resturant. Again dinner was perfect.

Do I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY YES!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was at the Epic on a business trip and the entire staff was freindly and very helpful.
The room and views were fantastic. I had the waterview king and it was very comfortable and had a wonderful soaking tub and great balcony.
The food was good and the amenities were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great room with superior amenities. Can't understand the negative reviews. We found the staff courteous and accomodating. We were there for a wedding, which was well done in excellent facilities. The food was above average for such an event with well trained servers.

We would stay there again on any future visit to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing